Thread: Clergy: Ideation and Feedback

opaxite's Avatar Foederatus

Icon3 Clergy: Ideation and Feedback

Introduction
    I have very little knowledge about making TW mods, so I'd be very grateful for more ideas, feedback on feasibility, general usefulness and balancing problems these ideas would create. Please let me know if anyone wants to cooperate on this.

I've been thinking about the potential of Priests and what could be done about them in order to make them a satisfying, historically accurate part of the game. As there is much less priests in the game (especially in the beginning), we could focus on the remaining individuals a bit more. For the first 100 turns or so, I only had two priests, which seems both pretty manageable, but also under-utilized. All I did with the priests was increasing religious conversion in a province once the Pope told me so, and occasionally go fight some heretics.

Could we turn Priests into much more influential characters, as they were in history? Could we actually make them memorable, create a bond with the player, make them influence the gameplay and improve roleplay? And, most importantly, how could we do this just expanding existing mechanics?

Historical background
    Just taking from what I've read: During middle ages, priests were very influental characters. From converting heretics in pagan lands, being murdered and becoming martyrs and saint patrons of whole nations, performing the role of scientists, physicians and philosophers, to striking unrest, igniting rebellions and starting reformation.

Existing Vanilla mechanics: What we can work with
    This is what I figured can be worked on with Priests. Please correct me if I'm using some terms wrong, and if there's things I'm missing. In general, most of the priests are only getting 2 to 3 ancillaries, so there's enough space for that.

Triggers

• Agent created
    • End turn in region
    • Time in region
    • End turn in settlement
    • Time in settlement