Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 55 of 55

Thread: The Total War Chat Thread

  1. #41

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    My computer is not really good but I thought at the time I purchased it that was good enough to run Attila Total War smoothly:

    Alienware 17 R3; CPU: i7-6700HQ @2.6 GHz - 3.5 GHz; RAM: 16 GB DDR4 2133 MHz; GPU: Nvidia GTX 970M 3 GB DDR5

    I am saving money to purchase a better one but I am even thinking considering Attila or ToB because of the performance. I really like Attila's history period, so I guess I will play it at medium settings anyway. Glad to know you can run ToB, that encourage me to purchase ToB when I get the new pc.

  2. #42
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Incendio View Post
    My computer is not really good but I thought at the time I purchased it that was good enough to run Attila Total War smoothly:

    Alienware 17 R3; CPU: i7-6700HQ @2.6 GHz - 3.5 GHz; RAM: 16 GB DDR4 2133 MHz; GPU: Nvidia GTX 970M 3 GB DDR5

    I am saving money to purchase a better one but I am even thinking considering Attila or ToB because of the performance. I really like Attila's history period, so I guess I will play it at medium settings anyway. Glad to know you can run ToB, that encourage me to purchase ToB when I get the new pc.
    Is that the specs of your computer?

    If it is then the only thing you need to do is to double the RAM from 16 Gb to 32 Gb.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.

  3. #43
    Daruwind's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    2,057

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    I run i7-7700K (OC for 4.5) + 1080Ti and 32 GB RAM and Attila is still lagging at max settings Wh1,2,3K, ToB working like charm...and TW:Empire siege slowdown lag is there too...

  4. #44
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Daruwind View Post
    I run i7-7700K (OC for 4.5) + 1080Ti and 32 GB RAM and Attila is still lagging at max settings Wh1,2,3K, ToB working like charm...and TW:Empire siege slowdown lag is there too...
    Because ETW doesn't support compressed gamesaves hence for the lag in-game. Sometimes ETW can actually freeze due for poor performance.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.

  5. #45

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    32 GB is overkill for the time being; 16 should suit you just fine with the proper settings and an effort not to overload the background.

  6. #46
    Daruwind's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    2,057

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    If I understand it correctly TW up to ToB, Attila are 32 bit apps so they can use only 4 GB or RAM (RAM + VRAM) only WH1,2,3K are 64bit apps and may utilize more...

    Now 32 GB RAM is a lot but while I often Alt+tab plus let things run whole day and when firefox/chrome are eating like 5 GB by itself...

  7. #47
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by CommodusIV View Post
    32 GB is overkill for the time being; 16 should suit you just fine with the proper settings and an effort not to overload the background.
    Sure, having 32 Gb of RAM is overkill when one is playing plain vanilla, but as soon one install heavy mods e.g a lot of scripting, texture, skins etc then one might appreciate 32 Gb instead of 16 Gb if one wants to prevent unnecessary lag in-game.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.

  8. #48

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
    Sure, having 32 Gb of RAM is overkill when one is playing plain vanilla, but as soon one install heavy mods e.g a lot of scripting, texture, skins etc then one might appreciate 32 Gb instead of 16 Gb if one wants to prevent unnecessary lag in-game.
    If one insists on background intensive tabs such as the browser example above, then yes, I can fully agree.

  9. #49

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
    Because ETW doesn't support compressed gamesaves hence for the lag in-game. Sometimes ETW can actually freeze due for poor performance.
    But also happens in custom battles. Can be due to "pathfinding"? Because my performance is much better in flat maps rather than maps with terrain "accidents", I mean, terrain features, ground contours. I suffer fps drops when AI starts moving its army and when AI units change its path. What can you do when you really like Empire and Attila and both have the very worst performance in the entire Total War saga? I think I have to change my mind to love other periods, need to convince myself that Japan civilization is more exciting, but damn, I love 18th century warfare, what can I do? This guy Daruwind with its supercomputer can't run ETW and Attila smoothly either.

  10. #50
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    3,763

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    If you really like cannons and musket fire then NTW (support compressed gamesaves) is quite stable for custom battles.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.

  11. #51
    Daruwind's Avatar Citizen
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    2,057

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Nah, my PC was top two years ago, now it is probably average maybe little above. :-)

    Because both ETW and Attila are 32 bits apps. They cannot utilize more resources of my PC, what is worse ETW seems not to use turbo boost for CPU at all. Itīs all about the coding. I can provide another examples. I run Oblivion with heavy mods, basically allowing visibility across almost whole map and while game looks old, the FPS are just good,nothing great. Then you have modern games like Witcher 3, Kingdom Come Deliverence with all new techs which are running smoothly and looking way better....Attila is like Oblivion, it is looking like ToB but performance is not great and actually there is small trick to improve it: https://www.twcenter.net/forums/show...tion-to-Attila that being sad, there is probably nothing to fix ETW siege bug (once there are breaches in fortification, AI move units so much around those that it slow down the game to a halt...

    So after certain treshold, more powerful PC will help just with background things. OS, programs, browsers so game has all neccessary resources.

  12. #52

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    I'll probably skip Attila Total War. How good is performance in Rome 2 Total War in modern gaming computers?

  13. #53
    LestaT's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Campus Martius
    Posts
    3,857

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Incendio View Post
    I'll probably skip Attila Total War. How good is performance in Rome 2 Total War in modern gaming computers?
    I'm not sure if Ryzen 5 2600 and RX580 still considered modern but below are the sample for Attila and Rome 2 expected performance. Of course actual gameplay performance is different than benchmarks depending on actual units on the screen.

    https://youtu.be/cngDIrUOj0c

    https://youtu.be/2i-MdwHt0ro

    Here's ToB as a bonus.

    https://youtu.be/xV1zt0d2-QY

    ... And Three Kingdoms since, why not? 😬

    https://youtu.be/ruAULngsRDk

  14. #54

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by LestaT View Post
    I'm not sure if Ryzen 5 2600 and RX580 still considered modern but below are the sample for Attila and Rome 2 expected performance. Of course actual gameplay performance is different than benchmarks depending on actual units on the screen.

    https://youtu.be/cngDIrUOj0c

    https://youtu.be/2i-MdwHt0ro

    Here's ToB as a bonus.

    https://youtu.be/xV1zt0d2-QY

    ... And Three Kingdoms since, why not? 

    https://youtu.be/ruAULngsRDk
    The Ryzen 2600 is pretty good cpu (i have it also). The only thing is that TW games lean more to Intel chips than AMD ones (pretty stupid, because amd has made a pretty good comeback lately). I do recommend nvidia gpu's (like 1060, 1070, 1080, 2060, 2070, 2080)more than radeon ones. Maybe in the future if amd does the same with gpu's as they did with the cpu's than you can choose more between those 2. Plus 144HZ monitor is also good.

  15. #55

    Default Re: The Total War Chat Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by LestaT View Post
    I'm not sure if Ryzen 5 2600 and RX580 still considered modern but below are the sample for Attila and Rome 2 expected performance. Of course actual gameplay performance is different than benchmarks depending on actual units on the screen.

    https://youtu.be/cngDIrUOj0c

    https://youtu.be/2i-MdwHt0ro

    Here's ToB as a bonus.

    https://youtu.be/xV1zt0d2-QY

    ... And Three Kingdoms since, why not? 😬

    https://youtu.be/ruAULngsRDk
    Thank you for the benchmarks. Clearly ToB performance is far better than Attila, but Rome 2 is also very demanding as I see, this is something to take into account before purchasing a new computer.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •