Thread: Custom unit models are partially invisible

Icon5 Custom unit models are partially invisible

I am making this post because I have come across a specific issue that I've been unable to solve on my own.

I'm relatively new to M2TW modding, and I've been attempting to get a custom model in the game. The EDU files have been properly edited, and the modeldb entries are functioning properly. However, when I actually enter a battle, the custom unit has parts and geometry that will disappear completely depending on how far away the camera is from the unit. This shouldn't be an LOD issue, because all of the LODs for the unit are set to 0. For example, the entire head of the model will completely vanish unless the camera is close. I've tried this with multiple models, including one I made myself. I've checked the models in blender to see if the normals of the geometry are messed up, but in both milkshape, and in the GOM converter they appear fine. I haven't messed with the models at all in MS3D, I've only checked on them to make sure everything was in order. Does anybody know what's going on!!??

(The yellow textures in the images are intentional, as they are quick placeholders to test.)

Example 1- The Soldiers in this picture have the tip top of their helmets floating, and the Soldiers on the far right (Next to the captain) are barely visible.

https://i.ibb.co/3YjYmM1/20200909185853-1.jpg

Example 2 - The Soldiers in the back are missing their heads.
    https://i.ibb.co/L5BMJkr/20200909185906-1.jpg

Example 3 - Here is a view of the .MS3D file version of the Soldier.
    https://i.ibb.co/9nYJxr3/fig1.png

Please forgive me if anything I've written is not up to the standards of this website- I barely have ever had to use forums to get an answer. But this time i'm truly stumped.

Vladyvid's Avatar Wizard of Turmish

Default Re: Custom unit models are partially invisible

First, welcome to the TWC!