Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 156

Thread: How-To Edit unit textures.

  1. #1

    Default How-To Edit unit textures.

    Here’s a “How to edit unit textures and shields using Photoshop” tutorial.

    - First you must have these:

    1 .texture to .dds converter (to export .texture files to .dds files)
    2 Adobe Photoshop
    3 The .dds Plugin to be able to open .dds files.
    4 .dds to texture converter (to get .dds files back in .texture files)

    - The texture files (unit textures that you need to edit) are located here - data\unit_models\_units - there are about 20 folders, each containing different unit textures for different factions.
    In each folder you can find .mesh files and a "textures" folder. What you need to edit is the .texture files in the “textures” folder.

    - Example...

    I'm gonna show how to edit the Venices’ Dismounted Feudal Knights...

    Their textures are located here - data\unit_models\_units\en_lmail_hmail\textures


    The files’ name is - en_lmail_hmail_venice.texture



    Make a back-up file first, cuz anything can happen during the editing process.

    Convert the .texture file to .dds using the “.texture to .dds converter”.

    Open the .dds file with photoshop and edit it the way you want. When you open the file “photoshop” will ask you if you want to display the Mip Maps with the image. Select “No”.

    Edit the texture the way you want…

    - Here’s the texture editing example…

    Before…



    After…



    Save the .dds file this way…



    Convert the .dds (edited file) to .texture using the “.dds to texture converter”.

    Copy the new texture to the same folder and overwrite it with the old file (data\unit_models\_units\en_lmail_hmail\textures\) … and everything is finished.

    Results in the game…




    - After this you can also change the Shields (if you want)

    The texture files of Shields are located here - data\unit_models\attachmentsets\

    The shield texture for Venices’ Dismounted Feudal Knights is - final heater_venice_diff.




    It’s a .texture file so you have to follow the same steps. Convert it from .texture to .dds, open it with Photoshop, don't display Mip Maps with the image, edit the textures, save it the same way as you had to save the body texture file, convert it back from .dds to .texture and finally copy it (overwrite with the old file) in the same folder.

    - Here’s the shield editing example…

    Before …




    After … [I desaturated everything (back & white) just for testing]



    Results...



    One last thing… if you’re not using a mod-switch then make sure you add:

    [io]
    file_first = true … in the medival2preferences.cfg file

    or

    --io.file_first … comand in the shortcuts target.

    This is very important. You have to do this so the game will read the unpacked files first (this way the changes will show in the game).


    Sir Lancelot.
    Last edited by Che; February 12, 2007 at 02:31 PM.

  2. #2

    Icon2

    Yeah great !

    Thanks a lot this is very usefull !

    Question:

    When i open the dds file wich should i click on:

    Load using default size

    or

    convert Images to 8 bit

    or

    convert Image to 16 bit

    ( 32 bit is not available )

    Shall i additionally click on :

    Load mip maps ?


    Thanks
    Last edited by Trajan; February 13, 2007 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Merged non-duplicate double post.

  3. #3

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    When i open the dds file wich should i click on:

    Load using default size

    or

    convert Images to 8 bit

    or

    convert Image to 16 bit

    ( 32 bit is not available )
    Hmmm, are you using Photoshop to edit the .dds files? Because it's strange, I never get that message when I load .dds files... Anyway, Work on RGB/8 bit...

    Load mip maps ?
    No, don't load Mip Maps. Open the .dds file without MIP Maps. After you edit the textures save the file with the "Generate MIP Maps" option selected.

  4. #4
    Kip's Avatar Idea missing.
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    8,421

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Hey!

    Is it very difficult to edit? Like if I wanted to go to a new color, would I have to manually edit every pixel to keep the shading right?

    Thanks for your help!

    EDIT: Sorry, just noticed the converter tool was on the forum page...
    Last edited by Kip; February 12, 2007 at 03:30 PM.

  5. #5

    Icon2 Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    @ Sir Lancelot

    Yes i am using Photoshop 7.0

    I noticed that i have to open with default size or in 8 bit. In 16 bit i can not use any tool to change the texture.

  6. #6

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Is it very difficult to edit? Like if I wanted to go to a new color, would I have to manually edit every pixel to keep the shading right?
    Well, it's not that hard but not too easy also. If you use Photoshop you have different kinds of adjustments you can use to change one color to another.
    But at different places you have to use different tools.
    Photoshop has its own tutorials from which you can learn many techniques on how to work with colors. Just press F1 when you run it, the Welcome Screen will appear. There you can select 2 types of tutorials: Learn the basics and Advanced Techniques. Anyway, I prefer to learn everything by myself. I don't like using tutorials, I forget things I learn from tutorials very fast ...
    Last edited by Che; February 12, 2007 at 03:53 PM.

  7. #7
    Mighty Oggy's Avatar Laetus
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Flanders, Belgium
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Hello,

    I can't open the .dds files in Photoshop (I think it's because I don't know what "the .dds Plugin to be able to open .dds files" is)

    Thanks in advance.

    Edit: Solved my own problem : http://farcry.filefront.com/file/Ado...S_Plugin;37136
    Last edited by Mighty Oggy; February 18, 2007 at 04:32 AM.

  8. #8
    Methoz's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bohemia (Czech: Čechy; German: Böhmen) (CZE)
    Posts
    1,283

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    ok, how to make new shields or add (example) hungarian pavis spearmen shield to milan peasant (have "egg" shield...) its passible making in "edit nit skin" ?? ant this problem i have to with helmets,need add other typ to one unit from other unit...
    and dont have interest change some txt or other,its terrible and strong job
    TotalWarForum.cz
    Česko-Slovenské fórum o hrách ze série Total War

  9. #9

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    We can't add new textures because we still can't edit mesh files.

  10. #10
    ~Beren~'s Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    LA, California
    Posts
    3,678

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Hi,

    I'm having problems skinning some units. I followed everything you said in the tutorial (which was very useful). I tried skinning mtw2_en_pplate_papal_states.texture from a skin mod I downloaded. I wanted to skin it for my personal use, so I convert it to .dds file, skinned it, and re-convert it. But when I play it in the game, it just shows the vanilla textures and not even the downloaded skin.
    Is there something I'm doing wrong?

  11. #11

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Are you starting the game with the --io.file_first command?

    One last thing… if you’re not using a mod-switch then make sure you add:

    [io]
    file_first = true … in the medival2preferences.cfg file

    or

    --io.file_first … comand in the shortcuts target.

    This is very important. You have to do this so the game will read the unpacked files first (this way the changes will show in the game).

  12. #12

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Using this method, is it possible to ensure that units possess a more uniform look? For example, in the example of the Dismounted Feudal Knights, there are different types of helmet. Could you utilized the methods you describe to edit textures to make it so there is only one type of helmet, perhaps by copying the desired helmet type over the others or perhaps cutting out the undesireds and pasting the desired in their place?

  13. #13
    ~Beren~'s Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    LA, California
    Posts
    3,678

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Lancelot View Post
    Are you starting the game with the --io.file_first command?
    Yes, I placed the text:

    [io]
    file_first = true

    at the medival2preferences.cfg. Still nothing. Since I had a mod, I thought that I could put it on its preference.cfg. But this only made my game crash

  14. #14

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Quote Originally Posted by TheForeverWar99 View Post
    Using this method, is it possible to ensure that units possess a more uniform look? For example, in the example of the Dismounted Feudal Knights, there are different types of helmet. Could you utilized the methods you describe to edit textures to make it so there is only one type of helmet, perhaps by copying the desired helmet type over the others or perhaps cutting out the undesireds and pasting the desired in their place?
    In that case, you need to edit .mesh files and it's still impossible to edit them.

  15. #15

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    I see. Thank you for your response.

  16. #16

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Quote Originally Posted by cra_z_guy View Post
    Yes, I placed the text:

    [io]
    file_first = true

    at the medival2preferences.cfg. Still nothing. Since I had a mod, I thought that I could put it on its preference.cfg. But this only made my game crash
    I have no idea what the problem may be.. try reinstalling the game or something...

  17. #17

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Thanks my friend its useful.
    The Ottoman Empire Mod will be announced soon...


  18. #18
    Methoz's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bohemia (Czech: Čechy; German: Böhmen) (CZE)
    Posts
    1,283

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    pls, how to make normal texture files ?
    TotalWarForum.cz
    Česko-Slovenské fórum o hrách ze série Total War

  19. #19
    Wobble44's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    La Serenissima Repubblica di Venezia
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    right if i wanted to make the scottish highland nobles look like mongols but with the 2hd sword....would i need .mesh file editor which is not out yet or can i do it by copying and pasting from the mongol skins?
    p.s. dont laugh
    p.s.p.s. tutorial was very useful thanks

  20. #20

    Default Re: How-To: Edit unit textures.

    Could you do this tutorial for GIMP users as well?


Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •