Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 121

Thread: CTD's & Bugs Report

  1. #81

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    is this vanilla total war problem?

    i have battle end ctd issue with 4 full legions battle.[3 legions have no ctd(test)]]

    ctd at loading screen

    anyway i have auto-solve this battle and i have better result.[unusually..]

    in siege battle god towers & gate kill most of my ai legions

    they were charge like soviet soldiers in stalingrad! :O

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 13-08-46-060.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	434.0 KB 
ID:	362586Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 13-08-40-822.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	476.8 KB 
ID:	362587Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 13-30-47-405.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	573.0 KB 
ID:	362588Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 14-08-33-192.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	444.8 KB 
ID:	362589Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 14-09-56-521.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	806.9 KB 
ID:	362590Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 14-13-31-241.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	450.7 KB 
ID:	362591

  2. #82
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by L. D. Aurelianus Augustus View Post
    is this vanilla total war problem?

    i have battle end ctd issue with 4 full legions battle.[3 legions have no ctd(test)]]

    ctd at loading screen

    anyway i have auto-solve this battle and i have better result.[unusually..]

    in siege battle god towers & gate kill most of my ai legions

    they were charge like soviet soldiers in stalingrad! :O

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 13-08-46-060.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	434.0 KB 
ID:	362586Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 13-08-40-822.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	476.8 KB 
ID:	362587Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 13-30-47-405.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	573.0 KB 
ID:	362588Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 14-08-33-192.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	444.8 KB 
ID:	362589Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 14-09-56-521.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	806.9 KB 
ID:	362590Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-13 14-13-31-241.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	450.7 KB 
ID:	362591
    It can be a vanilla issue. Did you attempt to reload the battle after the first CTD and if so did it also crash?

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  3. #83

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by julianus heraclius View Post
    It can be a vanilla issue. Did you attempt to reload the battle after the first CTD and if so did it also crash?
    yeah.. i also think this is vanilla issue too.

    I think Rome total war 1 can't handle as much as i can.[with unlimited armies on field]

    like rome2 can't handle 70000 men in the battle

  4. #84

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    bug report!

    i always saw floating bows in the siege battle.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-14 18-27-49-701.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	429.5 KB 
ID:	362603Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-14 18-28-04-346.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	422.5 KB 
ID:	362604

  5. #85
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by L. D. Aurelianus Augustus View Post
    bug report!

    i always saw floating bows in the siege battle.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-14 18-27-49-701.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	429.5 KB 
ID:	362603Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-09-14 18-28-04-346.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	422.5 KB 
ID:	362604
    It is not a bug as such. It is due to the bow string animation.

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  6. #86

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    During the covid lockdown I played countless battles with both CD and Steam version, with both 4gb patch and without, with all the possible fixes and workarounds and nvidia optimizations I've found on the internet. The conclusion is that there's nothing sure we can do, a solution that can work for someone with a certain computer won't work for someone else. The same solution might work in a battle and not work the following.

    Now, reports in that thread I linked are outdated, so what I write here kinda "overwrites" it.

    Attached you find the results of a battle I've just played. 15,937 men on the battlefield (3 roman armies vs 3 alemanni), I think it's the biggest battle I've ever played with RTW in 15 years without getting a CTD. Yesterday I played a much smaller battle with around 9,000 men (1 roman army vs 2 alemanni) and no CTD.

    In the first case, I killed both Alemanni FMs but not the general and gained a clear victory (80% enemies killed). In the second case, I killed either the FM but not the general or the other way, I don't remember, and got a heroic victory (77% enemies killed).

    To give my little contribution, I attached my preferences.txt file with the actual settings I have as they seem to work quite well, so if anyone can try and confirm CTDs are less frequent it will help a lot of people.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    SAFE_REFRESH:TRUE
    USE_TRIPLE_BUFFER:TRUE
    USE_WIDESCREEN:TRUE
    SUBTITLES:TRUE
    MORALE:TRUE
    FATIGUE:TRUE
    LIMITED_AMMO:TRUE
    SUPPLY:TRUE
    FOG_OF_WAR:FALSE
    RESTRICT_CAMERA:FALSE
    DEFAULT_BATTLE_CAMERA:RTS
    EVENT_CUTSCENES:FALSE
    SMOKE:TRUE
    DESYNC:TRUE
    SPLASHES:FALSE
    GLINTS:FALSE
    REFLECTIONS:FALSE
    SHADOWS:TRUE
    VEGETATION:FALSE
    DETAILED_UNIT_SHADOWS:FALSE
    GLOSS_MAPPING:FALSE
    STENCIL_SHADOWS:TRUE
    MULTI_TEXTURE:TRUE
    AUTO_SAVE:FALSE
    SHOW_BANNERS:TRUE
    UNIT_EXPERIENCE_UPGRADE_EFFECT:FALSE
    UNIT_SIZE:160
    MASTER_VOL:100
    SPEECH_VOL:100
    SFX_VOL:100
    MUSIC_VOL:100
    CAMERA_ROTATE:50
    CAMERA_MOVE:50
    CAMERA_FOV:75.000000
    ENABLE_AUDIO:TRUE
    ENABLE_MUSIC:TRUE
    ENABLE_UNIT_SPEECH:TRUE
    DISABLE_BACKGROUND_FMV:TRUE
    DISABLE_ARROW_MARKERS:FALSE
    AUDIO_3D_PROVIDERirectSound3D Software Emulation
    CLOUD_TRANSITIONS:TRUE
    GRASS_DISTANCE:50
    AA_QUALITY:AA_OFF
    STRATEGY_RESOLUTION:1920x1080
    STRATEGY_MAX_RESOLUTION:1920x1080
    STRATEGY_32_BIT:TRUE
    BATTLE_RESOLUTION:1920x1080
    BATTLE_MAX_RESOLUTION:1920x1080
    BATTLE_32_BIT:TRUE
    UNIT_DETAIL:HIGH
    BUILDING_DETAIL:HIGH
    TGA_CAPTURE_WIDTH:1024
    TGA_CAPTURE_ASPECT:1.333333
    TGA_CAPTURE_INPUT_SCALE:1
    TGA_CAPTURE_RESERVE_SPACE:FALSE
    LABEL_CHARACTERS:TRUE
    LABEL_SETTLEMENTS:TRUE
    MINIMAL_UI:FALSE
    CAMPAIGN_MAP_MAX_SCROLL_SPEED_MIN_ZOOM:30
    CAMPAIGN_MAP_MAX_SCROLL_SPEED_MAX_ZOOM:30
    FIRST_TIME_PLAY:FALSE
    ADVISOR_VERBOSITY:0
    MUTE_ADVISOR:TRUE
    BLIND_ADVISOR:FALSE
    CAMPAIGN_MAP_CAMERA:SKIP_AI_FACTIONS
    CAMPAIGN_MAP_SPEED_UP:TRUE
    CAMPAIGN_MAP_GAME_SPEED:30
    DISABLE_EVENTS:0
    MICROMANAGE_ALL_SETTLEMENTS:TRUE
    ADVANCED_STATS_ALWAYS:FALSE
    UNIT_USE_SHADERS:TRUE
    TERRAIN_QUALITY:MEDIUM
    EFFECT_QUALITY:MEDIUM
    VEGETATION_QUALITY:MEDIUM
    KEYSET:0
    UNLIMITED_MEN_ON_BATTLEFIELD:TRUE
    CAMPAIGN_MAP_CAMERA_SMOOTHING:TRUE
    CHAT_MSG_DURATION:10
    USE_QUICKCHAT:FALSE
    GS_PIDS:FALSE
    GS_PIDS_FULL:FALSE
    GS_PIDS_CUR:TRUE
    ALWAYS_LOGFILE:FALSE
    TIMESTAMP_LOGFILE:FALSE
    32BIT_UI:TRUE
    GS_LOG_RESULTS:FALSE
    CHAT_COLOURS:name=ffffa0,private=ff7707,game=94aadc,public=fff777,system=ffffff,lobby=fff777,setup=94aadc,playing=ff0707
    EDIT_SETTLEMENT_NAMES:TRUE


    Other settings and practices I'm following right now are:
    -game running with these parameters: -mod:RO -show_err -nm -ne
    -4gb patch
    -AA disabled in Nvidia control panel
    -RTW running with both campaign and battle resolutions the same as my native screen
    -no compatibility option set for the BI.exe
    -wait for the music after the battle to stop before returning to the campaign (a couple of seconds after it stops, no need to wait 30 or 60 seconds)
    -a lot of .dll files in RTW folder (see attached image). I installed legacy DirectX 9 but put the dlls in the folder anyway

    Generally, I found that leaving at least an enemy general alive in multi-stack battles helps preventing CTDs. So does killing no more than 80% of the enemies, but this can be quite hard to achieve. I usually let routed enemies run away and focus on routing all the enemy before pursuing and mopping them up without killing too many. In multi-stack battles, where you don't control allied armies, this is even harder to achieve, in the second battle (the 16k carnage) I left the battle as soon as the victory message popped up.

    Hope this can help, and share your experience.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails gfd.jpg   dlls.jpg  
    Last edited by Spartan 666; September 17, 2020 at 11:01 AM.


  7. #87

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Hey

    i´ve downloaded the mod, installed it correctly and i´ve a question to the soundmod.

    Every time when i start the game, there´s only the vanilla sound during the whole game, not the installed soundmod from RO. How can i change this?

    The soundmod does not work and vanilia music is boring.
    Last edited by Hüter der Haine; September 18, 2020 at 05:17 PM.

  8. #88
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by Hüter der Haine View Post
    Hey

    i´ve downloaded the mod, installed it correctly and i´ve a question to the soundmod.

    Every time when i start the game, there´s only the vanilla sound during the whole game, not the installed soundmod from RO. How can i change this?

    The soundmod does not work and vanilia music is boring.
    There is no RO soundmod at this stage. That is something I will work on and hopefully have ready for the V1.0 release.

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  9. #89

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    293 Campaign
    There is a problem with the new units legionary Superventores and praetorian Speculatores. They do not have unit cards and they caus a crash when loading battle screen.
    The crash report says:
    1.Error:File name doesn't exist: RO/data/models_unit/roman/RO_unit_speculatoresA.cas
    2.Script error in RO/data/models_unit/roman/RO_unit_speculatoresA.cas


    Also I can't recruit "late western legionaryC1" and "western legionary lanciariiC1" in Sirmium or Virminacium, I can recruit only old style units. Is this intend or?


    I can recruit legionary infantry in Berenice Libya, Cyrene, Lepcis Magna, Colonia Sittaloroum and Luguvalium I suppouse that wasn't intended?


    Bosphoran elite archers require catapult building tree which their faction doesn't have access to.


    These Bosphoran units are missing from export_descr_buildings: "bosphoran warrior", "bosphoran elite cavalry" and "bosphoran guard cavalry"

  10. #90
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by Cohors V View Post
    293 Campaign
    There is a problem with the new units legionary Superventores and praetorian Speculatores. They do not have unit cards and they caus a crash when loading battle screen.
    The crash report says:
    1.Error:File name doesn't exist: RO/data/models_unit/roman/RO_unit_speculatoresA.cas
    2.Script error in RO/data/models_unit/roman/RO_unit_speculatoresA.cas
    Thanks, will fix this for the Addendum


    Also I can't recruit "late western legionaryC1" and "western legionary lanciariiC1" in Sirmium or Virminacium, I can recruit only old style units. Is this intend or?

    I can recruit legionary infantry in Berenice Libya, Cyrene, Lepcis Magna, Colonia Sittaloroum and Luguvalium I suppouse that wasn't intended?
    I think you may have not deleted your existing map.rwm file before loading your 293AD Campaign.


    Bosphoran elite archers require catapult building tree which their faction doesn't have access to.

    These Bosphoran units are missing from export_descr_buildings: "bosphoran warrior", "bosphoran elite cavalry" and "bosphoran guard cavalry"
    Thanks again. This seems to be the case for all campaigns actually. Will correct this and alter the Addendum.
    Last edited by julianus heraclius; September 29, 2020 at 08:04 AM.

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  11. #91

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Sorry if I am being annoying, but I think I found out what is the problem with recruitment in Sirmium.
    There is a mix up in unit recruitment requirements in export_descr_buildings. So it should be: "and hidden_resource dalmatia and hidden_resource river and not resource timber and not resource textiles", this is the case with lanciarii units and old style units, but with "late western legionaryC1" you have "and hidden_resource dalmatia and hidden_resource river and not resource timber and not resource olive_oil and not resource marble" or "and hidden_resource dalmatia and hidden_resource river and not resource timber"
    For Virminacium I checked and there are no late western legionary units added in recruitment tree.
    If it would make a difference I can correct this and send the file back to you.


    I tried deleting map.rwm, but I can still recruit legionary infantry in Berenice Libya, Cyrene, Lepcis Magna, Colonia Sittaloroum, Luguvalium and even Carthago Nova. Can't figure out why.

  12. #92
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by Cohors V View Post
    Sorry if I am being annoying, but I think I found out what is the problem with recruitment in Sirmium.
    There is a mix up in unit recruitment requirements in export_descr_buildings. So it should be: "and hidden_resource dalmatia and hidden_resource river and not resource timber and not resource textiles", this is the case with lanciarii units and old style units, but with "late western legionaryC1" you have "and hidden_resource dalmatia and hidden_resource river and not resource timber and not resource olive_oil and not resource marble" or "and hidden_resource dalmatia and hidden_resource river and not resource timber"
    For Virminacium I checked and there are no late western legionary units added in recruitment tree.
    If it would make a difference I can correct this and send the file back to you.


    I tried deleting map.rwm, but I can still recruit legionary infantry in Berenice Libya, Cyrene, Lepcis Magna, Colonia Sittaloroum, Luguvalium and even Carthago Nova. Can't figure out why.
    Okay, looks like in the last revision I deleted the hidden_resource legion which means that units can in fact be recruited in these cities. I will re-edit the files as well as fix the ones for Sirmium, plus the Bosphoran recruitment and missing RO_unit_speculatoresA.cas file and will repackage and upload this weekend.

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  13. #93

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    battle end ctd with the latest update.

    recently i re-started a new campaign as Aurelian.

    but i have battle end ctd against Alemanni & Gallic empire. [never happened before]

    usually the huge battle like 4 vs 4 or 2 vs 6 massive battles cause end battle ctd if i wipe out enemy armies.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-10-05 15-23-36-044.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	453.9 KB 
ID:	362707

    so i have to run a multiple test with alemanni first.

    ctd will not happen if you dont kill over 80% of enemy armies.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-10-05 16-18-47-619.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	428.3 KB 
ID:	362708

    but i get ctd with these small[?] enemy armies.[never happened before][no stutter, smooth battle play with my pc]

    i even re setting video[unit detail to high, vegetation to medium, off aa].

  14. #94
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by L. D. Aurelianus Augustus View Post
    battle end ctd with the latest update.

    recently i re-started a new campaign as Aurelian.

    but i have battle end ctd against Alemanni & Gallic empire. [never happened before]

    usually the huge battle like 4 vs 4 or 2 vs 6 massive battles cause end battle ctd if i wipe out enemy armies.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-10-05 15-23-36-044.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	453.9 KB 
ID:	362707

    so i have to run a multiple test with alemanni first.

    ctd will not happen if you dont kill over 80% of enemy armies.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-10-05 16-18-47-619.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	428.3 KB 
ID:	362708

    but i get ctd with these small[?] enemy armies.[never happened before][no stutter, smooth battle play with my pc]

    i even re setting video[unit detail to high, vegetation to medium, off aa].
    The latest update would not cause this. This is an old problem for the RTW/BI.exe engine. Frustrating I know.

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  15. #95

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by L. D. Aurelianus Augustus View Post
    battle end ctd with the latest update.

    recently i re-started a new campaign as Aurelian.

    but i have battle end ctd against Alemanni & Gallic empire. [never happened before]

    usually the huge battle like 4 vs 4 or 2 vs 6 massive battles cause end battle ctd if i wipe out enemy armies.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-10-05 15-23-36-044.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	453.9 KB 
ID:	362707

    so i have to run a multiple test with alemanni first.

    ctd will not happen if you dont kill over 80% of enemy armies.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bandicam 2020-10-05 16-18-47-619.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	428.3 KB 
ID:	362708

    but i get ctd with these small[?] enemy armies.[never happened before][no stutter, smooth battle play with my pc]

    i even re setting video[unit detail to high, vegetation to medium, off aa].
    i actually found one of the solution!

    disable window game bar function!

  16. #96
    julianus heraclius's Avatar The Philosopher King
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,280

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by L. D. Aurelianus Augustus View Post
    i actually found one of the solution!

    disable window game bar function!
    And how do you do that?

    Avatar & Signature by Joar

  17. #97

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by julianus heraclius View Post
    And how do you do that?
    I just disable one of the win10 function in the Setting.

    Setting - Xbox Game bar (on -> off)


    i recommend it to all of you who use win10.

  18. #98
    Gigantus's Avatar I am thinking more about running away now then I did as a kid, but by the time I put my teeth in, my glasses on and find my car keys I forget why I am going.
    Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    48,956
    Blog Entries
    25

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by L. D. Aurelianus Augustus View Post
    I just disable one of the win10 function in the Setting.

    Setting - Xbox Game bar (on -> off)


    i recommend it to all of you who use win10.
    One more for my collection of crash fixes, thanks.




  19. #99
    _Tartaros_'s Avatar "Harzschütze"
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    kvet.lɪnˌbuʁk
    Posts
    4,342

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    thank you, just disabled the bar.
    i ended up figthing only nightbattles, to prevent after-battle-ctd...
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Quote Originally Posted by k/t View Post
    "But I don't know how to mod!!!!"
    Learn. I didn't know how to do anything when I got this game, and now I know how to do quite a bit. Volunteer. Struggle. Figure it out.
    There are lots of cool mods that never see the light of day because people don't realize that mods need workers, not watchers, or realize it but continue to watch anyway.

    The Great Conflicts
    872-1071
    public alpha 15.01.2020 patch 004 05.09.2020
    The Great Preview 01.12.2019 + Special 06.12.2019

  20. #100

    Default Re: CTD's & Bugs Report

    Quote Originally Posted by _Tartaros_ View Post
    thank you, just disabled the bar.
    i ended up figthing only nightbattles, to prevent after-battle-ctd...
    Do fighting night battles really prevent CTDs?


Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •