Thread: Desiring Depth

Default Desiring Depth

First of all, a little background, I've been playing Total War games for about 12 years now starting with Rome 1. As your titles have increased in magnitude and depth, I find myself more and more invested in your line as opposed to the yahoos in Sweden who can't seem to keep their trains on the rails.

So, I want to discuss two areas I feel Rome 2 is lacking in: Diplomacy, and the consequences of war.

So, diplomacy to build relations works pretty well for the current "level" of depth: You have non-aggression pacts to establish cordial relations, trade agreements to boost resources and income (though I wish this was a bit more custom as to what's being traded, military access, defensive pacts, and full alliances ready to kick butt and take names. Where it lacks is in the deterioration of relations; the only way to really get at an opponent is to declare war, or grant military access to a current foe of theirs (though this is very circumstantial in application). Sure you can deploy agents to sabotage their armies and locales, but that entire system feels outdated and tedious, to have to recruit these agents and click them around the map every turn for the sake of their functionality. The whole system needs to go the way of the Diplomat and be integrated into the Diplomacy UI, or even a separate one for 'Intrigue'. The functionality wouldn't really need to change; from an overhead map view you could select provinces or armies, attempt to disrupt them with timed effects calculated by distance, and should the action fail, your faction suffers a penalty likely tied to the difficulty of future intrigue against said army or city.