Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 53 of 53

Thread: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

  1. #41
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by wilddog View Post
    The naming of winter files won't happen. Its basically because it only processes one set of data at a time so if you want winter textures you would simply copy the produced winter dds files (from the winter setup of textures you run) into a sub folder you would call winter or whatever folder name you decided to put the winter ones in. No need to change anything at the individual file level just set up the calling txt file to have a winter folder and a summer folder and copy the dds into it otherwise you would be making more work for yourself.
    yeah i got that, i found "EXAMPLE_descr_map_tiles.txt" and realised how it should work

  2. #42
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    also i dont know what is "fullstratmap.dae" supposed to do and where to put it, also i didnt saw anything about it on wiki

  3. #43
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    ok i relised i had to press "regenarate manifest" to get filelist.json

  4. #44
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    good news, i got it to load, just frame is going through the middle of the map as im missing frame. cas xD

  5. #45
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    i experimented little bit with textures, so i got snow covered mountains in summer, but what i noticed is that in original everything looks much more precise, like heights and textures and everything, but i dont know why is that, here are examples




  6. #46

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    you need our version of descr_aerial_map_tile_models.txt in your mod/data folder to sort out the borders... it should have been included with IWTE and with my texture pack thing

    original RTW did a tile replacement thing for any high mountain ground_type and added those little peaks, it was a matter of taste if you liked that or not, as it was generally OK if kept to isolated peaks but got nasty if you had a lot of high mountain. We haven't emulated that so the heights tga you feed IWTE might need raising where you want high mountain / peak type effects.

    We were also aiming for a more naturalistic effect than RTW...

  7. #47
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    i did put your "descr_aerial_map_tile_models.txt" but it didnt solve the problem, so now its files like "001_lod0.cas" that are making height map for remaster? maybe in future versions you could add option to emulate style of original rome, like you have with normals intensity, so make heights intensity for example... i experimented with options and textures to see what difference they make, so i got this, also is there any way i can change river bed colours and will future versions produce frame.cas? and do you know is it possible to change colours of rivers?
    Last edited by nightvvisher; August 02, 2021 at 11:18 AM.

  8. #48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    river edge colour might become changeable - the actual blue of the river I can't spot a way of changing (or the sea) we're not controlling anything about that.

    The read-me in my updated texture pack explains about the river/border stuff (you might have older version)
    Straightening Region Boundaries that Coincide with Rivers:
    ==========================================================

    Region boundaries are generated by the game and, if adjacent, follow what would have been the river shapes generated by the old RTW map system.
    The algorithm to duplicate that for river meshes is not available, so instead IWTE straightens the boundaries by substituting standardised
    river overlay tiles which correspond to its river piece design. To install these in game copy the provided file:
    descr_aerial_map_tile_models.txt
    to:
    mod/data/descr_aerial_map_tile_models.txt

    Copy the IWTE generated cas file:
    river_a.cas
    to
    mod/data/terrain/aerial_map/tile_models/river_a/river_a.cas
    If you have the correct text file you must be missing the river_a.cas in the correct folder position.


    We're trying to fix some other issues (mapping and units and anims) so adding things like the frame is unlikely anytime soon - we'd thought most people would want to design their own!

  9. #49
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    ok, i fixed borders, thank you

  10. #50

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by makanyane View Post
    We're trying to fix some other issues (mapping and units and anims) so adding things like the frame is unlikely anytime soon - we'd thought most people would want to design their own!
    This would be Great! Sooner or later i guess you guys did it & the tool will become truly Convenient for the average user~modder. GL

  11. #51
    wilddog's Avatar Paintedwolves run free
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,316

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    Hoping to get next release out soon. Will not include the outer frame stuff as we were currently just working on the map.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	newimage.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	348.8 KB 
ID:	365360
    This is built from TGA's. Textures take a long time to run (about 15 minutes in total) the mesh bit is around 20 seconds for vanilla.

  12. #52
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    looks nice, i would like to ask would it be possible to make textures for 4 seasons, like autum and spring also, as there already is mod for 4 turns per year in steam workshop?
    and question about IWTE, does it have some options for adding settlements to map or its just about settlement layout, i found programs like trivium independant map editor and stuff, but its buggy af or not working deppending on version and geomod dont fork for rome...

  13. #53
    wilddog's Avatar Paintedwolves run free
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,316

    Default Re: IWTE - Map Mesh Generator for Rome Remastered

    IWTE just creates one set of textures (albedos and Normals) at a time. The normals would be the same as they don't take into account the texture data. For the Albedos they are dependent on whatever textures you setup to use. Whilst you could use 4 different sets of textures to create 4 different sets of Albedos you need to remember that Remastered like OG supports 2 seasons only ie winter, summer. Modifications to trigger winter once every x turns is not actually the same as having 4 seasons.
    IWTE battlemap settlements are really aimed at M2. Rome stuff is all cas based so you can edit stratmap settlements via blender using either IWTE or Ferals tool set. I hadn't added anything to handle battlemap settlements for Rome
    You can edit the strat map TGA's in IWTE but its really only doing stuff you could do in a standard package like photoshop, gimp etc.
    I'm hoping to get the next version of IWTE out very soon which addresses the seam issues on the remastered tile piece system.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •