Thread: My Initial Thoughts on Warhammer I

Decanus

Default My Initial Thoughts on Warhammer I

I regard myself as a series veteran, having played since the original Rome Total War from 2005 (though I appreciate many players surpass even me from the original Shogun!). I recently bought Warhammer: Total War in a sale a few days ago, and these are my initial thoughts.

Simply put, I think Warhammer is the best game in a long time, certainly since Shogun II: Total War. It's been a long time since I had fun playing a Total War game, and whilst playing Warhammer I can just feel myself smiling and watching the hours drift by.

I am not a Warhammer expert by any means, but it seems to me Creative Assembly really enjoyed making this game. I find the characters to be well crafted and a joy to inspect both on the campaign map and the battle map. The character model variety is really something. Watching the men of The Empire do battle against hordes of Greenskins, whilst wizards summon spells and trolls and giants beat my men into submission is a marvellous sight. I can't really comment on the accuracy to the Warhammer lore, but to an amateur like me, the models and animations are pretty excellent.

Which kind of leads me into my next point. The battles are satisfying, brutal and violent. Cavalry charges are finally as brutal as they should be! Watching scores of plate armoured horsemen send goblins flying into the air never gets boring. Sometimes I watch my frontline soldiers charge into combat, and wince as steel meets steel. Siege weapons scatter men and beasts alike across the battlefield.