Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

  1. #1
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Please can someone tell me what the new hardcoded limits are for modding Rome Total War Remastered.


    In particular...


    Maximums per mod for...


    -Map Size (and whether the regions or ground-type maximums
    -Number of provinces
    -Number of factions
    -cities per territory
    -number of unit-types (EDU)
    -number of unit-models (DMB)
    -buildings per city
    -building-trees
    -characters
    -forts/watchtowers
    -cultures
    -religions(if present)
    -climate types
    -ground-types


    Also
    -Are map labels possible (like M2TW modders do with dummy princesses)?
    -Is turns per year/years per turn specifiable?
    -Are road-routes modder-definable?


    Anarchon

  2. #2
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    To port a mod built on the old Alexander, I assume I build a mod folder in the folder
    Totall War Rome Remastered/Contents/Resources/Data/Modfolder
    Is this correct?

  3. #3

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Quote Originally Posted by Anarchon View Post
    To port a mod built on the old Alexander, I assume I build a mod folder in the folder
    Totall War Rome Remastered/Contents/Resources/Data/Modfolder
    Is this correct?
    No Modfolder needs to be in C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Local\Feral Interactive\Total War ROME REMASTERED\Mods\Local Mods or \My Mods the only way to Launch RR and any mods is through the Launcher and that's the only place it's looking at the moment. If it won't fit there and you have other larger discs you need to make a hard-link connection see wiki

    For hard-coded limits, assume they're the same as for original RTW currently, Feral have announced that they will be extending some, e.g. factions to 31, but I don't think they've announced what other limits will be yet.

  4. #4
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Can anyone help with a mod not launching


    I have built the frame of a mod to run on Alexander specs.
    It is large but within original hardcoded limits.
    And indeed runs on old RTW
    The map is 510x345 (map-regions).
    There are 199 regions.
    Everything else is for now basic and standard.
    I do hope Feral haven't actually REDUCED the hardcoded limits.
    It will not launch.
    It originally told me it crashed because
    'the modder specified it not to run on Rome'
    I changed the json file to Rome (from Alex originally) and it still crashed.
    It asked if I wanted to send an email to Feral but gave no opportunity to do so.
    Then Steam blocked me from their Forum.


    I don't think Steam and Feral are serious about wanting to support modders.
    The boondocks Mod-WIP folder and ghetto uploaded-Mod folders are probably a clue.


    Not exactly impressed so far.
    Lets hope its the glitches of early days.


    Anarchon

  5. #5

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    I think the bug reporting message to Feral is automated through Steam, it sends some data, you don't get to actually write to them.

    you can use -show_err like old RTW for Steam you need to add it to the properties line, same as for RTW under Steam.

    I've got a map going at the moment with 199 regions (and one sea colour) that's not a problem.

    Have you got a map.rwm from when it runs under the old RTW? If so you can use that. Otherwise refer to the wiki about its quirks on where/how it generates map.rwms

  6. #6
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hi Mak,


    Thx for that very rapid reply.
    It infers that you can send more details about the crash. You cannot.


    Good to know 199 is feasible.


    Used my old map.rwm from old RTW. No joy.


    I cannot see where or how to amend launch properties.
    I dont seem to have a launch icon.


    I am wondering if the feral_map.tga could be a problem.
    At 16 times map region scale it is enormous.
    (For a 512x345 map regions)


    As ever your advice sought.


    Anarchon

  7. #7
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hi Mak,


    One other question.


    What does 'Upload Mod Update' do?
    I have assumed it places your mod in the ghetto upload folder so the world can access it.
    I do not want this at such an early development stage.


    However, if it implements any updates in your boondocks My Mods folder maybe this is what I need to do..


    Anarchon

  8. #8

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    I am wondering if the feral_map.tga could be a problem.
    Probably if you resized it to match the mod - make that and the feral_radar_map.tga the same size as they had them, just squish your image to fit...
    you can launch mod without providing them initially too, which might be safest option.

    For -show_err in your Steam Library, right click the game and go to properties, then like this:


    'Upload Mod Update'
    Sounds like you already uploaded it - you might want to check that, mine only says "upload to steam workshop"

    to make sure your mod updates are working on your computer you need to keep deleting the filelist.json in the mod-folder

  9. #9
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hi Mak,


    Many thanks for your help and patience so far.


    Still no joy. Did all you suggest


    I have tried launching under both Rome and Alexander.
    Filelist always deleted.
    Under Alex I got a pseudo-launch
    It says Macedon missing, not surprising cos not in my list under that name.
    No sign of my maps whatsoever, just the horrible Alexander vanilla maps.


    Earlier with just Alex ticked I got the message
    'the mod creator has marked Rome as incompatible with this mod'


    Any ideas?


    Anarchon

  10. #10
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    A whole bunch of the lines in file-list json have blacklisted against them including such innocent ones as the ris.png.
    Does this mean they are deliberately blocking my work?

    Anarchon

  11. #11

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    no - blacklisted is it's not included in the version check - it's trying to check versions of relevant stuff, so If you play multiplayer battle you have same text files with same stats as the opponent etc. the blacklisted stuff is the sort of 'irrelevant to making the game work' things like just textures

  12. #12

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hello,
    I'm extending the name list, added 700 names already and when I tested it, the game crashed. The log said:
    "The name Cassivellaunus wasn't found in the names database
    This is a problem"
    Well, this can't be the problem, cause the name is there and I only edited Armenia and Patrhia so far, not the Gauls.
    When I tested it after I added the new 378 Armenian names, there was no problem at all.
    Any ideas on how to fix this?
    Did I reach some limitation with the number of the names and the game can't load all of it properly?

  13. #13

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    You might have some discrepancy between the entries in names.txt and Descr_Names. The slightest deviation will cause a CTD and show-err is no help. Something as minor as using a ] instead of a } will send you to oblivion. An extra space can do it to or just a mis-spelling. You also have to carefully examine the Descr_strat file if you made any changes there.

    I modded Roman Names many years ago and learned the hard way that you never do too many at once. I would usually do about 20 at a time and then test them. Slow? Yes. But it saves a lot of time re-reading over the files if you screw something up. If your Armenian addition worked I hope you saved it because it seems to me that you may have to remove the Parthian additions and study them.

    Now, one tip I can give you is to take a spreadsheet program like Excel if you have one and copy Names.Txt and Descr_names into different columns. Place them side by side so you can study them and see if anything jumps out at you.

    Good luck.

  14. #14

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Thank you very much for your fast help. I will try what you suggested. Are you sure there is no limitation on how many names I can extend with the files?

  15. #15

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    I have never heard of such a limitation. Again, I only did a Roman Names mod which came out looking like this, in part.

    {Acilius_Glabrio} Acilius Glabrio
    {Claudius_Nero} Claudius Nero
    {Fabius_Maximus} Fabius Maximus
    {Julius_Caesar} Julius Caesar
    {Sallustius_Crispinus} Sallustius Crispinus
    {Flaminius_Rufus} Flaminius Rufus
    {Flavius_Silva} Flavius Silva
    {Fulvius_Flaccus} Fulvius Flaccus
    {Cornelius_Scipio} Cornelius Scipio
    {Cornelius_Sulla} Cornelius Sulla
    {Quinctius_Capitolinus} Quinctius Capitolinus
    {Quinctius_Crispinus} Quinctius Crispinus
    {Quinctius_Flamininus} Quinctius Flamininus
    {Furius_Camillus} Furius Camillus
    {Aurelius_Cotta} Aurelius Cotta
    {Tullius_Cicero} Tullius Cicero
    {Vipsanius_Agrippa} Vipsanius Agrippa
    {Sulpicius_Galba} Sulpicius Galba
    {Scribonius_Libo} Scribonius Libo

    But there were probably only 250 or so additional entries... including Biggus_Dickus and Naughtius_Maximus because I could not restrain myself.

    Also, don't eliminate anything from Names.txt. Some other part of the system may use them and that will shut you down.

    If you want to exclude a particular name from the active faction just put two semi-colons in front of that name in the faction-specific part of Descr_names.txt, such as

    ;;Scribonius Libo

    That will prevent the program from including him in the romans_julii faction but leave him active if another part of the program wants him.

  16. #16

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Thank you very much! Hope I will not encounter any more problem.

  17. #17

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    You will find that people are generally quite helpful around here. We're all crazy!

  18. #18
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    If there is a limit it is higher than 50,411. I have this number with no problem. But in RTWv, not RR.
    It is probably spelling mistake.

  19. #19

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    @Corythus did you get this working?

    I've found with Remastered I seem to need to add new names to descr_names_lookup.txt
    (I'm not sure anyone bothered with that in RTW?)

    ...and if not that watch out for spaces at the end of names, if you have a space in one file and not the other it can count as not matching... mine just fell over on that

  20. #20

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    When Imperium Surrectum first came out I messed around with the Family Tree and got this to work. But I never touched the lookup file. That was obsolete years ago.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •