Thread: One Turn Research (Desired Faction Only) & Some Extras

Default One Turn Research (Desired Faction Only) & Some Extras

This guide is total beginner friendly and walks through things slowly, apologies for the long read.

My motivation to create this page came from the headache I received by opening multiple tabs to read informative posts, because I couldn’t find a singular post out there that provides everything in one place (and is up to date). Plus I get to post new findings here as I edit.

I will post how to edit unit stats at a later date.

Now before we begin you will need the following programs: (Have to find download links)

ESFEditor 1.4.4

And

PackFileManager (Only if you want to edit Ancillary and Traits and need their names)

Before I forget, a few notes:
    Note: I am doing this under the Steam Version of Empire: Total War.
    Note: Unit Modifications can be done with PackFileManager as well.
    Note: When editing Ancillaries, I have noticed placing more than 4 on a character crashes the game. I think this may be a limit.

Now lets begin, we will be taking this slow and broken up:
    Part 1: Creating a file to edit.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Start by opening Steam and starting up Empire: Total War "Play".

Select:
    • Single Player
      • Whatever game type you want (I am using Grand Campaign for this guide).
        • Faction (I am using United Provinces & Maratha throughout the guide for various reasons).
          • World Domination

Okay once the game loads: Press Esc, then Save. Your filename should be “United Provinces Summer 1700”. I like to save this filename and then save again with the filename “United Provinces Turn 1 – Modified”. I do this in case a mistake is made, so we have an original file to go back to.

After creating both save files: Press Esc and Exit to Windows.
    Minimize Steam for now.

Part 2: Download, Extract, Open ESFEditor 1.4.4