Thread: Mod Crashes When Using Higher Fidelity map_regions file

Icon5 Mod Crashes When Using Higher Fidelity map_regions file

Hi all! I'm pretty new to modding M2TW and modding maps, although I did do some stuff with RTW back in the day. I've been working on a a brand new map for my fantasy universe when I came into a strange problem. Basically I setup a barebones map that functions well with 10 regions and a basic outline of my continent. Then I went back and started adding better shoreline fidelity and more detail. After completing that I went back to update my map_regions.tga, but with the new borders the mod crashes without any error message (I have logging enabled). A map.rwm is created and Geomod spots no errors in the new map_regions.tga. Attached is my mapping files in a zip. map_regions-rough.tga is the old regions file that loads with the rest of the files and generates the map successfully, but using the map_regions.tga file it crashes. I triple checked my colors, and even tried rebuilding that map from scratch a couple times with no luck.

Is there something about the rough map that makes it work that I'm missing in the other one, or is there a mistake I've made in map_regions that I can't recognize?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: The attachment I tried to make didn't work, so I uploaded the map_heights and the two different map_region files to Imgur.
    https://imgur.com/a/Obf1W2d

Let me know if any other information would be helpful. Thanks!
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; May 06, 2021 at 09:46 AM. Reason: Posts merged for clarity

Vladyvid's Avatar Wizard of Turmish

Default Re: Mod Crashes When Using Higher Fidelity map_regions file