Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

  1. #1
    Agrippa19's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    On top of the hill
    Posts
    220

    Default AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Recently dived back into RS3 as I want to fight out a diadochi war, I've had this problem on a previous install and have posted before about it but didn't get an answer to solve the porblem

    Playing on Steam - ALX.
    RS3 patched to RS3.1.
    1 Turn (Seleuicids and Rome)
    I've copied the Alex formation AI from the 'Important Stuff' folder.
    I've chosen Sinuhet formations and tried Athenogras as well.
    I've tried subbing in and out units stats form RS2.6 and RS3 original.
    M/M

    Examples

    Battle of Raphia;
    I (Seleucids) attack Ptolemy. I advance. Ptolemy general charges my phalanes leaving his entire army behind him. His phalanx run forward, break formation and run back. Ptolemy dies. The enemy send one phalanx at a time forward. I destroy them one by one.

    Battle of Lake trasimene;
    Hannibal attacks.
    Hannibal charges ahead of his army. His numidian cavalry charge head on into my polybian cohorts and don't flank. They lose head to head. Infantry stays behind, but one unit at a time advances allowing me to deal with them one by one. Hannibal stays fighting allowing me to surround and kill him as he's isolated.

    This seems to be the case no matter what battle Ai formation I choose and I have subbed in and out the old RS2.6 units stats and new RS3 unit stats.

    We're all downloading the same RS3 files aren't we? Is this not a common problem and if so how have you fixed it? Please help
    Last edited by Agrippa19; March 29, 2020 at 03:44 PM. Reason: More info

  2. #2
    Saul Tyre's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    England; a vassal state of Scotland
    Posts
    1,211

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    @Agrippa on Medium difficulty I have found seems to play favorably into the hands of the player, have you tried stepping up to Hard difficulty. I am currently playing as The Seleucids in my Let's Play (H/VH, sinuhet AI battle formation), have a look if you like https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...CVtnl-K_27igVB
    Last edited by Saul Tyre; March 29, 2020 at 11:06 PM. Reason: Typo
    My personality is who I am....my attitude depends on who you are....
    RTR Project Group member/RTR8_4.0 beta tester.
    RSII_WWC_beta tester.XC_5 Beta tester
    My youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/SaulTyre












  3. #3
    Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,062

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Playing as Seleucids with the standard BAI, I never had those problems. In Raphia the Ptolemies did an excellent job and gave me a run for the money.

    There are single Units charging my line, but most times it is a problem for me, because those are pining my whole phalanx and therefore disrupting my attack, and I therefore have to flank around some troops to deals with those units, which again exposes those flankers to the Enemy main line.... can lead to some very problematic situations, especially if those are high defense Units like Armenian Heavies...

  4. #4
    Domesticus
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ašores, Portugal.
    Posts
    2,333

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Sounds like RTW AI to me

    Also, single phalanx units charging you seems better than when it has 2 lines of phalanx and it just sends them into your center making one big messy blob.

  5. #5
    Agrippa19's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    On top of the hill
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Seems like it's just me then. I'm beginning to think its maybe something to with steam or windows 10 but I don't have this problem with other mods, it's specific to RS3. Ive been playing roma on and off since 2012 and I've noticed a huge change in AI battlefield behaviour in a game breaking fashion since this update but I just don't understand why it's only me?

    Just to be clear I don't mind this as in I don't like how it performs, I mean it an a way that it's unplayable as the enemy exhausts itself reshuffling its lines and units don't respond appropriately to my actions, whereas before and on other rtw mods they do. I just don't get it as this is my favourite mod I just want to get the battles to work as they used to for me.

  6. #6
    Agrippa19's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    On top of the hill
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Update: so after swapping out more files I tried out the 'higher lethality' stats combined with Sinuhet formations and I've noticed a significant improvement.

    This is on Alex engine on steam, just found it strange that all the other files lead to such manic behaviour. It's been reported before but I think development on the mod has slowed down so it wasn't picked up on sadly.

  7. #7
    GRANTO's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    glastonbury uk
    Posts
    2,193

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Quote Originally Posted by Agrippa19 View Post
    Update: so after swapping out more files I tried out the 'higher lethality' stats combined with Sinuhet formations and I've noticed a significant improvement.

    This is on Alex engine on steam, just found it strange that all the other files lead to such manic behaviour. It's been reported before but I think development on the mod has slowed down so it wasn't picked up on sadly.
    Both RS 2.6 and RS 3.1 edu files are completely broken imho ,
    take edu , battle movement modifiers and desc strat from rs2.5 and copy to 3.1 for starters for a better experience altogether , {fix cataphract elephants though and remove thrace from roman generals}
    Then fix the script to your liking ...hey presto ..its like night and day.

  8. #8
    Agrippa19's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    On top of the hill
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Thanks for the response Granto, does anybody happen to have a RS2.5 stats file on their pc for Rome 1-turn they could upload? Or all 1-turn campaigns would be great please. I've looked in the EDU changes files on my rs3.1 install but it seems a copy of the 2.5 stats are not included. The battle lines worked perfectly for me in that version (other than the bugs granto mentioned regarding elephants).

  9. #9
    Agrippa19's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    On top of the hill
    Posts
    220

    Default Re: AI (enemy)Units Not Acting Cohesively

    Update: For anyone if it helps.

    So I installed RS2.5 into a temporary file outside my main RS3 install location.

    -I copied the export_descr_unit stats from the Rome 1-turn in the RS2.5 file and pasted into my RS3 Rome 1 turn file.
    -I fixed the elephant cataphract stats and removed thrace from Roman general in that export_descr_unit file.
    -When loading I got a CTD saying "Script error in play_rome_one_turn/data/export_descr_buildings.txt (bla bla bla) -unknown unit type specified: allied germanic cavalry.
    -I opened export_descr_buildings (notepad) and went to all lines that specified allied germanic cavalry and DELETED their entries. (Hard pill to swallow as I like that unit and don't believe I can use them in the campaign now).
    -This fixed the CTD and I can play the campaign.

    However I've noticed a very competent battle ai now. It's so vastly improved. The enemy army is acting in unison, the phalanx move in a line and they don't send units forward one at a time to be picked apart. The generals also behave rationally and don't charge ahead by themselves. Sometimes they reshuffle their lines, however this sporadic and not to the point of exhaustion. BUT the one problem I'm having is that the budget seems to be completely unable to predict my finances at end of turn. It's fine and after 15 turns or so it became more accurate but especially in the early turns it was always predicting I'd be in the red when after end turn I wasn't? This is grand and all and I suspect it's as unit prices are unbalanced between RS2.5 export_descr_unit and RS3 export_descr_buildings but fixing that is too big a job for me in the meantime though this has fixed my battle ai for a small price of a strange ledger and losing the allied germanic cavalry unit.
    Last edited by Agrippa19; October 25, 2020 at 09:54 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •