Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 2345678910111213 LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 241

Thread: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

  1. #201

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Hey Zip,

    Just downloaded the Mod and tried a Macedon campaign. Looks great so far! Love the Unit Roster, the different pike tiers and so on. Great great Job!

  2. #202
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by SacredBoltgun View Post
    Hey Zip,

    Just downloaded the Mod and tried a Macedon campaign. Looks great so far! Love the Unit Roster, the different pike tiers and so on. Great great Job!
    I'm very glad you're enjoying it bud! I'd love to see how your game is panning out sometime. Fire some pics up on the picture thread and let me see how your campaign is progressing if you'd like!

  3. #203
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Hi zip, I'm a Mac user which means I need to install most mods manually, input my own command line etc. I'm able for example to play lord of the rings total war (ALX) by putting -mod:Alexander/lotrtw. However, the AUC installer doesn't put the mod inside the Alexander folder, and the AUC launcher doesn't seem to open for me.

    If if you could give me some help on how to basically do this stuff manually it'd help me out to no end, thanks.
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  4. #204

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    I just downloaded RTW from steam, used to play the disk version, but it’s not working for some reason. Any how, the steam version of Alexander is now V1.91.. Is this mod compatible with the newest version? Other mods that I have tried have not been compatible.

  5. #205
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Aexodus View Post
    Hi zip, I'm a Mac user which means I need to install most mods manually, input my own command line etc. I'm able for example to play lord of the rings total war (ALX) by putting -mod:Alexander/lotrtw. However, the AUC installer doesn't put the mod inside the Alexander folder, and the AUC launcher doesn't seem to open for me.

    If if you could give me some help on how to basically do this stuff manually it'd help me out to no end, thanks.
    If you are playing Rome Total War Gold then install it to the general directory, not Alexander. That might solve the problem.

  6. #206
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by SpartanDemigod2 View Post
    I just downloaded RTW from steam, used to play the disk version, but it’s not working for some reason. Any how, the steam version of Alexander is now V1.91.. Is this mod compatible with the newest version? Other mods that I have tried have not been compatible.
    Make sure it's installed to the Alexander directory (i.e. Steam/Steamapps/common/RTW Alexander). NOT the Data folder.

    It is fully compatible with the latest Alexander version (I'm testing it now, for example).

  7. #207
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    I have tried it in the general directory. but on Mac the data files are contained within Rome Total War>contents>resources>Data within which is data, bi and alexander. What could I put in the command line to make the mod use alexander if it's in the general directory, which I have tried but it only gives me a black screen. I can play other Alexander mods which actually go inside the Alexander folder okay, for that I just say -mod:Alexander/auc
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  8. #208
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Aexodus View Post
    I have tried it in the general directory. but on Mac the data files are contained within Rome Total War>contents>resources>Data within which is data, bi and alexander. What could I put in the command line to make the mod use alexander if it's in the general directory, which I have tried but it only gives me a black screen. I can play other Alexander mods which actually go inside the Alexander folder okay, for that I just say -mod:Alexander/auc
    Hmm. So as long as the AUC folder, exe and icon are located in the same folder (alongside bi/alexander and data) it should be ok. On Windows the normal location is simply alongside the data folder.

    Is it necessary to use a command line to run the mod on Mac? Have you tried simply launching directly?

    Failing all these, direct the installer to the Rome Total War>contents>resources>Data>Alexander folder and try it from there instead (with the respective command line). If that works, let me know!

  9. #209
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    What does the launcher itself exactly do? And yes on Mac I need to input a command line for every mod. Btw, Mac RTW doesn't have a RomeTW.exe, RomeBI.exe or a RomeTW-ALX.exe, which I think is my problem, it works differently.
    Last edited by Zipzopdippidybopbop; October 23, 2017 at 06:43 PM.
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  10. #210
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Aexodus View Post
    What does the launcher itself exactly do? And yes on Mac I need to input a command line for every mod. Btw, Mac RTW doesn't have a RomeTW.exe, RomeBI.exe or a RomeTW-ALX.exe, which I think is my problem, it works differently.
    Ah! That's the problem. What is the exe called?

    PS - Accidentally hit "Edit Post" on your comment, ignore it =P

  11. #211
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    There's a unix executable as pose to a Microsoft one called 'Rome Total War' in contents>MacOS so I don't think that helps really :/ it itself only brings up a sort of launcher where there is a command line under 'advanced options so idk if that helps...



    The thing is, I don't understand why some mods need to be in the 'Data' folder alongside data, Alexander, and bi, and others need to be inside bi and alex folders. Like I said, lotrtw works fine inside the Alex folder but AUC just gives me a black screen instead of loading, no CTD no error message even (????)
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  12. #212
    Saul Tyre's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    England; a vassal state of Scotland
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Hello laddie's, I have no experience with Mac so unfortunately I have not got a clue how to help, I had a look around and found this http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ds-on-Mac-OS-X ... I have no idea if it helps but here's hoping
    Last edited by Saul Tyre; October 24, 2017 at 12:32 PM. Reason: typo
    My personality is who I am....my attitude depends on who you are....don't confuse
    RTR Project Group member/RTR8_4.0 beta tester.RSII_WWC_beta tester.XC_5 Alpha tester
    My youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/SaulTyre












  13. #213
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Thanks Saul, but I think those instructions are for the old version that mounted a dmg (basically a mac version of an exe installer I guess) to the root folder... like the data folders were literally in a separate place from the application, and you weren't really supposed to have access to them. The newest version that I now version is 1.4.2, it contains all the data inside it. I just want to know how I can make AUC run off alexander while still being outside the folder :/
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  14. #214
    Saul Tyre's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    England; a vassal state of Scotland
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Ok sorry it was no good, I had another look around and found this youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaerYFivTTk maybe this will help, I will keep looking but I don't think there is much else, keeping my fingers crossed.
    My personality is who I am....my attitude depends on who you are....don't confuse
    RTR Project Group member/RTR8_4.0 beta tester.RSII_WWC_beta tester.XC_5 Alpha tester
    My youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/SaulTyre












  15. #215
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Any luck?

  16. #216
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    No, I still just get a black screen instead of a loading screen. What does the AUC launcher do btw?
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  17. #217
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Runs an exe called AUC.exe - which in turn is linked to the RTW-ALX.exe file.

    Quick question - do you have antivirus? Some antiviruses like to delete exe files they don't know much about - some people have reported the same problem with the mod. Perhaps try disabling your AV temporarily, reinstalling and trying again? Maybe check to see if AUC.exe is installed alongside the other modfiles.

  18. #218
    Saul Tyre's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    England; a vassal state of Scotland
    Posts
    1,137

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Zipzopdippidybopbop View Post
    Quick question - do you have antivirus? Some antiviruses like to delete exe files they don't know much about - some people have reported the same problem with the mod. Perhaps try disabling your AV temporarily, reinstalling and trying again? Maybe check to see if AUC.exe is installed alongside the other modfiles.

    If you are using Windows(I have Win 7 pro x 64bit) you can always take control of your UAC/Virtual Store(link how to do this) > http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...Store-Problems ...Windows has a habit of interfering with files it does not recognise, this gives you control. In the link it is set out for M2TW but it works the same for RTW, I do this for all my mods(16 atm) as I have them all in their own copy of RTW/M2TW in their own individual folders(even modfoldered mods) I also use "run as admin" when playing and where I can when installing.
    Last edited by Saul Tyre; October 26, 2017 at 06:07 AM. Reason: typos
    My personality is who I am....my attitude depends on who you are....don't confuse
    RTR Project Group member/RTR8_4.0 beta tester.RSII_WWC_beta tester.XC_5 Alpha tester
    My youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/SaulTyre












  19. #219
    Aexodus's Avatar Persuasion>Coercion
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    6,482
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    I don't believe we do have much at least, in the way of AV. At any rate, any Mac AV wouldn't care about exe files as they (normally) wouldn't be able to interact with the computer. Anyway, I've been running exe files on Wine for ages now and have never had a problem like that. I think the problem is simply that since I can't use RomeALX.exe, I can't play AUC-unless I can find a way to install it in the actual Alexander folder like for example LoTRTW is, kind of forcing the game to use Alex files. Anyways, thanks for your help lads, maybe we were bait this time
    Patronised by Pontifex Maximus

    Quote Originally Posted by PointOfViewGun View Post
    Nope. There is nothing to suggest dramatically that his heart is giving out. His heart attack is a testament to how well he can recover from something like that.

  20. #220
    Zipzopdippidybopbop's Avatar Barred from the Local
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    2,240

    Default Re: Ab Urbe Condita "VI" Information & Download Thread

    I'm sorry it's been so problematic mate.

    One last stab; if you find an exe relating to Alexander, rename it to RTW-ALX.exe and make sure a copy is placed alongside the AUC installation folder. Try that

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •