Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

  1. #1
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Please can someone tell me what the new hardcoded limits are for modding Rome Total War Remastered.


    In particular...


    Maximums per mod for...


    -Map Size (and whether the regions or ground-type maximums
    -Number of provinces
    -Number of factions
    -cities per territory
    -number of unit-types (EDU)
    -number of unit-models (DMB)
    -buildings per city
    -building-trees
    -characters
    -forts/watchtowers
    -cultures
    -religions(if present)
    -climate types
    -ground-types


    Also
    -Are map labels possible (like M2TW modders do with dummy princesses)?
    -Is turns per year/years per turn specifiable?
    -Are road-routes modder-definable?


    Anarchon

  2. #2
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    To port a mod built on the old Alexander, I assume I build a mod folder in the folder
    Totall War Rome Remastered/Contents/Resources/Data/Modfolder
    Is this correct?

  3. #3

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Quote Originally Posted by Anarchon View Post
    To port a mod built on the old Alexander, I assume I build a mod folder in the folder
    Totall War Rome Remastered/Contents/Resources/Data/Modfolder
    Is this correct?
    No Modfolder needs to be in C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Local\Feral Interactive\Total War ROME REMASTERED\Mods\Local Mods or \My Mods the only way to Launch RR and any mods is through the Launcher and that's the only place it's looking at the moment. If it won't fit there and you have other larger discs you need to make a hard-link connection see wiki

    For hard-coded limits, assume they're the same as for original RTW currently, Feral have announced that they will be extending some, e.g. factions to 31, but I don't think they've announced what other limits will be yet.

  4. #4
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Can anyone help with a mod not launching


    I have built the frame of a mod to run on Alexander specs.
    It is large but within original hardcoded limits.
    And indeed runs on old RTW
    The map is 510x345 (map-regions).
    There are 199 regions.
    Everything else is for now basic and standard.
    I do hope Feral haven't actually REDUCED the hardcoded limits.
    It will not launch.
    It originally told me it crashed because
    'the modder specified it not to run on Rome'
    I changed the json file to Rome (from Alex originally) and it still crashed.
    It asked if I wanted to send an email to Feral but gave no opportunity to do so.
    Then Steam blocked me from their Forum.


    I don't think Steam and Feral are serious about wanting to support modders.
    The boondocks Mod-WIP folder and ghetto uploaded-Mod folders are probably a clue.


    Not exactly impressed so far.
    Lets hope its the glitches of early days.


    Anarchon

  5. #5

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    I think the bug reporting message to Feral is automated through Steam, it sends some data, you don't get to actually write to them.

    you can use -show_err like old RTW for Steam you need to add it to the properties line, same as for RTW under Steam.

    I've got a map going at the moment with 199 regions (and one sea colour) that's not a problem.

    Have you got a map.rwm from when it runs under the old RTW? If so you can use that. Otherwise refer to the wiki about its quirks on where/how it generates map.rwms

  6. #6
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hi Mak,


    Thx for that very rapid reply.
    It infers that you can send more details about the crash. You cannot.


    Good to know 199 is feasible.


    Used my old map.rwm from old RTW. No joy.


    I cannot see where or how to amend launch properties.
    I dont seem to have a launch icon.


    I am wondering if the feral_map.tga could be a problem.
    At 16 times map region scale it is enormous.
    (For a 512x345 map regions)


    As ever your advice sought.


    Anarchon

  7. #7
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hi Mak,


    One other question.


    What does 'Upload Mod Update' do?
    I have assumed it places your mod in the ghetto upload folder so the world can access it.
    I do not want this at such an early development stage.


    However, if it implements any updates in your boondocks My Mods folder maybe this is what I need to do..


    Anarchon

  8. #8

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    I am wondering if the feral_map.tga could be a problem.
    Probably if you resized it to match the mod - make that and the feral_radar_map.tga the same size as they had them, just squish your image to fit...
    you can launch mod without providing them initially too, which might be safest option.

    For -show_err in your Steam Library, right click the game and go to properties, then like this:


    'Upload Mod Update'
    Sounds like you already uploaded it - you might want to check that, mine only says "upload to steam workshop"

    to make sure your mod updates are working on your computer you need to keep deleting the filelist.json in the mod-folder

  9. #9
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    Hi Mak,


    Many thanks for your help and patience so far.


    Still no joy. Did all you suggest


    I have tried launching under both Rome and Alexander.
    Filelist always deleted.
    Under Alex I got a pseudo-launch
    It says Macedon missing, not surprising cos not in my list under that name.
    No sign of my maps whatsoever, just the horrible Alexander vanilla maps.


    Earlier with just Alex ticked I got the message
    'the mod creator has marked Rome as incompatible with this mod'


    Any ideas?


    Anarchon

  10. #10
    Anarchon's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    196

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    A whole bunch of the lines in file-list json have blacklisted against them including such innocent ones as the ris.png.
    Does this mean they are deliberately blocking my work?

    Anarchon

  11. #11

    Default Re: RTW-Remastered HardCoded limits for modding

    no - blacklisted is it's not included in the version check - it's trying to check versions of relevant stuff, so If you play multiplayer battle you have same text files with same stats as the opponent etc. the blacklisted stuff is the sort of 'irrelevant to making the game work' things like just textures

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •