Thread: Faction Thread: The English

Default Faction Thread: The English

I have been wondering how the English should be portrayed in RTW so everyone who can help with this, post info and research on England here.

Default Re: Faction Thread: The English

Well, the ideal thing would be to find an English specific historian ... becuse becuse the history of Scotland often involves England (for reasons good or bad, mostly bad) I have some elementry knowledge but hardly enough to call adequate ... still, It a topic I think we should all consider as England had a profound affect on Europe.

I have quite an extensive knowledge on English history around this period. Not in the least part because I live here. I wouldn't mind serving as English-specific historian as well as the Ottoman's.

DrIstvaan's Avatar Artifex

Well, it seems OK to me.

You may want to take a look at my small mod, Like Orange in Black Chocolate.
    Under the patronage of Silver Guard

well, sabre can you tell us some stuff on england? i know very little of early rennaisance armies in england and i dont know if anyone else knows much about it. thanks!

I'm english but I don't know all that much about English history at this time. I do know that England was behind the rest of Europe during the early part of the time period covered by this mod, still relying on knights, polearms and longbows, many other European nations having moved on to Pike and Shot. There were also distinct differences in dress between the English and their continental neighbours, armour was also different, as time progressed though, the differences between England and the rest of Europe started to lessen, England adopting the pike and shot warfare of the continent, by the time of the Spanish armada longbows were becoming comparatively rare, replaced by the easier to use arquebus.