Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Renaissance Total War 3.0 - Kingdoms and Steam compatible

  1. #1
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    46,665
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Renaissance Total War 3.0 - Kingdoms and Steam compatible

    IntroductionHaving come across this mod several times in the course of Q&A due to it's restriction of being an 'old' mod I decided to port the mod to kingdoms and with it to steam. While at it I also set it up for use by the Mac version of the game as well as for the Geomod tool.

    Please note that this is based on the original mod (1.5) by justme. As such the original permission for the mod applies.





    InstallationThis is one of my 'click through' installations.

    • As long as your registry is fine the installer will find the correct installation path. If not, simply follow the instruction displayed in the installer.
    • At the end of the installation a file verification will take place, allow it to finish, check for error messages, close it and finalize your installation.
    • Steam users: no need to do anything - simply start the mod with it's desktop shortcut


    Version History3.0 - 09 July 2019
    - Steam compatible, no further action is required
    - ready for use with Geomod tool
    - all files are small caps to support Mac installation
    - assorted graphic elements added to distinguish from earlier versions
    - compiled from 2.75 download
    - minor fixes and adjustments:
    provided missing faction symbols
    updated faction maps
    updated faction unit pics
    provided splash screen and loading screens
    formatted modelDB file
    period menu music

    Download here
    Last edited by Gigantus; July 09, 2019 at 02:37 AM.



  2. #2
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    46,665
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Reserved for stuff



  3. #3
    isa0005's Avatar Content Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Melbourne
    Posts
    1,408

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Damn dude! You're a machine!

  4. #4
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    46,665
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Idle hands are the devil's modder's workshop.

    For a summary of mods that I have ported\made easier to install\had a major hand in please check here.



  5. #5

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Nicely done! What is you mod that you will mod yourself?

  6. #6
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    46,665
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Rise of three Kingdoms, 1648 Thirty Years of War, Bare Geomod



  7. #7
    Julio85's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Torino, Italy
    Posts
    517

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    wooow! thanks Gigantus for this great mod

    just a question:

    I noticed that there are some units that are missing in the campaign but they can be use on custom battle.

    How can I find them in the campaign ?

    i.e.: Timurids Elephants, Gothic knights, western european knights of all kinds, ecc....)

  8. #8
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    46,665
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Units that are listed in the export_descr_unit file are available in custom battle for factions who have ownership of them, regardless if they are recruitable in the game or not - provided they do not have a the no_custom attribute which stops them form being used in custom battles regardless if they can be recruited. Theoretically this file (EDU) should get cleaned up for mods like this one, after all it's kinda ridiculous to have Timurids with their elephants fight renaissance units.

    In short - you won't find those units in the campaign - only in custom battle.



  9. #9
    Julio85's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Torino, Italy
    Posts
    517

    Default Re: Renaissance 3.0 - Steam & Kingdoms compatible

    Thanks so much, make sense for the Timurids but most of the european factions has not anymore their mounted units...like germans and spanish knights.

    I will make a more detailed report soon

  10. #10
    isa0005's Avatar Content Staff
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Melbourne
    Posts
    1,408

    Default Re: Renaissance Total War 3.0 - Kingdoms and Steam compatible

    Noticed that some of the units textures are messed up on my last playthrough as Venice. Can't remember which units though.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •