Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem with Crossbowmen shooting from walls when defending or is it?

Default Problem with Crossbowmen shooting from walls when defending or is it?

Hello this is my first time posting here ever so i just wanted to start by say that i just love Stainless Steel and Medieval 2! so much creds to the people that made it.

Now to my issue or is it?
    Im wondering if there is a fix so that crossbowmen can use their powerfull bolts to shoot from the walls when u are the defender.
    Cuse now they are just standing there and looking like "oh the enemy is comming iŽd better stare them to death".

Thanks for any help in advance.

Navajo Joe's Avatar SS Forum Moderator

Default Re: Problem with Crossbowmen shooting from walls when defending or is it?

Firstly welcome to SS Forum, sadly its not fixable, its an old age MTW2 failing, as the battlement get in the way of Line Of Fire.

'Proud to be patronised by cedric37(My Father and My Guardian)

Default Re: Problem with Crossbowmen shooting from walls when defending or is it?

Damn thats sad to hear since MTW2 is the total war i prefer playing.

Thanks for the help Navajo Joe much appreciated.

Navajo Joe's Avatar SS Forum Moderator

Don't despair, they can still cause mayhem to the enemy, position your X-Bows, so that they can fire direct at enemy units after they come thru the gatehouse. If you place a spear unit or other infantry unit on the wall, place x-bows down below or an adjacent wall and they will cause havoc.

'Proud to be patronised by cedric37(My Father and My Guardian)

+Marius+'s Avatar Domesticus

Could this not be fixed by giving crossbowmen the posibility of shooting at a much greater angle like the archers do?

I have been testing some units from the Magyar mod and their crossbowmen perform amazingly well precisely because they can basically shoot straight up in the air if needed.