Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

  1. #1
    ThomasHerennius's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    32

    Default Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

    I recently found out how to edit names for generals, but whenever they appear in game, they end up looking like this

    Let’s take one of the added names, Arminius, for example..

    ( !!! Arminus !!!) Could not translate...

    Anyone know how to fix this? The names also disappear after the next turn and are replaced with something else- at least for generals. It appears princesses retain the bugged name.


  2. #2

    Default Re: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

    Sounds like it's looking for the English localization for your new names, which would need to be added to a separate file entirely.

  3. #3
    ThomasHerennius's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

    How would I go about doing so?

  4. #4
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Ratae Corieltauvorum
    Posts
    76

    Default Re: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

    Quote Originally Posted by ThomasHerennius View Post
    How would I go about doing so?
    There are two files you need to change to get new names working correctly. Sounds like you've already found the first half for yourself, but I'll include it for anyone else who was wondering (and I'll assume you're working on vanilla rather than a mod...)

    The files you need are: //campmap/names/default_heroes.txt and //Loc/Eng/names.txt

    In default_heroes.txt there are lists of names used by each faction, defined like this:


    Code:
    SET_FORENAMES::    FN_ENGLISH    1    8
    Which tells you the English names are in list 1, and the first 8 names are used for Royals

    Further down you'll find the lists:

    Code:
    // Name list, these must match an entry in names.txt
    
    // 1:    english_forenames
    ADD_FORENAMES::
    "Henry"
    "Edward"
    "Richard"
    "John"
    "William"
    "Alfred"
    "Edmund"
    "Stephen"
    "Edward"
    "Edgar"
    "Henry"
    "Henry"
    ...
    ...
    "Morcar"
    "Robin"
    "John"
    (Note some names are repeated - I think this is just to make them more frequent in the game)

    So, to add a new name to the faction you need to put it in the list:

    Code:
    ...
    ...
    "Morcar"
    "Robin"
    "John"
    "Arminius"

    That's the first half done. The next bit is to set up the translation in //Loc/Eng/names.txt, where you'll find an array of labels and translations:

    Code:
    // english forenames
        ["Alfred"]    {"Alfred"}
        ["Edward"]    {"Edward"}
        ["Edmund"]    {"Edmund"}
        ["Edgar"]    {"Edgar"}
        ["William"]    {"William"}
        ["Henry"]    {"Henry"}
        ["John"]    {"John"}
        ["Harry"]    {"Harry"}
        ["George"]    {"George"}
        ["Howard"]    {"Howard"}
        ["Anthony"]    {"Anthony"}
        ["Nigel"]    {"Nigel"}
        ["Thomas"]    {"Thomas"}
        ["Hugh"]    {"Hugh"}
        ["Geoffrey"]    {"Geoffrey"}
        ["Hubert"]    {"Hubert"}
        ["Robert"]    {"Robert"}
        ["Ralph"]    {"Ralph"}
        ["Jasper"]    {"Jasper"}
        ["Perkin"]    {"Perkin"}
        ["Roger"]    {"Roger"}
        ["Godwine"]    {"Godwine"}
        ["Tostig"]    {"Tostig"}
        ["Loefwine"]{"Loefwine"}
        ["Aelfgar"]    {"Aelfgar"}
        ["Morcar"]    {"Morcar"}
        ["Walter"]    {"Walter"}
        ["Robin"]    {"Robin"}

    (Note here, even though the names (labels) in heroes.txt are repeated you should only have ONE translation for each label in names.txt)

    Now, you can add your new name here in the faction list, it doesn't really matter where it goes in the file, but if you're doing a load of new names, it might be better to add them all in a block near the end of the file so you can find them easily when it all goes wrong (in modding always assume it will go wrong, it saves your sanity - as does backing up any files you are about to edit....)

    But assuming you do add it to the faction list, you will end up with:


    Code:
        ["Aelfgar"]    {"Aelfgar"}
        ["Morcar"]    {"Morcar"}
        ["Walter"]    {"Walter"}
        ["Robin"]    {"Robin"}
        ["Arminius"]    {"Arminius"}
    Note the label uses square brackets [] and the translation uses curly brackets {}

    And that is enough to get Arminius working in the game.

    The names also disappear after the next turn and are replaced with something else- at least for generals. It appears princesses retain the bugged name.
    This is because generals can die of old age and be replaced by a new one with a new name.

    General note, in the game's .txt files, // acts as a REM command and the game ignores everything that follows on that line.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by Macsen Rufus; November 25, 2017 at 08:38 AM.

  5. #5
    ThomasHerennius's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

    Hey thanks!

  6. #6
    Frunk's Avatar Form Follows Function
    Moderator Emeritus

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,495

    Default Re: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns


  7. #7
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    5,245

    Default Re: Editing Names for Generals/Campaigns

    Quote Originally Posted by Frunk View Post
    Great post Rufus! +rep


    +rep
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.





    How to make Morrowind less buggy for new players - Of course every player may find it useful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •