Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Strat map banner changing on its own

  1. #1

    Default Strat map banner changing on its own

    Greetings!

    I am the mapper, coder, and bug-fixer in general of the Tsardoms mod. Last year there were a few CTDs nobody could explain or know how to fix, so I rebuilt the entire mod from scratch around November-February. Now everything appears to be working as inteded and we haven't stumbled upon any CTDs since.

    However, a new non-fatal bug appeared. This one really intrigues me and I have no idea what causes this. Some turns into the campaign (variable, between 2 and 20), the Ragusa faction banners in the strat map gets changed from its original one to the crossed swords from rebels. This happens regardless if Ragusa is controlled by AI or the player. Ragusa is the only faction affected by this. As you can see in the screenshot, the faction is not extinct, it is just the icon (standard_index from descr_sm_factions) that gets changed.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    Has anyone ever seen this or have any idea what causes this, how to fix this thing??? Even pointing me in the right direction would be valuable.

    Appreciate any suggestion. Thank you.
    Tsardoms: Total War
    Former Campaign Manager
    Semi-retired (or maybe semi-active? who knows...)




  2. #2
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,126
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    Truly weird, check your script for the banner changing command.










  3. #3

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    The script couldn't possibly be the problem, it contains only "restrict_strat_radar false" and nothing else.

    Funny thing, though: the banner gets changed to the rebel one. If I save after the change, then load the game again, the loaded game displays the original, unchanged banner This is just insane.

    Any thoughts?
    Tsardoms: Total War
    Former Campaign Manager
    Semi-retired (or maybe semi-active? who knows...)




  4. #4
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,126
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    I just noticed that it's not only the banner but the regional border color as well. Any chance you may have more then 31 faction entries in descr_sm_factions? some hidden formatting in that file perhaps? Please upload that file and descr_standards as well.










  5. #5

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    Oh, sorry. Haven't checked here in a while. I still have no clue what could be the cause, but managed to find a workaround. I just had to change the standard_index number (20) to a new one (8) and the problem did not happen ever again. Would still be interesting to find out what caused this. Could also be useful for anyone who eventually faces this kind of problem and come here searching the answer.

    Some other info:
    - No, we have (and had, changes were made since) exactly 31 factions in descr_sm_factions. I don't believe there is any formatting problem neither...
    - I see why you'd think that, but the faction colors did not change. Ragusa colors are 220, 220, 220 and 155, 155, 155.
    - About what I said that when you loaded the game the banner reverted back to the original, that always worked in some saved games, and always did not work in other saved games.

    Here are the files you requested.
    factions&standards.rar
    Tsardoms: Total War
    Former Campaign Manager
    Semi-retired (or maybe semi-active? who knows...)




  6. #6
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,126
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    I think your descr_standards is the culprit, underneath the vanilla one:

    Code:
    factions
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga
    rebels_factions
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga
    This is yours:
    Code:
    factions
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga
    rebels_factions
    symbols                banners/symbols9.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols10.tga
    This is how it should have been if #7 and #8 still have the slave symbols:
    Code:
    factions
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols9.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols10.tga
    rebels_factions
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga
    My theory: it doesn't really matter which standard index number you give the slave faction (20 is the top left of the two timurid red dots) as their banner is determined by descr_culture via the rebel_standard_index number (each culture can have a different symbol). For that to work the slave symbols have to be in the rebel_factions section in descr_standards.
    If 7 and 8 still contained the slave symbols then it's unsurprising that you get the symbol at higher (regular) index numbers.

    Edit: it does however not explain why you had problems with #22 as that would be a default symbol TGA file, see underneath. On the other hand the (to be spawned) timurids are entered as index #22, maybe something here?

    Code:
    factions                                    descr_sm_factions index #
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga        0 - 3
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga        4 - 7
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga        8 - 11
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga        12 - 15
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga        16 - 19
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga        20 - 23
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga        24 - 27
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga        28 - 31
    rebels_factions                                descr_cultures index #
    symbols                banners/symbols9.tga        0 - 3
    symbols                banners/symbols10.tga        4 - 7
    Last edited by Gigantus; August 28, 2018 at 12:26 AM.










  7. #7

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    Wow. That’s a lot of information I did not know about. I recreated the entire mod folder from scratch to get rid of a decade of leftovers of god knows how many former members’ unfinished work. The bulk and most essential stuff are already in, but some other still need to be done. Descr_standards I just copied from the old version because it used more files than vanilla, which made the higher standard index value factions to (obviously) not display their banner symbols. I’ll take this new information into account and try to make some tests tomorrow (its 2 am here). Will post my findings.

    Thanks for your once again highly valuable assitance
    Tsardoms: Total War
    Former Campaign Manager
    Semi-retired (or maybe semi-active? who knows...)




  8. #8
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,126
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    Check my edit as well.

    An example of slave symbols (from my 1648 mod):



    Here a tut that comes handy if you want to give the factions individual slave settlement symbols.
    Last edited by Gigantus; August 28, 2018 at 12:39 AM.










  9. #9
    Mr_Nygren's Avatar Berserkir
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,351

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    I think your descr_standards is the culprit, underneath the vanilla one:

    Code:
    factions
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga
    rebels_factions
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga
    This is yours:
    Code:
    factions
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga
    rebels_factions
    symbols                banners/symbols9.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols10.tga
    This is how it should have been if #7 and #8 still have the slave symbols:
    Code:
    factions
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols9.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols10.tga
    rebels_factions
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga
    My theory: it doesn't really matter which standard index number you give the slave faction (20 is the top left of the two timurid red dots) as their banner is determined by descr_culture via the rebel_standard_index number (each culture can have a different symbol). For that to work the slave symbols have to be in the rebel_factions section in descr_standards.
    If 7 and 8 still contained the slave symbols then it's unsurprising that you get the symbol at higher (regular) index numbers.

    Edit: it does however not explain why you had problems with #22 as that would be a default symbol TGA file, see underneath. On the other hand the (to be spawned) timurids are entered as index #22, maybe something here?

    Code:
    factions                                    descr_sm_factions index #
    symbols                banners/symbols1.tga        0 - 3
    symbols                banners/symbols2.tga        4 - 7
    symbols                banners/symbols3.tga        8 - 11
    symbols                banners/symbols4.tga        12 - 15
    symbols                banners/symbols5.tga        16 - 19
    symbols                banners/symbols6.tga        20 - 23
    symbols                banners/symbols7.tga        24 - 27
    symbols                banners/symbols8.tga        28 - 31
    rebels_factions                                descr_cultures index #
    symbols                banners/symbols9.tga        0 - 3
    symbols                banners/symbols10.tga        4 - 7
    I do have a similar issue where the Majora faction of Hyrule Total War (which i added as it had unfinished coding in the expanded file making it crash when holding the mouse over it before) has the correct symbol for awhile - but then it decides to disappear and instead it would get a greyed-out area where the symbol used to be.

    Could this be the same issue?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails kingdoms 2018-12-20 01-46-41-898.jpg   kingdoms 2018-12-20 17-51-04-944.jpg  
    Be your friend's, true friend. Return gift for gift. Repay laughter, with laughter again
    but betrayal with treachery.

    - The Havamal

  10. #10
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,126
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Strat map banner changing on its own

    I feel reminded of the banner change command from the kalmar script. Can't think of any other reason why in the middle of the game the faction symbol should change\disappear from the flags. Check your campaign script file for the set_faction_banner command.










Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •