Page 12 of 77 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112131415161718192021223762 ... LastLast
Results 221 to 240 of 1522

Thread: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience.

  1. #221

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Hello,

    How would I go about changing where certain fiefdoms are gained? The one in particular that I'm thinking of is that as Arnor, a general in Fingard (Enedwaith) will become the lord of Forodwaith/Pitkaranta. I'm assuming Fingard was at one point along the way a province up in Forodwaith...I remember this also being a problem back in 1.6.x but I forgot about it and was surprised to find that the general I had waiting in all the northern provinces wasn't gaining any ancillaries, and I unexpectedly gained the one I was waiting for after taking Fingard.

    Thank you!

  2. #222

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Hi, is there any translation to spanish? I can't find none of them. Thanks for your attention

  3. #223
    Veteraan's Avatar TATW Local Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tilburg, Kingdom of The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,091

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by gabboman View Post
    Hi, is there any translation to spanish? I can't find none of them. Thanks for your attention
    Welcome to the forum, gabboman.

    I don't think there is a Spanish version of MOS, at least I never heard or seen anything about it.

    Citizenised by Shankbot - Patron of b0Gia - House de Bodemloze

  4. #224

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Alright I tried it on VH, VH and Mordor's got the best of me. There's 6+ stacks coming my way and I just can't produce units fast enough, plus Mordor's stacks are full of elit (ish) units like ologhai, halberds, uruk archers, etc. I can't remember if there was a script I activated that unleashed this sort of onslaught. Also I can't figure out how to work the "Eagles Nest" to call for aid (there's no dialogue option, unit to recruit, or any sort of hint on how to use this feature...). I could survive if I was allowed to control more than 1 stack though (this can't be changed correct?). Think I'll just have to restart and play on hard instead.

  5. #225

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Dont understand that mordor is beating your ass when on my campaigns mordor gets like wiped out at turn 80... its insaze! Are you playing gondor?

  6. #226
    Greymane's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by KnightOwl View Post
    Alright I tried it on VH, VH and Mordor's got the best of me. There's 6+ stacks coming my way and I just can't produce units fast enough, plus Mordor's stacks are full of elit (ish) units like ologhai, halberds, uruk archers, etc. I can't remember if there was a script I activated that unleashed this sort of onslaught. Also I can't figure out how to work the "Eagles Nest" to call for aid (there's no dialogue option, unit to recruit, or any sort of hint on how to use this feature...). I could survive if I was allowed to control more than 1 stack though (this can't be changed correct?). Think I'll just have to restart and play on hard instead.
    The Eagles' Nest script was explained in the popup where you could choose to accept the script or not. You get aid from your closest ally (Dale/Dwarves or Gondor/Rohan) when your capital or some other important settlement is under attack.
    There is indeed a script that gives mordor a couple of extra stacks in addition to what they already have. Have you encountered Mumakil?

  7. #227

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Yeah I just fought one today. So this script gives them extra stacks periodically or just once? Sorry I should know better about the features.

  8. #228
    ♔atthias♔'s Avatar dutch speaking
    Citizen

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,055

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by KnightOwl View Post
    Yeah I just fought one today. So this script gives them extra stacks periodically or just once? Sorry I should know better about the features.
    the script gives them more money so they can recruit more so the stacks will keep coming the whole time
    Rise of Mordor 3D Modelers Wanted
    Total War - Rise of Mordor
    Are you a 3D Environment and Character artist, or a Character Animator?

    If yes, then the Rise of Mordor team linked above is looking for you!
    Massive Overhaul Submod Units!
    D you want some units back in MOS 1.7? Install this mod http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...n-1-1-RELEASED
    It adds back units who were deleted from the campaign in MOS 1.7, namely the Winged Swordsmen, the Citadel Guard Archers and the Gondor Dismounted Bodyguard.

    Under the proud patronage of
    Frunk of the house of Siblesz

  9. #229
    Ngugi's Avatar TATW & Albion Local Mod
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    10,687

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by KnightOwl View Post
    Yeah I just fought one today. So this script gives them extra stacks periodically or just once? Sorry I should know better about the features.
    Quote Originally Posted by atthias View Post
    the script gives them more money so they can recruit more so the stacks will keep coming the whole time
    And a full stack, including a Műmakil unit, every 20th turn or so, IIRC. Check the Read Me-file in the Third_Age_3-folder of your MOS installation for submod/content information

    Kingdom of Lindon preview video out





    DCI: Last Alliance
    - WIP Second Age mod | DCI: T˘l Acharn - mighty D˙nedain Counter Invasions |
    Additional Mercenary Minimod - more mercs; for TATW and DCI | Family Tree minimods - lore improvements | Remade Event Pictures - enhance cultures trough images |
    Favorite TATW compilation: Withwnars Submod Collection
    Patron of Mank, Kiliš Alý, FireFreak111, MIKEGOLF & Arachir Galudirithon, Earl of Memory

  10. #230

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyPistol View Post
    I don't know if this has been asked before in the old thread, but are the Rhudaur archers, pikes, swordsmen, and nobles not available in the campaign? I enjoy using them in custom battles, but I'm about 10 turns past the barracks event as Gundabad, and my building trees don't show anything.
    Don't mean to be a bother to bring this up again, but it never seemed like it was answered. Am I to assume they are an AI only unit? If so, am I able to edit the files to make them available in-game?

  11. #231

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    That question was answered. Just look a bit more close after the question was first asked!

  12. #232
    Greymane's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyPistol View Post
    Don't mean to be a bother to bring this up again, but it never seemed like it was answered. Am I to assume they are an AI only unit? If so, am I able to edit the files to make them available in-game?
    It was indeed answered, partly by me
    They are mercs, at least the nobles and cavalry are. As OOTMM they showed up in the Imladris and Trollshaws regions, so as Gundabad they should be close to that region as well.
    Edit: I don't know about any pikemen. They might have been taken out completely. Still, there are about 4 different Rhudaur available as mercs.
    Last edited by Greymane; June 21, 2016 at 11:15 AM.

  13. #233
    Vangar's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The sacred Grove
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    I encountered a crash on my Dwarven campaign. Edoras became target of a invasion and a pop up asked me wether I'd like to send help. I did, but nothing happens for 10 rounds or so. Then all of a sudden the game will crash on my turn, I suppose it's because my aid arrives this round? I use the Hobbit units submod, everything else is current MOS out of the box. Do those units interfere with the script?

  14. #234

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by Greymane View Post
    It was indeed answered, partly by me
    They are mercs, at least the nobles and cavalry are. As OOTMM they showed up in the Imladris and Trollshaws regions, so as Gundabad they should be close to that region as well.
    Edit: I don't know about any pikemen. They might have been taken out completely. Still, there are about 4 different Rhudaur available as mercs.
    Yes I remember your answer, and I know about the mercs available, however the Nobles are not a part of them. The only mercs available are the Hillmen, Scouts, Axemen, and Heavy Axemen. I see the Pikes, Archers, Swords, and Nobles in custom battles, but not in the actual Gundabad campaing, merc or otherwise.

    edit: Even in the Imladris region I haven't found the Nobles, and I'm well past the barracks event.

  15. #235
    Veteraan's Avatar TATW Local Moderator
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tilburg, Kingdom of The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,091

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by Vangar View Post
    I encountered a crash on my Dwarven campaign. Edoras became target of a invasion and a pop up asked me wether I'd like to send help. I did, but nothing happens for 10 rounds or so. Then all of a sudden the game will crash on my turn, I suppose it's because my aid arrives this round? I use the Hobbit units submod, everything else is current MOS out of the box. Do those units interfere with the script?
    I don't know if the Hobbit submod could have caused this. The only reason I can think of it causing your crash is that for some reason one or more of the units the aid script uses are not longer available (or renamed).

    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyPistol View Post
    Yes I remember your answer, and I know about the mercs available, however the Nobles are not a part of them. The only mercs available are the Hillmen, Scouts, Axemen, and Heavy Axemen. I see the Pikes, Archers, Swords, and Nobles in custom battles, but not in the actual Gundabad campaing, merc or otherwise.

    edit: Even in the Imladris region I haven't found the Nobles, and I'm well past the barracks event.
    Don't know this as I am not really involved in the units part of MOS, but I guess if you cannot find them in the building browser and they are not popping up as mercenary, they are not in by design.

    Citizenised by Shankbot - Patron of b0Gia - House de Bodemloze

  16. #236
    Vangar's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The sacred Grove
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by Veteraan View Post
    I don't know if the Hobbit submod could have caused this. The only reason I can think of it causing your crash is that for some reason one or more of the units the aid script uses are not longer available (or renamed).
    (...)
    The Hobbit submod indeed changes the roster. That could be it - is there any way I can save my campaign by editing the aid script?

  17. #237

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Hello everyone, I love playing Gondor or Arnor with some of my generals named Gimli, Legolas, Boromir, Aragorn . Before i start a campaign, in descr_strat file i change the portraits of some random generals in Gondor, for example i change the Forlong portrait to Aragorn, and in "Names" file i change Forlong name to Aragorn, in descr_unit file i chose whatever unit i want to play with as this generals unit, but there are some things i cant get to work, i give Forlong as battle_model aragorn , in the battle it seems like mirror or some grey shiny stuff, i tried to add to gondor (siciliy) descr_character aragorn , elessar with hoping that it might work but it didnt. Also I want to give Gimli (as one of my Gondorian generals) axeman of erebor unit, i tried giving ownership to this unit as siciliy (or gondor) it did not work, was grey soldiers all arround, what should i do to get those stuff work , i know some stuff about editing certain things but my knowledge is not enough to achieve those, can someone basicaly help me with this ?, or at least tell me what i am missing., any help would be much apreciated fellas.

  18. #238
    Greymane's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyPistol View Post
    Yes I remember your answer, and I know about the mercs available, however the Nobles are not a part of them. The only mercs available are the Hillmen, Scouts, Axemen, and Heavy Axemen. I see the Pikes, Archers, Swords, and Nobles in custom battles, but not in the actual Gundabad campaing, merc or otherwise.

    edit: Even in the Imladris region I haven't found the Nobles, and I'm well past the barracks event.
    Then I was mistaken. My OOTMM campaign was quite a while ago...
    Anyway, this means that they are not included.

    Quote Originally Posted by Vangar View Post
    The Hobbit submod indeed changes the roster. That could be it - is there any way I can save my campaign by editing the aid script?
    Probably not
    If you have an earlier save, you could load that and simply not accept the script.
    If you can find out what unit causes the crash, you can try to put it back in the export_descr_units file, as it has probably been removed. However, if you have over 500 units in that file, the game will crash by default, so you might have to take a unit out (which might then crash other parts of your game). All of this might not even work, but it's worth a try.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dead Warden View Post
    Hello everyone, I love playing Gondor or Arnor with some of my generals named Gimli, Legolas, Boromir, Aragorn . Before i start a campaign, in descr_strat file i change the portraits of some random generals in Gondor, for example i change the Forlong portrait to Aragorn, and in "Names" file i change Forlong name to Aragorn, in descr_unit file i chose whatever unit i want to play with as this generals unit, but there are some things i cant get to work, i give Forlong as battle_model aragorn , in the battle it seems like mirror or some grey shiny stuff, i tried to add to gondor (siciliy) descr_character aragorn , elessar with hoping that it might work but it didnt. Also I want to give Gimli (as one of my Gondorian generals) axeman of erebor unit, i tried giving ownership to this unit as siciliy (or gondor) it did not work, was grey soldiers all arround, what should i do to get those stuff work , i know some stuff about editing certain things but my knowledge is not enough to achieve those, can someone basicaly help me with this ?, or at least tell me what i am missing., any help would be much apreciated fellas.
    Ah, the Silver Surfers
    You have to go to the battle_models.modeldb file in this location: C:\Program Files (x86)\SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\Third_Age_3\data\unit_models
    It's probably the most annoying file in existence, so bear with me.
    This is Aragorns entry:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    7 aragorn
    1 1
    43 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/strider_lod0.mesh 64000
    4
    8 timurids
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    5 turks
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    5 slave
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    4 merc
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    4
    8 timurids
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    5 turks
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    5 slave
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    4 merc
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    4
    4 None
    16 MTW2_2HSwordsman 0
    1
    24 MTW2_2HSwordsman_Primary 0
    5 horse
    18 MTW2_HR_Non_Shield 0
    1
    18 MTW2_Sword_Primary 0
    8 elephant
    18 MTW2_Elephant_Crew 0
    1
    18 MTW2_Sword_Primary 0
    5 camel
    18 MTW2_HR_Non_Shield 0
    1
    18 MTW2_Sword_Primary 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0


    To make him available for Gondor, you need to edit the file like this:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    7 aragorn
    1 1
    43 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/strider_lod0.mesh 64000
    5
    8 timurids
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    5 turks
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    6 sicily
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0

    5 slave
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    4 merc
    50 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider.texture
    57 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_normal.texture 0
    5
    8 timurids
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    5 turks
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    6 sicily
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0

    5 slave
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    4 merc
    54 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att.texture
    61 unit_models/_Units/Heroes/textures/strider_att_normal.texture 0
    4
    4 None
    16 MTW2_2HSwordsman 0
    1
    24 MTW2_2HSwordsman_Primary 0
    5 horse
    18 MTW2_HR_Non_Shield 0
    1
    18 MTW2_Sword_Primary 0
    8 elephant
    18 MTW2_Elephant_Crew 0
    1
    18 MTW2_Sword_Primary 0
    5 camel
    18 MTW2_HR_Non_Shield 0
    1
    18 MTW2_Sword_Primary 0 -1 0 0 0 0 0 0


    You have to change both 4's to 5's, as there are 5 entries now instead of 4. You have to add an entry for Sicily, as that is Gondor.
    The annoying part is that Sicily has 6 letters, so you have to put the number 6 in front of it. Even more annoying is that a single slight error in this file will crash your game. So make backups!
    What I've written above should do the trick for Aragorn, but if it doesn't, try to find a tutorial as I might have forgotten something. Units work the same way.
    If you ever think about adding new units, you have to change the big number in the very first line as well. For a single additional unit, 1489 becomes 1490.

  19. #239

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Yeeeah silver surfers , thanks for the quick reply, i will try doing this, after i posted here i was searching names of the caracters in the third age file , i found the file u mentioned there and the lines, but did not know what to tinker, i cannot say i completely understood what you meant but as far as i understand i will try, post here if i succeed.

  20. #240

    Default Re: MOS, the ultimate TATW experience. Updated OP and submod links added: 2016-April-15th

    Greymane, Ok i solved the puzzle, i completely understand what i have to edit now thanks to you. I edited Gimli entry by following your example but there is a problem. I open the file with wordpad and when i save it there is a warning and i click yes and game crashes. I made backup of course , no problem with that but , what must i do to save after i edit that file ?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •