Page 1 of 19 1234567891011 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 377

Thread: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

  1. #1
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Icon7 How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    In many respects it is easier to add a new faction this way than from complete scratch - both factions are already half-implemented into the game. Bare in mind that using these two will only open up so many new faction slots; if you want to add more than two, you will need to follow the other tutorial. Also, this tutorial does not apply for Kingdoms.

    Files that will be edited:
    descr_strat.txt
    export_descr_buildings.txt
    *OPTIONAL*
    descr_win_conditions.txt
    descr_sm_factions.txt
    expanded.txt
    campaign_descriptions.txt

    Make sure you back these files up. If you cant find these files, thats probably because you havent run the unpacker from the patch. Make sure that when you do this, you delete the two geography files that you are told to delete in the unpacker readme.

    Right, lets get started.

    ADDING THE FACTION INTO THE GAME - descr_strat editing
    1. First off, go to descr_strat and add 'normans' or 'saxons' to the playable list. Like so:
    Code:
    playable
    	england
    	france
    	hre
    	spain
    	venice
    	sicily
    	milan
    	scotland
    	byzantium
    	russia
    	moors
    	turks
    	egypt
    	denmark
    	portugal
    	poland
    	hungary
    	normans
    end
    unlockable
    end
    nonplayable
    	papal_states
    	aztecs
    	mongols
    	timurids
    	slave
    end
    2. Then, scroll down until you get below hungary's list. Add the following lines:
    Code:
    faction	normans, trader henry
    denari	10000
    denari_kings_purse	5000
    3. Now you will need to add a settlement for them. The easiest thing is to take a settlement from the slaves/rebels and add it to them. For example:
    Code:
    settlement
    {
    	level village
    	region York_Province
    
    	year_founded 0
    	population 800
    	plan_set default_set
    	faction_creator venice
    	building
    	{
    		type hinterland_farms farms
    	}
    }
    This is found under slaves.
    [B]Make sure that this settlement does not appear twice (i.e. under normans and slave factions - delete the one under the slave settlement list).[B]

    4. Next, you will need to add characters and armies to your faction. Use another faction's character/army as an example. I.e:
    Code:
    character	Rufus, named character, male, heir, age 30, x 106, y 164
    traits GoodCommander 2 , Intelligent 2, VictorVirtue 3
    army
    unit		NE Bodyguard			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Spear Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    to this:
    Code:
    character	Robin, named character, male, leader, age 40, x 106, y 164
    traits GoodCommander 2 , Intelligent 2, VictorVirtue 3
    army
    unit		Duke William				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    Make sure that your character's name appears under the faction's name list in names.txt. (This is one of the files that doesnt unpack, download it first or use the string.bin converter)
    Paste underneath when done.

    Save your file as something other than descr_strat.txt for now. Then, an important step.
    You need to load up the game -> start/load a campaign -> Go to the settlement/s that you wish to give this new faction -> Put your cursor over the settlement -> Then open up console (`/~) and type in show_cursorstat -> it will show the co-ords of your settlement, write it down -> Repeat for every settlement you wish to copy, then exit.
    Now go back to your modded file and replace your new characters x y coordinates with the settlement's one. Then Search for that same x y co-ord. It might highlight your new character first -> select Find Next. It should show a rebel army. Delete this army's record. Repeat as necessary.

    You may choose to add more characters and agents in; however, it is not required.

    5. Once you have added in everything you wish, you will need to have a character record list that appears underneath. It is a record of wives, children and the family at the start of the game. It looks like this:
    Code:
    character_record		Cecilia, 	female, age 36, alive, never_a_leader
    
    relative 	Robin, 	Cecilia,	end
    6. This is an example of how it should all look:
    Code:
    faction	normans, sailor napoleon
    ai_label		 catholic 
    denari	10000
    denari_kings_purse	2500
    settlement
    {
    	level large_city
    	region York_Province
    
