Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Removing core buildings

  1. #1
    Hellvard's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Removing core buildings

    Can I remove core_castle_building tree entirely from edb file? I think I saw a mod with only one settlement type but I don't remember how it was achieved. Will game work without it or is it hardcoded?





  2. #2
    paleologos's Avatar You need burrito love!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    8,496

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    It is possible.
    You need to find the file that describes the initial sore buildings at the start of the campaign and replace castles with cities.
    And you need to remove the castle lines from the EDB and the convert-to-castle lines.

  3. #3
    Hellvard's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    Great to hear that And settlement level is hardcoded to only 6 I assume?





  4. #4
    paleologos's Avatar You need burrito love!!
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Variable
    Posts
    8,496

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    I think so.

  5. #5
    Iron Aquilifer's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Scotland, Angus
    Posts
    4,199

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    I remember reading that you need core_castle core_city, port, an castle_port chains in the EDB. It is just that you don’t need to use both in-game (as in “cancel out” conversion)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Hellvard's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    Oh you're right, I have read about it quite a time ago and I forgot this





  7. #7

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    If you want to "remove" them, as in make them stop appearing, give them a fictitious event_counter. Doesn't matter what it is, as long as it's never going to be fulfilled. It'll never appear in a building roster as an option, and you don't have to break the game trying to remove the required buildings either.

  8. #8
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,123
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    The EDB needs to have the 4 core building trees present. If you use\enable all of them is another thing altogether. You will need to use at least one wall tree for the game to work.

    descr_settlement_db has a setting that disables display of the 'castle' entries in the building browser - if you plan to use only settlements then set it to false: <show_building_browser_castles bool="true"/>










  9. #9
    Hellvard's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    Thanks And another question: If I recall correctly, in RTW when city reached next level, we had to build administration buildings first, only then we could upgrade city walls. I wonder if it's possible to achive in M2?





  10. #10

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    Quote Originally Posted by Hellvard View Post
    Thanks And another question: If I recall correctly, in RTW when city reached next level, we had to build administration buildings first, only then we could upgrade city walls. I wonder if it's possible to achive in M2?
    Easy, though you'll need a lot of lines in your upgrade paths, since it will be one per faction; unless they all use the same administration buildings.

  11. #11
    Titus le Chmakus's Avatar Biarchus
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Skiing on the Spine of the World or hunting in Lurkwood
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    Quote Originally Posted by Hellvard View Post
    Thanks And another question: If I recall correctly, in RTW when city reached next level, we had to build administration buildings first, only then we could upgrade city walls. I wonder if it's possible to achive in M2?
    ?? Are you sure of that ? I don't remember it ...

    Anyway it does not matter, you just have to put a condition in your EDB line.

    Code:
    building core_building
    {
        levels wooden_pallisade wooden_wall stone_wall large_stone_wall huge_stone_wall 
        {
            wooden_pallisade city requires factions { portugal, normans, turks, timurids, denmark, aztecs, hre, mongols, scotland, venice, france, egypt, milan, england, spain, papal_states, poland, hungary, russia, byzantium, moors, sicily, saxons, slave, }
            {
                capability
                {
                    wall_level 0
                    tower_level 1
                    free_upkeep bonus 2
                    recruitment_slots 1
                }
                material wooden
                construction  2 
                cost  600 
                settlement_min village
                upgrades
                {
                    wooden_wall
                }
            }
            wooden_wall city requires factions { portugal, normans, turks, timurids, denmark, aztecs, hre, mongols, scotland, venice, france, egypt, milan, england, spain, papal_states, poland, hungary, russia, byzantium, moors, sicily, saxons, slave, }  and building_present_min_level taverns brothel
            {
                capability
                {
                    wall_level 1
                    gate_strength 1
                    tower_level 1
                    free_upkeep bonus 3
                    recruitment_slots 1
                }
                material wooden
                construction  4 
                cost  1200 
                settlement_min town
                upgrades
                {
                    stone_wall
                }
            }
            stone_wall city requires factions { portugal, normans, turks, timurids, denmark, aztecs, hre, mongols, scotland, venice, france, egypt, milan, england, spain, papal_states, poland, hungary, russia, byzantium, moors, sicily, saxons, slave, } and building_present_min_level taverns inn
            {
                capability
                {
                    wall_level 2
                    tower_level 1
                    gate_strength 1
                    gate_defences 2
                    free_upkeep bonus 4
                    recruitment_slots 1
                }
                material stone
                construction  8 
                cost  2400 
                settlement_min large_town
                upgrades
                {
                    large_stone_wall
                }
            }
            large_stone_wall city requires factions { portugal, normans, turks, timurids, denmark, aztecs, hre, mongols, scotland, venice, france, egypt, milan, england, spain, papal_states, poland, hungary, russia, byzantium, moors, sicily, saxons, slave, }  and building_present_min_level taverns tavern
            {
                capability
                {
                    wall_level 3
                    tower_level 1
                    gate_strength 2
                    gate_defences 2
                    free_upkeep bonus 5
                    recruitment_slots 1
                }
                material stone
                construction  12 
                cost  4800 
                settlement_min city
                upgrades
                {
                    huge_stone_wall
                }
            }
            huge_stone_wall city requires factions { portugal, normans, turks, timurids, denmark, aztecs, hre, mongols, scotland, venice, france, egypt, milan, england, spain, papal_states, poland, hungary, russia, byzantium, moors, sicily, saxons, slave, } and building_present_min_level taverns coaching_house
            {
                capability
                {
                    wall_level 4
                    tower_level 1
                    gate_strength 2
                    gate_defences 2
                    free_upkeep bonus 6
                    recruitment_slots 1
                }
                material stone
                construction  15
                cost  9600 
                settlement_min large_city
                upgrades
                {
                }
            }
        }
        plugins 
        {
        }
    }
    Of course, its a joke (though I like taverns as administration building ), you have to replace the taverns by the building you want, but it has to be the tree name + building name in :

    Code:
    and building_present_min_level taverns brothel 
    This would avoid using tons of building slots as Quintus said ... But you could still be able to name that administration building by culture. Or maybe you could use the city_hall tree ?
    Last edited by Titus le Chmakus; March 15, 2018 at 03:44 AM.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    I wasn't talking about using lots of building slots, but upgrade lines. But that was based on the assumption different factions/cultures might be using different administration buildings (as is the case in EBII, where every faction has it's own administration tree). That obviously doesn't apply to mods that use the same buildings for everyone.

  13. #13
    Titus le Chmakus's Avatar Biarchus
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Skiing on the Spine of the World or hunting in Lurkwood
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Removing core buildings

    Yeah well as in EB2 ok, it is very complicated, but in most mods, a 9 lines building tree is more than enough

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •