Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Infantry and Battle Tactics Thread

Default Infantry and Battle Tactics Thread

I'm still relatively new to EB2, but I've been reading some of the Guides session and would like to discuss with other players what's their favorite tactics on the battlefield regarding mostly infantry, cavalry and skirmishers/archers.

Let me be very clear: I had some deep ingrained habits back from EB1, which I still found quite successful when playing a Romani campaign in EB2. I think the often overlooked key to victory, especially for factions centred on infantry, rests upon a few essential concepts:

1 - A fierce enough charge.
    2 - Attrition.
    3 - Reserves.

In other words, while it's possible to engage all your forces at once, using a flanking tactic which - Cannae style - keeps your lightest troops in the center while your heaviest troops flank, I don't use it most of the time.

Instead, with Arvernoi, Aedui, Boioi, Pritanoi, and the likes, thanks to the fierce charge of barbarian infantry, I often rely on masses of infantry deployed in very thin lines and using the charge as a strength. And I've done that since EB1, with great success.

BUT when that's not successful, and since I tend to not rely much on a hammer and anvil strategy (I like to conserve my cavalry as much as possible for pursuit and skirmishing roles), the best tactic consists in using Attrition and Reserves.

Ever since EB1, every time I've played Romani, I've always up to the Marian period used reserves with great success. And it's not a big mystery, let's suppose you have 4 hastati, 4 principes, 1 triarii, deployed in a classical two line or maniple formation.

The hastati will fight and wear down the enemy, but with no chance of ever beating them decisively. Then when they're Fatigued, I withdraw them and unleash the Principes, who'll have an over advantage over their worn out foes and can take and give far more of a beating.