Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 47

Thread: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

  1. #1

    Default [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Just mine project for fun.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

  2. #2
    gary's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne. North of England.
    Posts
    2,044

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    fantastic
    My Granfather Frederick Avery.Battalion Boxing champion. Regiment.The Kings Own Yorkshire Light Infantry. dorcorated D.C.M. M.M.
    campaigns

    (India.1930) (Norway 1940) (Fontenay le Pesnil) (North-West Europe1944-45) (Argoub Se!lah)
    (Sicily, 1943 Salerno) (Minturno) (Anzio Gemmano Ridge)
    "Burma, 1942"
    My grandfather was a hero, modest, quiet and wounded twice, in hand to hand combat at Casino Italy.

  3. #3
    Jake Armitage's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    apartment 6
    Posts
    3,656

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Nice!
    If you're intersted into lending us a hand for 2d graphics things we have pretty much work to do.
    Let me know in the case.

  4. #4
    ~Seleukos.I.Nikator~'s Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    The United Europe, currently residing in Norway
    Posts
    1,624

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    They look nice. Well done, Lugos!

  5. #5

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Since having only two thumbs, I raise them both! Looks really great!

  6. #6
    Ordinarius
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    769

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Very nice!

  7. #7

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    and the link to download is.....where????

  8. #8

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Tenerife,

    it's only mockup. I don't know much about modding, so i'm not sure how does it scale for other resolution. I can make the graphic output if you give me specs But the implementation part would have to be done by someone else.

  9. #9

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Quote Originally Posted by Jake Armitage View Post
    Nice!
    If you're intersted into lending us a hand for 2d graphics things we have pretty much work to do.
    Let me know in the case.
    Jake,

    depends what things you're talking about. I don't have any experience with graphics for games/mods. But i would be glad to help you. I think stuff like unit cards, UI would be doable from my part. Maybe some other things it depends what do you need

  10. #10
    Jake Armitage's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    apartment 6
    Posts
    3,656

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay



    Look, the people who mod (or have modded DeI or its submods) are completely free to do what they want (inside decency limits ofc).
    This means that you'll always be free to decide what to work on and how to do it.

    This philosophy counts even if you would decide to make something for DeI itself, meaning that there is no constriction nor time schedule. Just a common understanding on how, more or less, things have to be done for being ready to be released.

    One of the jobs we may need, regarding UIs, is a really simple one and it won't recquire much PS/Gimp/whatever experience too.


    There are 2 ways we can use to communicate better on this subject (or any other):

    1) I add you into the "Dei Submodders Alcove" which is a TWC closed group with about 20 guys where we can talk about things. Fact is that you'll need at least 25 TWC posts to have the right to enter (TWC group rule)
    So you may just want to start "spamming" some threads (without exaggerating) around the DeI forum (better if inside submods or DeI Strategy Guides and Gameplay Discussions).

    2) Open a discord account (100% free and you don't even need to have an exe installed when you open it from a pc) and then join DeI here https://discord.gg/Wez6GSY
    If you do this then send me a PM (Jake Armitage) and I'll tell Dresden to add you to the "Dei Submodders Alcove Chat" we have in discord.

    What's the difference between TWC and discord?
    Well, while discord is a chat and so it is really useful for real time chats but not really suited for actual working, the forum nature of TWC allows for more complex things to be explained/reported/whatever.
    You could say that discord is for talking, TWC is for working.
    For what we may have to do for now, discord should be enough.

    ------

    Do yo want to do a submod with yours "load_images"?
    It is really simple.

    You could say there are 4 ways to mod a post M2TW TW game, each one works on a different field:

    1) startpos (ASSEMBLYKIT - ESF)
    2) db, which are basically the values coming from scripts, harcoded or not (PFM - RPFM)
    3) 2D/3D graphics
    4) scripts

    in this case we are inside point 3) - which is really similar to point 2) except the fact that you'll obviously have to actually do the 2D/3D files with external programs, so:

    a) download RPFM from here (RPFM is an optimized version of PFM), put it wherever you want and pick the Rome 2 game folder when RPFM will ask you
    https://www.twcenter.net/forums/show...rozen-columns!

    b) open the "_divide_et_impera_release_12_Part2" file (this pack is from TWC, steam one will probably have another number, dunno, the file is inside your Rome 2 game data folder) with RPFM and you 'll see tons of things

    c) you'll see that this program organize things similariliy to excel, meaning they are editable tabs

    d) go to "ui > loading_ui > load_images". Inside this folder you'll see all custom DeI load_images (you can check the vanilla one into "data_rome2.pack"). Right click one of the pngs to have the possibility to extract it. So you can check its ratio and pixels

    e) the best way to do a mod is to extract the tables you're modding only. So, open again
    RPFM (you can have more than 1 RPFM opened) and pick "Pack File" > "New Pack File" which will open an empty pack.
    Now right click over the "unknown" and select "add" > "add from packfile" and go to select the
    "ui > loading_ui > load_images" folder.
    You'll have a pack with all DeI load_images. Save it and name it something like: @_Lugos_loading_ui
    You can cancel them. To add something into RPFM you'll have to: right click (on RPFM) your mod name and pick "Add > Add Folder" and add the folder you've done with your pngs. The name of the folder must be
    "ui > loading_ui > load_images" and you'll have to select the first one, the "ui" folder so the game paths are intact. The names of your images must be "campaign_X.png" to be read by the game and be recognized by the hardcoded script which rolls dices and tells the game to show the image. A new image will overwrite the old ones, like DeI is doing with the vanilla ones.

    f) Mods are modular, meaning that they'll overwrite fields. So you can mod just what you're aiming for. It is better to use @ for names 'cause it will be put alphabetically before, so to properly overwrite. It is also a good thing to put @ into packs names (not speaking about UIs here). You can check how I did things into Testudo DeI submod since I used a pretty rational method composed by a lot of packs.

    g) change/do what you want and save the pack.

    after that, do:

    1) Put the chosed packs into the data folder (..\Steam\SteamApps\common\Total War Rome II\data)
    2) Remember to revert to the old manager: Go to Rome 2 on STEAM/Right click/Properties/Betas/Select the beta you would like to use/launcher_release_canditate.
    3) Start Rome II
    4) In Mod Manger, check "Enable Out of Date Mods"
    5) Make sure all chosed packs are checked green. Their load order should be ok. It is given by the number of @, the more they are the more previous the mod is loaded/must be loaded
    6) Play

    At the end it is really simple and like working with any other basic program. You just have to learn the method once and then, more or less, repeat it depending on what you're modding.
    Last edited by Jake Armitage; January 22, 2020 at 03:17 PM.

  11. #11

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Amazing guide Jake!

    Thank you I did make 38 new loading screens, compiled it to .pack and tested it. It should work. I will now post in this thread 25 loading screens (1 post => 1 loading screen), so i can edit the first post and put the link and description there. Hope it's ok with you guys

  12. #12

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 












































    Last edited by Leonardo; January 24, 2020 at 02:30 AM. Reason: Posts merged and spoiler added.

  13. #13

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Apparently i have to be member in TWC forum for at least a week. That should be cca in 3 days. So when i'm able to edit my post. I'll edit the first post and put download link and description there. For now here is link to Google Drive for .pack file + promo picture with all loading screens

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TU...M7j_kR6IulPhlu

  14. #14

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    I like them all. My favourite is the barbarian dogs one.

    +Rep

  15. #15

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    You mentioned unit cards earlier. Have you attempted to do any at all in the past, i would love to see your style, if you have any to show of course.

  16. #16
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    4,674

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Quote Originally Posted by Lugos View Post
    I will now post in this thread 25 loading screens (1 post => 1 loading screen), so i can edit the first post and put the link and description there.
    Please post pictures in one or maybe two posts with a spoiler, otherwise a post with a lot of pictures will force people to scroll just to read the next post. Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lugos View Post
    Apparently i have to be member in TWC forum for at least a week. That should be cca in 3 days. So when i'm able to edit my post. I'll edit the first post and put download link and description there. For now here is link to Google Drive for .pack file + promo picture with all loading screens

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TU...M7j_kR6IulPhlu
    Not only being a member for a week you must also have 25 posts before being able to edit your post.

    Should you need to edit your post, but can't, please don't hesitate to ask for help by reporting the post or send me a PM.
    Last edited by Leonardo; January 24, 2020 at 02:38 AM. Reason: Quoted post added.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.





    How to make Morrowind less buggy for new players - Of course every player may find it useful.

  17. #17

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Quote Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
    Please post pictures in one or maybe two posts with a spoiler, otherwise a post with a lot of pictures will force people to scroll just to read the next post. Thanks.


    Not only being a member for a week you must also have 25 posts before being able to edit your post.

    Should you need to edit your post, but can't, please don't hesitate to ask for help by reporting the post or send me a PM.

    I'm sorry Leonardo,

    i was trying to collect those 25 posts this way. I'm new to TWC so i don't know all details about editing/posting etc. Also i didn't know about that week limit when i was posting pictures, so i thought i will post 25 pictures and then just delete those posts and edit the first post of the thread. But i guess that wouldn't work either -> because when you delete post it also takes it (-) from the posts count right?

    I didn't wanted to spam other threads so i thought posting relevant pictures would be lesser evil.

    Just to explain why i posted the pictures like that

  18. #18

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Quote Originally Posted by LEXI2016 View Post
    I like them all. My favourite is the barbarian dogs one.

    +Rep

    Thank you Lexi,

    glad you like it!

    The one with barbarian dogs is artwork from Aleksei Rybnikov (art from total war arena i believe). I think there are few more pieces from him I like the one with dogs too, also another cool art from Aleksei is with the greek archers on the field. I think those two are his best from the LS set

  19. #19

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Load screen from Attila is a bit anachronistic.
    That one with armoured cossacks on Rzech Pospolita's service (circa 1650 a.d.) is MORE than a bit.

  20. #20

    Default Re: [Logo Remake] + new loading screen overlay

    Quote Originally Posted by LEXI2016 View Post
    You mentioned unit cards earlier. Have you attempted to do any at all in the past, i would love to see your style, if you have any to show of course.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    I can show you preview of Scordisci infantry line (spear and melee infantry). It's my first try to make unit cards so probably there is a lot of room for improvement. Also i need to figure it out how to make cavalry and missile infantry in this style.
    Probably the cavalry will be the hardest. But if i can find a way to make it consistent with infantry unit cards then i can make new unit cards if there will be demand for this style

    Just to explain why i did it in this style. I'm trying to showcase the most important things you need to see when working with units. The goal is to show consistently in every unit card used weapon, armor, shield in a way that you can determine if you are using light (naked body), medium (naked/shirt + helmet) or heavy (armor + helmet) unit. There is of course more things that i did but those are the most important rules i tried to use in every unit card. So for example you can see that Scordisci best spear/melee units wear mail + have shield with red patterns, so the best cav would look similar -> mail, shield with red pattern.

    Let me know if you like it or not

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •