Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Renaming citizenship types

HigoChumbo's Avatar Definitely not Jom.
    Citizen

Blog Entries

Default Renaming citizenship types

Pretty self-explanatory. I think that having one of the types of citizenship being named as its broader category can lead to confussion, specially for new users, so I believe a better name should be assigned to the citizenship type called "citizen".

Since 2 out of 3 categories are in latin, I guess it would be a natural choice to give it a latin name as well. I'm by no means an expert, but after googling a bit, I believe "cīvis" could be a candidate, and has a nice ring to it. In the other hand, both "civis" and "civitate" are closely related to "citizen", which would cause a confussion problem I'm trying to solve in the first hand (we would have 2 types of "citizen" named with latin words which both mean "citizen"), and although almost no one is going get picky about latin names, since we are on it, we could probably find more suitable names. As far as I'm concerned "civis" means citizen and "civitas" citizenry, so I'm assuming that civis (citizen) and civitate (a member of the citizenry) are pretty much the same, and therefore are not ideal as distinctive names. I've got nothing against "Artifex", though.

So, some possibilities (feel free to add as may as you want):

CITIZENRY (latin "civitas"), the sum of all members with the rank of CITIZEN (latin "cīvis"/"civitate"):

• Those who have contributed through modding: ARTIFEX
    • Those who have contributed through debating and writing: ORATOR (english: orator); SCRIPTOR (english: writer); DICENS (english: speaker); RELĀTOR (english: storyteller), DĒLĪBERĀTOR (thinker), SCHOLARIS (english: scholar, credit to Iskar)