    	year_founded 0
    	population 11800
    	plan_set default_set
    	faction_creator england
    	building
    	{
    		type core_building large_stone_wall
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type tower ballista_towers
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type professional_military military_academy
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type port shipwright
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type siege catapult_range
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type smith heavy_armourer
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type sea_trade warehouse
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type admiralty naval_academy
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type hinterland_farms farms+2
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type taverns coaching_house
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type barracks militia_barracks
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type temple_catholic abbey
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type city_hall city_hall
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type market great_market
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type hinterland_roads paved_roads
    	}
    }
    
    character	Robin, named character, male, leader, age 40, x 106, y 164
    traits GoodCommander 2 , Intelligent 2, VictorVirtue 3
    army
    unit		Duke William				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Mailed Knights				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Armored Sergeants			exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Archer Militia				exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    
    character_record		Cecilia, 	female, age 36, alive, never_a_leader
    
    relative 	Robin, 	Cecilia,	end
    THE FACTION'S UNITS, AND HOW TO ENABLE THEM IN export_descr_buildings.txt

    You will notice that if you start up a campaign with the Normans now, they will not be able to recruit some units that you are normally supposed to be able to e.g. Ships, cannons, trebuchets etc.

    You can change this by doing the following:

    1. Open export_descr_buildings. You will see information about which factions are able to recruit which units:
    Code:
    recruit_pool "NE Trebuchet"  1   0.4   3  0  requires factions { england, scotland, france, hre, denmark, spain, portugal, milan, venice, papal_states, sicily, }
    2. Notice that neither the normans nor the saxons are not in this list. To do this, change the line to:
    Code:
    recruit_pool "NE Trebuchet"  1   0.4   3  0  requires factions { england, scotland, france, hre, denmark, spain, portugal, milan, venice, papal_states, sicily, normans, saxons}
    3. Do this with all the units you want enabled and then save the file.

    EDIT: Check here for more help with this.

    *OPTIONAL CHANGE* GIVING YOUR FACTION WIN CONDITIONS
    1. Open descr_win_conditions.
    2. Notice there are none for Normans/Saxons. You can add them in by putting in the following lines at the bottom:
    Code:
    normans
    hold_regions Jerusalem_Province
    take_regions 45
    short_campaign hold_regions ;Jerusalem_Province
    take_regions 15
    outlive scotland england
    *OPTIONAL CHANGE* RENAMING YOUR FACTION

    1. Open expanded.txt.
    2. Scroll down to the faction you are changing. You should see this:
    Code:
    {NORMANS}Normans
    DO NOT EDIT ANYTHING THAT IS INSIDE {}. E.g. To change the name to 'English Outlaws', do this:
    Code:
    {NORMANS}English Outlaws
    3. You will then need to replace every mention of the word 'Normans' in this file, but leaving anything in {} untouched. E.g:
    Code:
    {EMT_NORMANS_FACTION_LEADER}English Outlaws Faction Leader
    Use the Replace option only if you know what you are doing.

    *OPTIONAL CHANGE* ADDING A CAMPAIGN DESCRIPTION

    1. Open campaign_descriptions.txt. You will see there is no campaign description for the Normans.
    2. To change this, add the following lines
    Code:
    {IMPERIAL_CAMPAIGN_NORMANS_TITLE}Normans
    {IMPERIAL_CAMPAIGN_NORMANS_DESCR}Edward the Confessor's death saw England fall into a bitter power struggle. With no heirs to the English throne, three competing powers arose to stake their claim. Harold Godwinson was quick to seize power, with the support of the English Witan. However, the King of Norway, Harald Hardrada, felt the land his birthright and sailed from the North. The two kings clashed at Stamford Bridge in a bloody battle.\n\nBut the late King Edward had promised the throne to the Duke of Normandy, who sought Papal blessing to launch an invasion of his own.
    3. You can then put in your own faction description in the space given. Also, dont forget to rename 'Normans' to your faction's new name. E.g.
    Code:
    {IMPERIAL_CAMPAIGN_NORMANS_TITLE}English Outlaws
    {IMPERIAL_CAMPAIGN_NORMANS_DESCR}After the successful Norman invasion in 1066, King William the Conqueror set in place a system of taxes. Many common folk were against this, and some decided to take action. They formed a small band of outlaws, hiding in the English forests around Sherwood and Nottingham. Their current leader, Robin Hood, ordered the uprising against the new English rulers and successfully manged to grab the town of York from them. Time has passed since then, and these English Outlaws now face tension on all of its borders. To the north, the Scots have ambitions of their own. To the south, the English are now ready to reclaim York. Courage and strength will be needed if the English Outlaws are to survive...
    I hope you had fun reading the story.

    *OPTIONAL CHANGE* MORE FACTION OPTIONS

    I say again - this is an optional change - it will still work without this.

    If you want to change the banner colour of your faction:
    1. Open descr_sm_factions, scroll down to the norman/saxon section.

    2. Change the RGB primary/secondary values to whatever colour you want. (Use photoshop/gimp to see RGB values -> as colour)
    Code:
    primary_colour				red 215, green 220, blue 20
    secondary_colour			red 255, green 210, blue 10
    Adding faction to custom battles:
    1. Change the custom_battle_availability from no to yes.
    2. You then need to remove another faction to make room for them on the screen.

    ___

    If you want to do this same thing, except for the saxons instead of normans, simply swap the names.
    (Make sure first that your characters' names are under the relevant faction in names.txt.)

    Heres an example:


    Another example:
    Last edited by selenius4tsd; October 24, 2007 at 08:58 PM. Reason: scipadidop
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  2. #2
    edders's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Around the world
    Posts
    1,397

    Default Re: How to create a new faction (using Normans/Saxons from Game tutorial)

    Thnak you very much Selenius. I would give you rep but the forum won't let me today

  3. #3
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default Re: How to create a new faction (using Normans/Saxons from Game tutorial)

    Damn.

    <<<< Stedler here is now peeved.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  4. #4

    Default Re: How to create a new faction (using Normans/Saxons from Game tutorial)

    First off, Selenius I can't thank you enough for putting a tut out here that makes it plain and simple for adding the Normans and Saxons. I've been running around the forums the past few days trying to find a tut for creating new factions, and this is definately a start for me, however I'm hoping you can give me some direction on how to create an entirely new faction using either the Norman or Saxon faction. I understand the basics of adding units or settlements to another faction, but I'm still pretty new to modding. This is essentially what I want to do....

    I want to make a new faction called "Teutonic Order" which is made up of crusader units mostly, but also borrowing units from other factions, like the Billman from England, for example. I want to give this new faction Jerusalem from the start of the campaign, have them allied with the Papal States from the start, and for a crest use the basic white background with a black cross (or maybe red). I know I would have to edit/create a bmp or tga file for the crest. So simply, I guess my question is how do I make a new faction using the Norman and/or Saxon faction, make it say "Teutonic Order" in game, and how to I add a custom crest and colors to the faction?

    I know it's possible because I always see several new mods coming out that offer tons of new custom factions and whatnot. If you can't offer some further help on this, can you maybe point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance . If I can't add my own Teutonic Order, maybe I'll just stick the normans and saxons in game and settle for that much.

  5. #5
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default Re: How to create a new faction (using Normans/Saxons from Game tutorial)

    @ SmokeGSU: Thanks! Just doing my job...
    Yes, this is definitely possible; however, it takes a lot of work to do it.
    I would suggest using the Normans (or Saxons) as a placeholder for now - create the faction, give them the settlement in Jerusalem, etc. Im sure CA will be kind enough to give us a program to make adding/editing factions simpler in the next patch. *crosses fingers*

    Faction colours can be edited in descr_sm_factions as said in FP.
    Im still figuring out modding the faction symbols - I will post another tutorial once I figure that out.

    Oh.. welcome to the forum.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  6. #6

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Great tutorial, man! Thanks so much for this!!

  7. #7

    Default Re: How to create a new faction (using Normans/Saxons from Game tutorial)

    Quote Originally Posted by selenius4tsd View Post
    Faction colours can be edited in descr_sm_factions as said in FP.
    Im still figuring out modding the faction symbols - I will post another tutorial once I figure that out.

    Oh.. welcome to the forum.
    Thanks, and not trying to hijack the thread or anything, but I was digging around trying to find ways to modify textures and colors and things and I stumbled across this topic that can probably help both of us out as far as editing banners and things .

    HTML Code:
    http://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?p=1359620#post1359620


    At the moment, I used the program as a test to edit the hospitaller's outfits, but I wasn't able to get them to show up in game because of CTD . I'm doing a fresh install of the game to have a clean game to work from, since I'd added quite a few mods and things before and I hope that this will solve the problems of it not showing up in game. I'll let you know what results I have and hopefully it'll be a help to others out there who're trying to create new factions also

    Here's what I was going for in the hospitaller changes:
    Last edited by SmokeGSU; January 02, 2007 at 03:11 PM.

  8. #8
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Updated the first post.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  9. #9

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    You're the man . I was looking up and down trying to find that expanded file, now my prayers have been answered

  10. #10

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    I've done all this and added in the Kingdom of Jerusalem, I just need to find the faction logos that are used on the campaign map, the button that takes you into your family tree,pope ect.

  11. #11
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    @ ghostface1982: These can be found in the data/ui/southern_european/interface directory. Be careful though, you must know what you are doing!
    Ill add another tutorial soon for this aspect.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  12. #12

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Quote Originally Posted by selenius4tsd View Post
    @ ghostface1982: These can be found in the data/ui/southern_european/interface directory. Be careful though, you must know what you are doing!
    Ill add another tutorial soon for this aspect.
    Cheers. I'll have a mess around. I've changed all the rest of the logos apart from that one.

  13. #13
    Eudorus's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    200

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Thanks for this selenius4tsd been messing with this with no luck, till now there has not been a add factions tutorial thanks again ..... rep-up

  14. #14

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Ok... I edited the export_descr_buildings. And I'm getting a ton of errors like this:

    06:44:58.671 [script.err] [error] Script Error in m2litemod1ypt/data/export_descr_buildings.txt, at line 43, column 160
    unit(Town Militia) does not match up to the ownership for faction(saxons)
    Maybe the tutorial should mention the need to update the export_descr_unit file if you make changes in export_descr_buildings...
    Last edited by Rockpsl76; January 04, 2007 at 06:00 AM.

  15. #15
    alpaca's Avatar Harbinger of saliva
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,811

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Quote Originally Posted by selenius4tsd View Post
    @ ghostface1982: These can be found in the data/ui/southern_european/interface directory. Be careful though, you must know what you are doing!
    Ill add another tutorial soon for this aspect.
    Be careful though, you can't add stuff to the stratpages... well unless you edit the strategy.sd file, too, but that's pretty complicated right now

  16. #16

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Quote Originally Posted by alpaca View Post
    Be careful though, you can't add stuff to the stratpages... well unless you edit the strategy.sd file, too, but that's pretty complicated right now
    I pasted my custom logo over the unused saxons logo in the file so that it matched up exactly. It works fine.

  17. #17
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    @ Rockpsl76: I posted the link to the tutorial that shows you how to do this - try that one.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

  18. #18

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    what about editing the religion for your new faction? any way to make witches and heretics recruitable ? because I want to make some sweet cthulhu worshipping faction -- so will need to know how to alter churches to that effect as well -- to produce heresy i mean

  19. #19
    alpaca's Avatar Harbinger of saliva
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,811

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    Quote Originally Posted by ghostface1982 View Post
    I pasted my custom logo over the unused saxons logo in the file so that it matched up exactly. It works fine.
    Yes, but that's not adding, it's replacing... I guess you might have some hard time doing the same for 10 factions.

  20. #20
    selenius4tsd's Avatar Happiness Is A Warm Gun
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    CT, South Africa.
    Posts
    1,707

    Default Re: Tutorial: How To Create a New Faction (using Normans/Saxons)

    @ Chaigidel: Im afraid that question is for another tutorial - but fyi you can edit this in descr_regions.txt.
    Under the patronage of vikrant
    Patron of Ramtha, Alletun, finneys13, SirPaladin and GrnEyedDvl

Page 1 of 19 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •