Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567
Results 121 to 132 of 132

Thread: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

  1. #121

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Update:

    It finally worked thanks to HazardHawk's guide on Steam Community:
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/4760/...8291502250484/

    I think what was missing was copying the dx9 libraries into the game folder and maybe the NVIDIA max prerender setting.
    Mouzafphaerre, aka Urwendur, Urwendil...

  2. #122
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,440
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Thanks for coming back with the solution!



  3. #123

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    Thanks for coming back with the solution!
    I just hope it helps others too

    Maybe the link to HazardHawk's solution could be appended to the OP?
    Mouzafphaerre, aka Urwendur, Urwendil...

  4. #124
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,440
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    I'll explain it to the moderator in charge



  5. #125

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    I'll explain it to the moderator in charge
    Thanks
    Mouzafphaerre, aka Urwendur, Urwendil...

  6. #126
    Fresco's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Pescara,Italy
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Until yesterday everything worked perfectly with Full HD monitors and Nvidia 1070 GPUs.
    Today I put the new 2K monitor and the new GPU Radeon RX 5700 and RomeTW and Barbarian Invasion Vanilla work perfectly, but any Mod that I insert in the "set startup options" of Steam, doesn't work! I'm desperate, I'm trying everything, but nothing !!
    CAMPIONI del MONDO!!!!!

  7. #127
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,440
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Did you try both approaches in the opening post?

    Might as well check this, too.



  8. #128

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Have tried to get the game going again.
    Have the Rome disks and have got RomeTW working via Steam, put in code.
    Trying to get RS working, have tried everything in this thread and it still will not start.
    It gets as far as the Rome AUC536 picture, plays some music and then closes down.
    Have changed the preferences as suggested and the compatibility to windows pack xp service 2, also the HazardHawk suggestions to no avail.
    On the RSII screen it shows in the top corner RS 2.2 and launcher 1.2.2 are they correct?
    Also it only shows play with RTW not BI, unable to even get ALEXT installed.
    Properties in RS show START IN as "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Rome Total War Gold\Data\UI\WONDERS"
    and TARGET as "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Rome Total War Gold\launcher\Roma Surrectum II.exe" -nm -ne

    I am stumped !
    Any other ideas?

  9. #129
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,440
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    While 'target' may be correct I highly doubt 'start in' is correct then. And what is that Roma Surrectum II.exe file? A custom launcher?



  10. #130

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    While 'target' may be correct I highly doubt 'start in' is correct then. And what is that Roma Surrectum II.exe file? A custom launcher?
    Thanks for the reply...
    I installed Rome (Anthology) via Steam (could not get it to work otherwise) by adding the code in the box.
    It installs Rome but does not recognise the Barbarian or Alex disks.
    Installed RSII in the Steam/common folder because that was where RTW was..
    I have not altered the Start or Target fields other than adding -nm -ne (what do they mean?)
    The target seemed wrong to me but I really have a limited set of pc skills ..
    Roma Surrectum II.exe file Really sorry but I have no idea did not put that in.
    Have noticed it is in Compatibility mode for Windows7 nor XP as I mentioned, is that wrong ?

    Thanks for any help, much appreciated.

  11. #131
    Gigantus's Avatar The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it
    Patrician Moderator Emeritus Administrator Emeritus Modding Emeritus

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    47,440
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    This article tells me that regular desktop shortcuts are not the yellow of the egg when it comes to Steam. It's also part of the reason why I wrote this tutorial.

    This Wiki article will explain a few things regarding command lines.

    I am not very hot on RTW installations, they occasionally tend to end up in the default folder and not independent from it - I would suggest to enquire in the RS forum regarding on how to install. I thought the Steam installation of RTW would come with BI at least?



  12. #132
    Leonardo's Avatar Reborn Old Timer
    Artifex

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern Sweden
    Posts
    4,250

    Default Re: [Updated] Making RTW or RTW:Gold work on windows10 - FIX

    Quote Originally Posted by ro6ertj View Post
    Have tried to get the game going again.
    Have the Rome disks and have got RomeTW working via Steam, put in code.
    Trying to get RS working, have tried everything in this thread and it still will not start.
    It gets as far as the Rome AUC536 picture, plays some music and then closes down.
    Have changed the preferences as suggested and the compatibility to windows pack xp service 2, also the HazardHawk suggestions to no avail.
    On the RSII screen it shows in the top corner RS 2.2 and launcher 1.2.2 are they correct?
    Also it only shows play with RTW not BI, unable to even get ALEXT installed.
    Properties in RS show START IN as "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Rome Total War Gold\Data\UI\WONDERS"
    and TARGET as "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Rome Total War Gold\launcher\Roma Surrectum II.exe" -nm -ne

    I am stumped !
    Any other ideas?
    Alexander is a separate game.

    I know what you mean about not finding a shortcut for BI, but that is how Steam works and now you need to click on Rome TW in the Steam Library then select BI via a game selector in Steam.

    So, I guess that this also applies for RTW mods in Steam.


    I doubt the RS launcher will work for Steam, so I suggest that you use RTW Anthology for the time being.

    I also suggest that you move Steam outside of UAC since it is known to cause issues with a lot of games.

    Quote Originally Posted by ro6ertj View Post
    Thanks for the reply...
    I installed Rome (Anthology) via Steam (could not get it to work otherwise) by adding the code in the box.
    It installs Rome but does not recognise the Barbarian or Alex disks.
    Installed RSII in the Steam/common folder because that was where RTW was..
    I have not altered the Start or Target fields other than adding -nm -ne (what do they mean?)
    The target seemed wrong to me but I really have a limited set of pc skills ..
    Roma Surrectum II.exe file Really sorry but I have no idea did not put that in.
    Have noticed it is in Compatibility mode for Windows7 nor XP as I mentioned, is that wrong ?

    Thanks for any help, much appreciated.
    The Rome TW Anthology has two installations; Rome TW Gold Edition (RTW and BI) and the other installation is RTW Alxeander as a separate game with a separate desktop shortcut.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    This article tells me that regular desktop shortcuts are not the yellow of the egg when it comes to Steam. It's also part of the reason why I wrote this tutorial.

    This Wiki article will explain a few things regarding command lines.

    I am not very hot on RTW installations, they occasionally tend to end up in the default folder and not independent from it - I would suggest to enquire in the RS forum regarding on how to install. I thought the Steam installation of RTW would come with BI at least?
    RTW on Steam does come with BI, it is just that BI doesn't have a shortcut on desktop hence for launching BI via a game selector in your Steam Library by double clicking on RTW.
    Under patronage of General Brewster of the Imperial House of Hader.


Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •