Thread: Dialectics in EB

Default Dialectics in EB

I've been playing the game now for about 4 years; it's been about 1 year since I broke the chains of my weakness and learned how to win at battles, emancipating myself from the fate of losing every previous campaign on Medium/Medium. To cut a long story short, I was put in a do-or-die situation as a petty Sweboz king trying to invade Italy from Raetia with 3 stacks (I'm told this is not even possible anymore). My initial conquests in Raetia and at Mediolanum were bloody meatgrinders with my low-ranking FM and I advanced into the area of Bononia in the face of stiff Roman resistance. I forced myself to innovate both strategically and on the campaign map, basically dividing my stacks in creative ways to lay sieges and fight field battles simultaneously in a single turn - basically a divide and conquer principle. Though I enslaved the people of Cisalpine Gaul, I was faced with an unprecedented problem as I began taking over the large urban communities of Etruria, Latium, and then Campania. I despaired of establishing client states since I believed that this would set me up for failure in the long run, nevermind that it was my intention to make these urban-dwelling peoples a kingdom of my own - so I only sacked them. I could only remain in Italy for a few years, establishing the highest possible level of factional government, before - at the behest of a kinsman - I had to race back through the Alps and invade Gaul by way of the lower Rhine, ultimately luring the majority of their forces into a decisive clash at Vesontio where their race was thrown down and enfeoffed to myself. But when I finished taking the allegiance of all the Gaulish oppida and returned in triumph to Rome I noticed that the PO in Italy was on the verge of disaster. Basically with no other option I repealed my harsh policies and instituted allied governments in all of the Italian cities, anyway I had to as I needed more forces to continue with my amb