Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 126

Thread: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

  1. #41

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    could you create a submod where there are new units for each faction with new settlements?

  2. #42

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by sullivanclan1 View Post
    could you create a submod where there are new units for each faction with new settlements?
    That's probably too big a project now.
    The main aim of the Mod was to add all the factions from the Kingdoms mods and as many units as possible to the basic Grand Campaign.
    Not sure if we've reached the max for settlements or units, but maxing them out, like Stainless Steel does, tends to push the official game engine too far.
    V5.0 of this mod is stable and playable, can still be tweaked to make minor gameplay improvements but I doubt anyone is around who could undertake a major change to the maps or units.
    (That said it might be possible to add some more units - if there is less than 501 in the EDU then it's possible.)
    T

  3. #43
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,938
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    A region fertility value of 6 or 7 is pretty high, as it's the base value for pop growth calculations it will accelerate it very fast. Only Caro in vanilla had 6, and that resulted in really fast growth, and remember: that was 2 years per turn.

    Region count = 195 of 200. Not sure how many water regions are there (each colour counts as region) so it should be considered maxed out.
    Unit count = 498 of 500. All in use, not advisable to add the last two.
    Last edited by Gigantus; July 23, 2019 at 09:28 PM.




  4. #44

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    We are waiting a fix for all known but little bugs. I hope this fix comes very soon.

  5. #45

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Hi Gigantus, I have a small suggestion.

    I wanted to suggest, as much as possible, to slightly expand the hiring of troops for the Templar and Hospitaller Orders in Catholic countries.
    At the first level are available sergeants; on the second sergeants and crossbowmen; on the third sergeants crossbowmen and knights.

  6. #46

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    If people can list some of the smaller bugs that would be useful.

    Some of the design features don't work very well.

    There's minor things like the Teutonic Order having princesses which they wouldn't have had.

    But the major problem is sorting out the Dates.
    In this mod they are all over the place.

    The Mongols and Teutonic Order have territory in 1180 but they wouldn't have had them until about 1230.
    There's various units that are available in 1180 that didn't appear until nearly 300 years later.
    The New World is discovered n 1196 (in the current play through I'm doing)
    Lithuania adopts christianity in 1199, a mere 200 years too early
    The Black Death appears way too early etc.
    Gunpowder units can be recruited the day after gunpowder is discovered.
    and so on.

    There are historic characters in the game who are right for the 1180 start and it's easier to change the descr_strat allocation of factions/regions than to completely re-do family trees.
    But it would mean making the Mongols and the Teutonic Order non-playable.

    Dates can be fixed once there's agreement on start date.

  7. #47
    crazyroman's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    388

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Quote Originally Posted by Used2BRoz View Post
    If people can list some of the smaller bugs that would be useful.

    Some of the design features don't work very well.

    There's minor things like the Teutonic Order having princesses which they wouldn't have had.

    But the major problem is sorting out the Dates.
    In this mod they are all over the place.

    The Mongols and Teutonic Order have territory in 1180 but they wouldn't have had them until about 1230.
    There's various units that are available in 1180 that didn't appear until nearly 300 years later.
    The New World is discovered n 1196 (in the current play through I'm doing)
    Lithuania adopts christianity in 1199, a mere 200 years too early
    The Black Death appears way too early etc.
    Gunpowder units can be recruited the day after gunpowder is discovered.
    and so on.

    There are historic characters in the game who are right for the 1180 start and it's easier to change the descr_strat allocation of factions/regions than to completely re-do family trees.
    But it would mean making the Mongols and the Teutonic Order non-playable.

    Dates can be fixed once there's agreement on start date.
    Some of these things are just how the game works . The creator of the mod would had already changed these things if he wanted to do so . If you want you can create a sub-mod though . After all, i don't think this mod was aiming to be the most historically accurate in dates .
    Last edited by crazyroman; July 29, 2019 at 03:31 AM.

  8. #48

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Some of these things are just how the game works . The creator of the mod would had already changed these things if he wanted to do so . If you want you can create a sub-mod though . After all, i don't think this mod was aiming to be the most historically accurate in dates .
    True.
    The mod looks like it has merged all 4 kingdoms mods into the original mod with little regard as to how they relate to each other.
    Would take a complete overhaul to sort it all out.
    And we already have Stainless Steel that does that.

    There's so few people playing these mods on M2TW that it's not really worth the time to sort out a proper start date or region / faction allocation.

  9. #49
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,938
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Addressing the bits and pieces I copied to the second post is still on my agenda, RL is putting some brakes on it however.




  10. #50
    crazyroman's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    388

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    For Gigantus: The unit Mailed Knights for the faction Wales has some problems with their shields .

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

  11. #51
    crazyroman's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    388

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

  12. #52
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,938
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Appreciate the heads up - but that is misaligned texture, not something I am an expert in. One of the multiple shields on that model hasn't been aligned properly, apparently it got moved half up or down the texture graphic.

    I am afraid I won't be attending to that.




  13. #53

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Gigantus... What other mods are you working on?

  14. #54
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,938
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    German one at the moment: Regnum Coelis




  15. #55

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Thanks for helping me earlier... I figured out what the problem was. I appreciate the help!

  16. #56
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,938
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Could you then please post your solution here? It will help others (and me) to solve similar problems.




  17. #57

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    mongol halbs and the swords from norwegian gotland footman
    still have texturbugs =(

  18. #58

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    I don't know about other factions, but when i upgraded my infantry building as Scotland it no longer included older unit types, so I lost the ability to train or retrain them, and with only 1 available of the new type...well it basically ended the game.
    It does seem as though other buildings may also lose older unit types when upgraded.
    This can't be intentional?

  19. #59
    Rayan's Avatar Laetus
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    Hi there, when I click the download link I just get a blank page. Is the link broken or could it be something my end?

  20. #60

    Default Re: Kingdoms Grand Campaign Mod 5.0 - Steam compatible

    bro this mod is great, all im wondering is if someone could make a dismounted general mod, in preferance to Wales, or Scotland-- yet id take a all generals dismounted if thats easier! id pay for that hahahaha- created account just for this you brought this game back to life for me and thank you so much brother

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •