Thread: Question about Phalanx power and custom stats modification

Default Question about Phalanx power and custom stats modification

Hi I am new to EB2 and I am on a binge playing this game what an amazing amazing mod! The one thing I felt a little sad about is that it seems the phalanxes are a little weak and other elite infantries have no problem taking the best phalanx head on and destroy the phalanx despite a 1:2 numerical disadvantage (also a cost advantage). I just had a game where an elite hoplite destroy an agema phalanx head on in a 1v1 custom battle with 25:80 casualty rate.

I always felt the phalanx were never really beaten from the front throughout ancient history, they only got mauled when situation got complex. Is there a way I can modify the phalanx stats from game file? I wish I can give all phalanx units a power up so that the agema phalanx can convincingly beat all other elite infantries head on, while still vulnerable on the sides.

Default Re: Question about Phalanx power and custom stats modification

Glad you're enjoying the mod. The main issue seems to be that the M2TW engine doesn't "do" phalanxes very well. Even with higher attack, the enemy often "walks through" the phalanx head on. Since the RTW engine had units specifically designed for macedonian phalanx, it worked a lot better in EB1 than EB2(although they were kind of stupidly OP). There's been lots of attempts to improve phalanxes by our unit-statters, but there are still many issues which yet remain. It's a complex problem issue, unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by Genghis Skahn View Post
    Glad you're enjoying the mod.....
    Thanks for the reply. I guess it can't really be helped then and I will just have to buff it a little bit like the vanilla Scot royal pikemen. I found export_descr_unit in the mod's data folder and its section on phalanx units. I guess that's where I change it huh

stat_pri 6, 0, no, 0, 0, melee, melee_blade, piercing, spear, 75, 1