Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 107

Thread: How To Add New Historic Events

  1. #1
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default How To Add New Historic Events

    This tutorial will show you how to add your own historic events and make them come up during the game.

    Firstly:
    - Make sure you have unpacked your files.
    - Either use the .txt.strings.bin Converter to convert your data/text files to txt, or
    - Use the .txt.strings.bin Reader/Editor
    - Back up the files if needed.

    The files that you will be editing are:
    * historic_events.txt/.txt.strings.bin
    * descr_events

    Adding Your Event

    Go into the historic_events.txt/.txt.strings.bin file. You will see the format looks something like this:

    Code:
    {WORLD_IS_ROUND_BODY}Over the centuries several scholars have suggested that the world could be round, but most of them were burned at the stake as heretics, so the theory hasn't been particularly popular. However, with new advances in the fields of Astronomy, enough of the learned men of the world have accepted that the theory is well worth testing... Perhaps if someone were to establish a trade route to the far east by sailing west, they would both bring the debate to a close, as well as establish a trade lane that is most lucrative.
    {WORLD_IS_ROUND_TITLE}The World is Round
    After the last entry, you can paste in your event, using the same format:

    Code:
    {TEST_EVENT_BODY}This is the text that will appear about your event.
    {TEST_EVENT_TITLE}This is the title of your event
    You can call your event whatever you want, something like DIAS_SAILS_ROUND_CAPE - just remember to put BODY and TITLE after it.

    Making Your Event Appear During The Campaign

    Open up descr_events. You will see the format looks like this:

    Code:
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;  EVENT LIST  ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    
    event	historic 	first_windmill
    date	50
    You can add your event using the same format:

    Code:
    event	historic 	test_event
    date	2
    The name (in this example "test_event") must be the same as the one you entered before.
    You can change the date to whenever you want it to appear - 2 means that the event will appear in turn 2 or 1082 (if you are playing vanilla). However, do not put in 0 or 1 as it will not appear.

    Adding An Event Picture
    Go into the data/ui folder.
    Go into southern_european/eventspic and copy any exisiting picture. Rename it as your event name (in this case "test_event").
    You can always change this picture later to what you want it to be - this is just a placeholder to get it working.
    You will need to do the same thing in the eastern_european, northern_european, greek and middle_eastern folders. Not doing this will cause a ctd during the campaign.

    Heres an example of what it looks like:


    Go crazy!
    Last edited by selenius4tsd; April 09, 2007 at 09:45 AM.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  2. #2

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    Nice, time to add some UN-historic events. Muahahaha! Thanks Selenius

  3. #3
    wilddog's Avatar Paintedwolves run free
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,337

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    I just wish they had an event which could be triggered by turn in the same way and not just by date. It would have been so much more useful particularly if you have multi turns per year mods.

  4. #4
    alpaca's Avatar Harbinger of saliva
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,811

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    Well you can use scripting for that by firing the event manually on I_TurnNumber = 59 or something

  5. #5
    wilddog's Avatar Paintedwolves run free
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,337

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    Alpaca
    Its too cumbersome. If you want an event triggered between turn x and turn Y its a pain to do. For historic events you just add in real simply. I just wish they had implemented the historic events as a turn based item and not a year based one that way it would of easily supported both requirements.

  6. #6
    alpaca's Avatar Harbinger of saliva
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,811

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    It's no pain:
    Code:
    declare_counter blah_counter
    monitor_event FactionTurnStart I_TurnNumber >= 50
    if RandomPercent <= 25
        historic_event blah
        set_counter blah_counter 1
    end_if
    if I_TurnNumber = 53
    and I_CompareCounter blah_counter = 0
        historic_event blah
    end_if
    terminate_monitor
    end_monitor
    This will handle the historic even blah on turn 50, 51, 52 or 53 and if it didn't happen by then, it'll fire it on turn 53 nonetheless

  7. #7
    wilddog's Avatar Paintedwolves run free
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,337

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    alpaca
    Thanks I think that helped quite a bit. What I wanted to get to is something along the lines of

    1) Factions A (and B are destroyed) at some time in the campaign
    2) Trigger a new random trigger turn.
    3) Faction C emerges based on the new trigger turn.

    Essentially the Mongols/Timurids emerge using triggers 2 and 3 so adding the earlier trigger shouldn't be an issue but it was how to get the emergent on a turn which I couldn't get my head around.

  8. #8

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    would it be possible to create an event that cause's two factions to become allies or draw a crease fire?

  9. #9

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    would it be possible to create an event that cause's two factions to become allies or draw a crease fire?
    I would like to know the same, so I can implement the war between France and England.

  10. #10
    alpaca's Avatar Harbinger of saliva
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,811

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    Yes, check my Script-O-Rama where I am talking about how to add events via scripting.
    There's some console command to make factions allies, go to war or declare a ceasefire. Not sure which one it was though.

    No thing is everything. Every thing is nothing.

  11. #11

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    I have the basic of the scripting i would also like to know if i could spawn in some histroy characters I.E Joan of ark as a general maybe using spawn_army at X: xxx Y: xxx, would i need i need to add script them on the french family tree?

  12. #12
    alpaca's Avatar Harbinger of saliva
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,811

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    I don't think you can spawn named characters into the family tree. They'll have to be adopted later.

    No thing is everything. Every thing is nothing.

  13. #13

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    But it is possible to spawn a general on the map?

  14. #14

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    How about spawning a named general?

  15. #15

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    I have a question for everyone who can help me, I changed the start_date in "descr_stat.txt" for 1280, and the end_date for 1650 (timescale 2.00)

    I was supposing this will allow me to get gunpowder units and to discover the new world more quickly.
    But I have got a problem, the events don't work any more. I thought it was because of the changing of start_date, so I've tryed to modify events' date in the "descr_events.txt", like:

    event historic gunpowder_discovered
    date 26

    to have the gunpowder in 1306, but it doesn't work, and I don't understand why, I've tryed many date but nothing happens.

    Could someone Help me

    Ps: sorry if I do some writing mistakes but I'am french
    Last edited by Flyingbob; May 31, 2007 at 10:12 AM.

  16. #16

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    ?
    Last edited by Flyingbob; June 07, 2007 at 03:20 AM.

  17. #17

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    No one answers me, so I will answer my self because there is something I understood

    Modifying the "descr_events.txt" won't change anything in a current game, you will need to start a new one.

    The great Selenius had made 3 little mods : the early, the high and the late separation mod able in the download section, wich allowed you to choose the period you want to begin.
    Last edited by Flyingbob; June 07, 2007 at 03:21 AM.

  18. #18

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    but what if the historic event is not trigger by date, rather it is triggered by... let's say.. when a capital of a nation gets conquered. Then i will not need the descr_event right? i only need the campaign script and the historic event txt and string bin?

    +rep for me if you agree with me , i might give it right back to you

  19. #19

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    @Mike13531
    That is correct. The entry into your campaign script, after you declare the monitor and its conditions, will be:

    add_events
    event historic kst_hq
    date 0 0
    end_add_events

    "kst_hq" is whatever you want the event to be. The "date" line is very important as it won't work without it.

  20. #20
    Methoz's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bohemia (Czech: Čechy; German: Böhmen) (CZE)
    Posts
    1,281

    Default Re: How To Add New Historic Events

    i think, make tool for HE ist best way ...
    TotalWarForum.cz
    Česko-Slovenské fórum o hrách ze série Total War

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •