Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Campaign crash upon loading

  1. #1

    Default Campaign crash upon loading

    I installed Roma Surrectum 3 for Steam as according to this tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNOhyGx2NhQ&t=2s) and haven't gotten to play a campaign yet. After I've moved all the Roma Surrectum content into Rome Total War Gold and chosen a faction in the launcher I try to start a campaign. If I start using the RomeTW-ALX.exe I get the "please select an item from the list" sign, whether I choose to start a campaign as RTW or Barbarian Invasion or Alexander. When I try to start a campaign as RomeTW.exe I don't get the sign but when I load the campaign map the game crashes. Please help. I bought Alexander pretty much to play this mod. I'm using Windows 10
    Last edited by Jakoporeeno; September 15, 2019 at 06:33 AM.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Try using the remove map.rpm option in the launcher.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Didn't do anything for me

  4. #4

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Install Windows 8.1 in addition to Windows 10, play the game from a disk. No Steam.
    Works without a problem.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    When I downloaded RTW a while back ago, I couldn't install it because the "Install" option is greyed out (see here: https://imgur.com/a/ExcQW1C) Is it Windows 10's fault?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Some advice would be nice
    Last edited by Jakoporeeno; November 15, 2019 at 02:15 PM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Nope, guess I'm not getting any help from you guys

  8. #8
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    4,846

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Quote Originally Posted by Jakoporeeno View Post
    When I downloaded RTW a while back ago, I couldn't install it because the "Install" option is greyed out (see here: https://imgur.com/a/ExcQW1C) Is it Windows 10's fault?
    Did you downloaded RTW on Steam?
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.





    How to make Morrowind less buggy for new players - Of course every player may find it useful.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    would suggest to play a non-steam RTW.

    i would like to take this thread for crash problem. I played the RS 3.1 for many years and just recently I re-install the RS3.1 mod with a fresh V1.5 RTW. I suddenly found that the previous RS3.1 I played maybe the wrong version.
    The previous version I encounter a problem of the construction cost saving trait actually not working or working in wrong direction, it actually cost more rather than cost saving when building. So installed the RS3.1 again and the new version is OK, but I constantly have CTD when I played upto 543 AUC. It is very annoy and I can't walk around it by what ever means.
    I am so sad that i can't play it well with the RS3.1
    Last edited by Leonardo; November 23, 2019 at 02:12 PM. Reason: Posts merged.

  10. #10
    Saul Tyre's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    England; a vassal state of Scotland
    Posts
    1,221

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Quote Originally Posted by Jakoporeeno View Post
    Nope, guess I'm not getting any help from you guys
    Hi, you could pm me your email address and I will send you via google drive RS III + 3.1 submod fix files. No guarantees but this has been successful for a few others I have helped
    Last edited by z3n; November 23, 2019 at 02:36 PM. Reason: removed reference to an illegal activity
    My personality is who I am....my attitude depends on who you are....
    RTR Project Group member/RTR8_4.0 beta tester.
    RSII_WWC_beta tester.XC_5 Beta tester
    My youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/SaulTyre












  11. #11
    tungri_centurio's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    belgium/flanders/tungria
    Posts
    1,158

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    so you can't get rome to work or RS3? make sure this is your command in the RS launcher.... -show_err -nm -movie_cam it allways works for me that way. dunno how that works with steam though.
    Last edited by Leonardo; December 08, 2019 at 07:20 AM. Reason: Promoting illegal activities removed.
    Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth. -Marcus Aurelius

  12. #12
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    4,846

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Quote Originally Posted by tungri_centurio View Post
    so you can't get rome to work or RS3? make sure this is your command in the RS launcher.... -show_err -nm -movie_cam it allways works for me that way. dunno how that works with steam though.
    I know BI mods that is mod foldered for the Steam version won't work when using the shortcut that most mods provide via the mod installer in Windows, instead one need to first double click on the RTW link in the Steam Library then select BI from the game selector and at the same time having the mod switch you mentioned in Steam.

    I know this is for BI mods only, but it's worth a try just to see if that helps.
    Last edited by Leonardo; December 08, 2019 at 07:20 AM. Reason: Quoted post corrected.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.





    How to make Morrowind less buggy for new players - Of course every player may find it useful.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Quote Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
    Did you downloaded RTW on Steam?
    That download was without steam
    Last edited by Jakoporeeno; December 07, 2019 at 06:11 PM. Reason: added quote

  14. #14
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    4,846

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Quote Originally Posted by Jakoporeeno View Post
    That download was without steam
    Not sure what you mean here. All mods for RTW cannot be downloaded on Steam due for not having Steam workshop.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.





    How to make Morrowind less buggy for new players - Of course every player may find it useful.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    Has anyone found a fix for this issue? I followed all the instructions to play with the steam version. After launching the game and starting the campaign I get a crash in the loading screen just before starting to play. Help?

  16. #16
    Agrippa19's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    On top of the hill
    Posts
    222

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    I didn't see the video but I'll just say what I've done and never had any problems.

    On steam when installing RTW Gold I didn't install in program files. I just created a new folder on local disc and installed there. So my install path was local disc>steam>steam apps>RTW.

    After downloading ALX I made a new folder. I called it 'Roma'. I didn't install ALX alongside RTW, I installed it into Roma. So my install path for ALX was local disc>Roma> ALX.

    I downloaded RS2.5, Rs3 and rs3. 1 and installed all of them into the roma pathway. Just forget the RTW path. At least this has always worked for me. So all my RS3 games are alongside my ALX install in the file 'Roma'.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Campaign crash upon loading

    The problem is seeming random crashes at the start/end of loading screens on Windows 10, that 'fixes' when you reboot or randomly seems to work. It seems to happen to anyone or everyone randomly but maybe varies based on memory settings/OS.

    The cause is likely the mod shaders and objects are extensive, and there are more variety of many things that were seemingly not in the original RTW engine. It exceeds the 32-bit vmem limit.

    The 'fix' is to set your executable file to have /LARGEADDRESSAWARE flag which adds 1GB ofmemory to a 32 bit memory's address space. After doing this the frequency of crashes went down from 1/3 loading screens or random, to practically 0. How can you do this? multiple ways but a .bat file or easy tool for this would be good. (maybe will compile some tools/tutorial somewhere to show how to do this)

    How it was found was with debugging, you can see the last error is error_not_enough_memory 8 (0x8) and it is failing to allocate virtual memory (0x0). But it works randomly to reboot, or restart and on the 2nd try, it sometimes just works, based on memory leak or memory available. It is not based on how much ram you have but the configuration mostly and seems it can be fixed by setting the flag.

    This should fix CTD that randomly happens on loading screens.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •