Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789101112 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 240

Thread: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

  1. #41
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    KEA, where in text files to find vandali, Alemanni and other new faction and new units for the translation?

  2. #42
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    I have been working with the string.bin files, not the txt files. IIRC, faction names are to be found expanded.

  3. #43
    tomySVK's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    1,726

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Amazing mod! Downloading now

  4. #44
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    A little hotfix for battlemaps: In some regions I find the game more or less unplayable because of really bizzar battle maps with extreme hights. The problem comes from the DBM original strat map. Because of its rather small scale the tile from which a battlefield is generated can easily cover several very different levels of terrain heights even though these would be hundreds of kilometers apart in reality and that way never be part of the same battlefield. This in particular a problem when fighting is in Greece, where most of the action is going on in the scenarios 01, 06, and 08. Always deploying on 45 degree slopes, and worse, regardless how well you manouver can seriously ruin the gaming experience - at least for me. No sane commander would have fought on a ground like that. Not to mention what it does to the AI when it happens to be sitting downslope

    Now, that's a rather radical sollution I can offer you with this hotfix. I have reduced the overall maximum terrain height to 1,000 (formerly 5,000+). The result is that the strat map is seriously flatted down. Now the Alps look like rolling hills. But that is purely cosmetical because the "mountains" are still impassable terrain. No real effect on the start part, but the effect on the battlefield is massive: because there are no more extreme hight differences on the start map, the battlemaps created don't show anything unusual.

    descr_terrain.txt


    installation: download this file and drop into each scenario folder prompting to override the existing version. You find the scenario folders at:

    \SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\Imperium_Romanum\data\world\maps\campaign\custom

    So you drop it into
    ....world\maps\campaign\custom\01_Marius_VS_Sulla
    ....world\maps\campaign\custom\02_Pompey_the_Great
    ....world\maps\campaign\custom\03_The_First_Triumvirate

    and so on

    After that you have to delete the file map.rwm in each of these scenario folders. Next time you start a campaign you'll notice a serious lag when map.rwm is regenerated.

    I would suggest you test it with one scenario and when you like the change repeat for the others.

  5. #45

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Thanks, works ..

  6. #46
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    KEA, thanks for the quick response.

  7. #47
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    KEA, unpacked mod triggered only if its set to DBM with the replacement of files. Why could this be?

  8. #48
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Did you overwrite any DBM files?

  9. #49
    Foederatus
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    First of all, thanks for the creating suсh amazing sub-mod. I've been waiting it since Roma Surrectum)) But all scenarios are time limited and relatively shot. Do you plan create a grand campaign covered about one or two centuries (from death of August to end of the Crisis of the Third Century, for example)?

  10. #50
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    No, I don't. In a grand campaign showing Rome at her hights you would be lacking worthy opponents.

  11. #51
    Libertus
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    65

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Yes, I copied the contents of the folder DBM, and then to the same folder contents Roman Imperium and overwriting files. Only in this way mod is launched.

  12. #52
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    nope. Follow the install instructions of the first post and the game will run without problems.

  13. #53
    vikior's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    I was really stoked for this mod, but alas I can't play it. Crashes when launching any campaign. And it doesn't generate a log file for some reason. Followed the instructions to the letter (I've installed dozens of mods, I'm 100% that I did it right), still nothing. I'll try redownloading it. Maybe that will help.

  14. #54
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    The log file is generated in the respective folder of DBM (the path is still referring to it). When you have DBM installed you'll find the log inside the log folder of DBM. If not, no log is created at all (and no, this doesn't cause crashes). All you have to do is open the file DBM.cfg inside ....SEGA\Medieval II Total War\mods\Imperium_Romanum search for

    [log]
    to = mods/DBM/logs/system.log.txt

    and change it to:

    [log]
    to = mods/Imperium_Romanum/logs/system.log.txt

  15. #55
    vikior's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Alright, got the log now. I've checked for errors inside it, and I've found about a dozen "file missing" entries. I guess I'll redownload the mod.

  16. #56
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Yup. Bad download, it seems

  17. #57
    vikior's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    I'm beat. I've tried redownloading and reinstalling a couple of times. Still crashes when starting any campaign. It seems to be something related to the Roman factions. I can play custom battles with non Romans, but as soon as one faction in the faction selection screen is Roman, the game crashes instead of letting me create an army. I was so excited for this, but it seems it's just not meant to be.

  18. #58
    KEA's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,104

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    dunno. please upload your log.

  19. #59
    vikior's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    489

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    TWC won't let me post the log as an attachment. Most likely it's too big.

  20. #60

    Default Re: Imperium Romanum - Roman Civil War Mod (Based on DBM)

    Check log folder of the game ...
    there will be three text file = 161kb
    Last edited by babay11; May 09, 2015 at 06:09 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •