Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

  1. #1
    Laetus
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6

    Default SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    Hey,

    I played with clean 6.4 and had many crashes but most of them were fixed after reducing graphics (noticed when going to next year I had 5-10fps) and also installed bugfixes 1.27.

    Since then I played with only like 1 crash in a month. But now seems the crashes have begun to increase and I decided to report the next that comes on.

    So I'm playing with Poland, yearly era, year 1175.
    Setup:
    -Savage AI
    -Weaker Heretics
    -Permanent Watchtowers

    This crash comes when attacking against Grand Kiev on their region. Two my army vs two Grand Kiev. I reach to the point where I start fighting the another army of Grand Kiev (destroyed the other army first).

    Error LOG:
    18:11:43.653 [system.rpt] [always] CPU: SSE2
    18:11:43.653 [system.rpt] [always] ==== system log start, build date: Sep 5 2014 version development ===
    18:11:43.653 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_0.pack
    18:11:43.653 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_1.pack
    18:11:43.653 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_2.pack
    18:11:43.653 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_3.pack
    18:11:43.653 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_4.pack
    18:11:43.653 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/localized.pack
    18:11:53.914 [game.script] [always] Germanicu5 ReallyBadAI v5.7 Running. Please upload log and savegames when reporting battle CTDs for SS.
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10186, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10187, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10188, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10189, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10190, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10191, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10192, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10193, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.688 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10194, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10195, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10196, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10197, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10198, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10199, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10200, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent unit
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u6'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u7'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u8'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u9'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u10'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u11'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u12'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u13'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u14'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u15'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u16'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u17'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u18'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u19'.
    18:13:45.689 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10202, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a4u20'.
    18:13:45.690 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <label_unit>, at line 10256, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    label_unit referenced non-existent army
    18:13:45.690 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <define_unit_group>, at line 10257, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'define_unit_group': invalid unit label 'a6u1'
    18:13:46.199 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10963, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510040'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10964, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510008'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10965, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926509944'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10966, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510168'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10973, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510376'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10974, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510328'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10975, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510296'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10976, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510072'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10977, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926509896'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10978, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926509912'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10979, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510024'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10980, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510152'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10981, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510104'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10982, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510248'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10983, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510216'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10984, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510232'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10985, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926509928'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10986, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510264'.

    18:13:46.200 [game.script] [error] Script execution error for <ai_gta_add_unit_label>, at line 10987, in mods/SS6.3/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/campaign_script.txt:
    Error in battle script command 'ai_gta_add_unit_label': invalid unit label '926510280'.

    18:18:36.530 [system.rpt] [error] Medieval 2: Total War encountered an unspecified error and will now exit.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Losthief's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    im not ignoring this, but my apartment flooded so i don't when I can get to this. If what I wrote below doesn't work someone else feel free to help him out.

    but try running g5's ctd fix during the battle.

    So save b4 the battle. Exit the game. Run ss_setup. Tick everything you normally do and tick g5's ctd battle fix (not the exact name but its close to that). Load SS and run the battle. This fixes is a error with reinforcements that ss and mtw2 have that g5's scripts run into. Then play battle. Save afterwards. Run ss_setup. Untick g5's ctd battle fix and leave ticks on your normal setup for this game. Continue campaign.

    Let me know if that fixes it. If not then we will do a log with trace enabled and figure it out when I have time.

    FYI you are already running g5's realllybad ai 5.7 system already so should have the battle ctd fix in your submod list available, but if not its in the submod section of this forum as a sticky in the thread titled g5's reallybad ai.
    LOSTHIEF
    I'd rather be lucky than skilled!


  3. #3
    Laetus
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    I got past the battle with that, thanks!

    Then another thingy, could the following cause the game to crash on these situations?
    I got fed up with the mouse going outside of the game window (I got 3 monitors) so I made the "......Steam\steamapps\common\Medieval II Total War\mods\SS6.3\default.cfg" as read-only to have the game window settings be as followed

    windowed=false
    borderless_window=true

    With those settings it will stay fullscreen at all times. If the .cfg file isn't read only it will reset those settings every time I run the game.

  4. #4
    Losthief's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    Glad his fix worked for you.

    No, but you might want to add those lines to the mtw2 config file (in the mtw folder) as well as the ss. Sometimes ss config file doesn't overwrite properly. Setting both to read-only is fine. My guess is your mtw2 config is overwriting 'resetting' the ss config windowed settings. But add the line to both and then tic 'read only' and you should be good to go. Just keep in mind since you have it set to read only, changing any settings in game (grasses, graphics, etc) won't work you have to untick read only first, or edit the configs directly.
    LOSTHIEF
    I'd rather be lucky than skilled!


  5. #5
    Laetus
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    I shall continue with the old thread as I'm still playing the same campaign.

    Same settings as earlier.

    I should add computer specs: GTX 970, AMD Ryzen 1600x, 16Gb RAM, Windows 10.

    Error message:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/j3mvpcxhb1...crash.png?dl=0

    Save game file:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/vvqcr7ea9e5h9b8/Puola%2024.sav?dl=0

    I have these following things done already:

    -Re-installed...
    Net Frameworks 3.5, 4.5.2, 4.6, 4.6.1, 4.6.2, 4.7, 4.7.1, 4.7.2.
    VCRedist 2005 x86 & x64, 2008 x86 & x64, 2010 x86 & x64, 2012 x86 & x64, 2013 x86 & x64, 2015 x86 & x64, 2017 x64.
    Graphics driver (clean installation). Also manually deleted cache files.

    -Ran CCleaner, "sfc /scannow", Windows updates.

    -Deleted .cfg files.

    -Even Ran ctd fix.

    Also disabled and then enabled Net frameworks from control panel (you know what I mean.)

    .Log only gives this row:
    22:10:38.504 [system.rpt] [always] CPU: SSE2


    This is painful as nothing has changed.... yet still problem like this showed up...

  6. #6
    Losthief's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    runtime fixes:

    1. Press the Windows Key + R, appwiz.cpl and then press Enter.
    2. Locate the Microsoft Visual C++ programs in the list.
    3. Select each entry and then click Uninstall.
    4. Download a fresh copy of Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime from here and then install it.

    also run direct x:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=8109

    cause the reinstall video drivers probably messed up that part and windows doesn't install the old directx files automatically anymore.
    LOSTHIEF
    I'd rather be lucky than skilled!


  7. #7
    Laetus
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    I did do those steps when I first got the error and that was before reinstalling video drivers.
    But I will try again, because after uninstalling everything I started with installing those Microsoft VCredist 's and then graphics drivers with "clean install" selected.

  8. #8
    Laetus
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    Yep, still not working....

  9. #9
    Laetus
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    With that specific save game I simply can't get forward and not even other save game from earlier year. I needed to go 2 rounds back to get past that round.

    Did you try this on your own set? Hoping to get a solution for this.

  10. #10
    Losthief's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,946

    Default Re: SS 6.4 with bugfixes 1.27 crash

    Not yet...i'll try it soon. Just started my masters so its been a busy couple of weeks for me.
    LOSTHIEF
    I'd rather be lucky than skilled!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •