Thread: Observations about this (great) mod

Default Observations about this (great) mod

Hello everybody,

I'm a veteran total war player: spent a lot of time on Shogun 2, and even more time on Medieval 2 + mods (stainless steel, broken crescent, divide and conquer). And now I've just discovered this mod, the Last Kingdom.

I must say that this mod is great: the atmosphere is incredible, and the tension is real. There is a real feel of total war and desolation, and one has to fight to survive.

After a few hours of game, I have a few observations :
    - there are some minor bugs: if we load a save made in the first turns, the game easily crashes (but that's ok, it doesn't crash after we've played enough turns)
    - some diplomatic windows (with Dane faction) are not finished (but here again, not a real problem)
    - difficulty balance: it seems that playing with Denmark for instance should make a very easy campain (being allied with the Vikings + very strong starting position, far from the chaos of Britain) ; conversely, playing any faction in Britain is quite a challenge: ennemies are everywhere, and Vikings and Danes are very strong.

I've played as Gwynedd, and I find that it's very hard to raise large armies and have a strong economy running, as compared to the base Medieval 2 game, or other mods. In itself, this is actually great for the gameplay experience: it is hard and strategic just to survive.

But that leads me to my observation: is economy somehow broken in this mod? or at least, it seems to be built in a way that changes the classical Medieval 2 approach of consolidating your economy in order to recruit troops.
    It seems to me that buildings give very little bonuses : they cost a lot but don't improve income by much at all.