Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678
Results 141 to 160 of 160

Thread: Total War Rome: Remastered

  1. #141
    Gigantus's Avatar You should always listen to your inner voice! - Agreed, but which one?
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    50,162
    Blog Entries
    28

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Regarding an error log: how does that work?

    1. It's Feral - there is no log (see their Mac M2TW)
    2. It's the old way. If so, how? Using the dreaded steam launch option?




  2. #142

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    Regarding an error log: how does that work?

    1. It's Feral - there is no log (see their Mac M2TW)
    2. It's the old way. If so, how? Using the dreaded steam launch option?
    Currently the old way -show_err on steam launch option.

    There are logs folders in the section it leaves on C:/Users/etc - so maybe some hope that something could be activated to write to that ?

  3. #143

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Does anyone know when a patch will come out?

  4. #144

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by CDMan477 View Post
    Any noticeable diplomacy or AI changes for the campaign map for anyone who has played this yet? I've seen how they've added a bit to the diplomacy screen but the AI used to attack your faction the minute you shared a common boarder in Rome I. Didn't matter if you were allies, or, in good relations. If at war, a few turns after a cease fire is struck they will immediately attack you again. Just curious if this feature is still in the game.
    Yes, this! This is what I really want to know too. My abiding memory of the original is the frustration caused by the psychotic campaign AI, which eventually made me sick of the game.

    From the sounds of things the remaster is not comprehensive enough to have changed this, I fear...

  5. #145
    GROB's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by argenti View Post
    Does anyone know when a patch will come out?
    Hello, the devs said, that this mod willbe out a week to two weeks. Also, according to APPLE, the team is working on a new map. Maybe but not soon.

  6. #146
    alhoon's Avatar Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chania, Greece
    Posts
    22,809

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    How are the limit-stretching goes?
    Any news about what the settlement limit, unit-size limit, number of units etc would be?
    alhoon is not a member of the infamous Hoons: a (fictional) nazi-sympathizer KKK clan. Of course, no Hoon would openly admit affiliation to the uninitiated.
    _______________________________________________________
    Beta-tester for Darthmod Empire, the default modification for Empire Total War that does not ask for your money behind patreon.

    Developer of Causa Belli submod for Darthmod, headed by Hammeredalways and a ton of other people.
    Developer of LtC: Random maps submod for Lands to Conquer (that brings a multitude of random maps and other features).

  7. #147
    SharpEyed's Avatar Be Fair and Thankful!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    the Vale of Tears
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered


  8. #148

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    No words on UI, as expected.

  9. #149
    Morrowgan's Avatar Centenarius
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    868

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    They won't change the UI as it was a deliberate decision to have it changed :p
    Member of the Beyond Skyrim Project

  10. #150
    SharpEyed's Avatar Be Fair and Thankful!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    the Vale of Tears
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    It could be optional (like many other features) and problem solved..

  11. #151
    S-te-Fan's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Diessen, The Netherlands, Near the belgium border.
    Posts
    3,960

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Was RTW originally available in Mandarin? I believe it became an interesting market for CA since the introduction of Three Kingdoms...

  12. #152

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by balparmak View Post
    No words on UI, as expected.
    The first update wasn't even reserved for modding stuff yet. But yeah, UI is tricky because clearly they have NO intention of changing it (on their own) and "casual non-modding players who never ever touched complex stuff like EBII etc and couldn't care less about descriptions/functionality" seem to be in love with it. The best we can do is provide direct modding feedback (UI is more flexible to modding now, though lots of issues there) and show them there is *demand* for UI changes.

    I've been modding the UI and it's not (completely) a lost cause. The fundamental rule is that you can't change the panels and icons' behavior, only position. A couple of fundamental problems with it though, that I already reported to Feral...

    1) You can move minimap but can't move/resize/hide the window around it (a functionality that could very easily be added in IMO because all we need are appropriate missing entries in .pos files, which is how it is possible to move other things around in the first place). The same thing with advisor frame in the top left corner (no entries) but this one is of no importance, I guess. Though I would like to be able to hide most of the clutter unnecessary for gameplay if I could.

    2) There is control over fonts (sometimes) but they seem to be limited to what Feral used. Which is... not a lot of options and like some people here already said, sometimes hard to read fonts. Also, you can't choose font size, only choose between small/medium/bold variants.

    3) They used animations and this hinders us further because animation ending positions are fixed which means, even if in theory we're able to change positions and sizes of windows they used, wherever animation movement is concerned (damn, almost EVERYWHERE) they'll break/leave artifacts/snap back to their original positions. Because control over animation ending positions isn't there (yet, though there is a file for it... so maybe there is hope... if it's considered a priority... if enough people care...). It concerns only movement - so you can make description window wider, yes, but you can't make it go higher and change its position on y axis, for example. That's where problems will appear.

    4) News panel is completely unmoddable and hard-coded atm. Fonts can't be changed, windows can't be resized, elements won't become bigger... which sucks. It's all so small! I was only able to move it on y axis nothing more. You can also make it higher but that's unhelpful - not all elements become bigger so you're left with empty space.

    5) The horrible one - building effects list in the building info panel will always remain hardcoded atm, it won't get bigger nor wider (so always scrolling, even if description window will be bigger) and changing font to something bigger won't do the trick because same problem - with a bigger font it is like 1 single effect visible at once, the rest you need to scroll down to see, horrible. But that's NOT all of it. Building requirements (and possibly units available for recruitment) rows (the ones with icons now instead of text) are BROKEN right now. If you add 1 more building requirement than what vanilla is using all at once (which is what they've tested it for) the list will break with empty space and broken icon. Imagine that you create a mod with more complex requirements for building trees... with OR conditions and whatnot... 10 building requirements or so... and guess what they don't appear at all... WOW. Hopefully they'll fix this and - at the very least - add a working scrolling feature to make that list usable for modding. (though it still sucks being forced to scroll through everything separately while the original didn't really have this problem because it was all part of the same list - just easily readable wall of text that could fit any amount of content)

    6) I've seen many people happy because they can use 120% UI option from the graphics settings... to see things better. But this creates even more clutter and still doesn't come close to the original's clarity. Some spaces and fonts are still pretty small and constrained, other elements create clutter and are pointless. Now, it can all be modded to a degree but... fonts are hard to change and if we enable 120% UI to resize everything/make fonts bigger with our UI mods on (so we also have different position and nicer placement of some elements/or call it a "classic UI mod") we'll run into problems with resolutions - best case scenario elements cover one another on some resolutions OR worst case scenario bizarre UI artifacts (due to exceeding the maximum animation position on different resolution than modder's native). Depends on the native UI design/resolution of the modder. For him/her might be good, for everyone else disaster. Which basically forces us to create... fully personalized UI mods. Or different variants for everyone else if the modder has the patience.



    I've pointed out all of the above to Feral. However, I've been told by Feral they have a lot on their hands and there is hardly anyone posting modding requests about the UI... they've added my requests to their lists of "things to look into" but I've also been told many of them may be "impossible to achieve due to engine limitations ." Soooo... you can guess what that means. Still, I noticed they do talk with us and they're open. They're really active on official TW Discord. Try to mess with the UI in UI-overrides folder and report some useful requests/feedback back to them. Maybe that will help. Raising limits and regions sounds super super nice but it really all hangs on the knives' edge if we can't fix the UI. Like, sure, in theory amazing mods are still possible to be created and used but in practice.. UI immersion/flow of information would be extremely hindered.

  13. #153
    King Athelstan's Avatar The Wheel Weaves
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Nidaros
    Posts
    6,576
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Quote Originally Posted by S-te-Fan View Post
    Was RTW originally available in Mandarin? I believe it became an interesting market for CA since the introduction of Three Kingdoms...
    I don't think it was, no.
    Proudly under the patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader
    Proud patron of 4zumi, Akar, CommodusIV ,Swaeft
    and Peaman






  14. #154
    SharpEyed's Avatar Be Fair and Thankful!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    the Vale of Tears
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    https://youtu.be/bcI7SfxwNtA

    Mak's mod? 😮
    Looks great to say the least!

  15. #155
    SharpEyed's Avatar Be Fair and Thankful!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    the Vale of Tears
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    https://www.feralinteractive.com/en/news/1118

    So this page says;
    "Patch 2.0.1 focuses on stability, but work continues to improve AI, pathfinding, and modding functionality for future patches."

    Fingers crossed.

  16. #156
    King Athelstan's Avatar The Wheel Weaves
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Nidaros
    Posts
    6,576
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    The focus for our next patch and beyond is to investigate and improve areas of the game including AI, pathfinding and modding functionality.
    Looks like they're commited to this.
    Proudly under the patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader
    Proud patron of 4zumi, Akar, CommodusIV ,Swaeft
    and Peaman






  17. #157
    SharpEyed's Avatar Be Fair and Thankful!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    the Vale of Tears
    Posts
    3,382

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Seems like it.
    Like a smart company would.

    I mean, without improvements in mentioned areas, the game is just a mediocre reskin of RTW and quite expensive at that for a very old game.

  18. #158
    King Athelstan's Avatar The Wheel Weaves
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Nidaros
    Posts
    6,576
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    Indeed, and I'm guessing future sales are depening on good mods.
    Proudly under the patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader
    Proud patron of 4zumi, Akar, CommodusIV ,Swaeft
    and Peaman






  19. #159

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    For sure. The reason so many people return to these games is exactly because of the mods.

  20. #160
    B. W.'s Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bayou country
    Posts
    3,545

    Default Re: Total War Rome: Remastered

    I won't be buying it because it's not windows 7 compatible. When I retired I built my gaming computer and all the tech blogs were saying, "go with Win 10!" So I bought a copy and had a year of frustration. Every time I fixed a problem a new update would cause another crash. I finally uninstalled 10, bought a copy of Win 7 on Ebay and its been smooth sailing ever since.

    I don't buy the new TW games after being burned by Rome 2.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •