Thread: No text whatsoever - Ubuntu - Steam

Socrates1984's Avatar Decanus
    Citizen

Default No text whatsoever - Ubuntu - Steam

Hello to all the good people of this community!

After a few failed attempts to come to peace with my Windows 7 OS (and for various other -non-related to this thread- reasons) I migrated to Ubuntu. The only problem would be a risk to not be able to play my favorite game, but after a diligent effort I found out the way to play it natively. Sort of...

It wasn't so hard after all. I installed Ubuntu (16.04 LTS) alongside Windows. I installed the Linux version of Steam. I bought the Linux version of Medieval 2 Total War and Kingdoms. It required a week of trial and error, reading through Ubuntu and Steam forums and tweaking to finally launch the game successfully. (This full week doesn't imply that the process is difficult, but rather that I am not very good at this.)

Anyway, the game launched. The problem, as the thread's title says, is that there is no text whatsoever. I mean, absolutely nothing, nowhere. What I have done to solve this, you can see in the following list:

1. Launched a campaign. Good. Everything works fine, except -you guessed it- no text.
    2. Played a custom battle. See above.
    3. Tried 1 and 2 with all four Kingdoms. Same as above.
    4. I read somewhere that it is probably a font problem. Something with the Tahoma font. So, I downloaded it, with the usual due diligence (rebuilding the fonts, rebooting etc), and tried all the above (1-3). The problem persists.
    5. I rebooted again and tried all the above (1-3). The problem persists.
    6. I read somewhere else that you have to unpack the .pack files using the unpacker in the /pack folder. I would try this solution, but the unpacker is missing.

So, I have three questions:

1. Where is the unpacker? Shouldn't it be there, since I downloaded from Steam and verified the cache? Where can I find the unpacker?