Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 147

Thread: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

  1. #101
    Richard III's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Have any of you guys used Mitch's Major faction mod? Can it be used in combination with this submod? I feel together they could give me the experience I'm looking for!
    "Good Men Don't Need Rules."

  2. #102

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard III View Post
    Have any of you guys used Mitch's Major faction mod? Can it be used in combination with this submod? I feel together they could give me the experience I'm looking for!
    I actually just used it for the first time in one of my campaigns, and I was pretty disappointed.

    In my last three campaigns Carthage did alright, though not outstanding. With Mitches Major Factions mod, Carthage lost lilly baeum to Syracuse almost immediately, and then lost a small town in Africa by turn 50, and at turn 60, the city of Carthage itself had been conquered by Syracuse.

    I've not even seen Carthage lose it's capital to anyone but me since 1.0 was released, so for the "guaranteed major factions" thing, well, it didn't work here.

    Macedon also lost pulpudova to tylis almost immediately, and hasn't really done much since.


    So be wary if you're actually looking to ensure that the major factions stay alive and thrive.

  3. #103
    Maetharin's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,476

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    MItchs mod somehow conflicts with some of the DeI scripts since v1.0, try to delete the settings.txt if you use it
    "Ceterum censeo Carthaginem delendam esse!"

    Marcus Porcius Cato Censorius

    "I concur!"

    ​Me

  4. #104

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Maetharin View Post
    MItchs mod somehow conflicts with some of the DeI scripts since v1.0, try to delete the settings.txt if you use it
    I didn't use a settings txt at first, though I did create one halfway through. Carthage did fall after that (though macedon had been struggling all game). I'll delete the settings txt and see if Carthage can come back to provide a reasonable challenge.

  5. #105

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ivan_Moscavich View Post
    I didn't use a settings txt at first, though I did create one halfway through. Carthage did fall after that (though macedon had been struggling all game). I'll delete the settings txt and see if Carthage can come back to provide a reasonable challenge.
    I had to go through his mod and edit the factions because of all the DLC's it appears that if a minor vanilla faction is considered a major faction in a DLC (syracuse in HATG for instance) then it still counts as a major faction in terms of the mod which negates the purpose. So I went through the mod and deleted syracuse from the HATG major faction list (and some others) and it works fine now. In fact the combo of these two mods with a few tweaks (restoring only liberate/sack/vassal for barbarians) makes a great balance. The tribes that should not form sprawling empires in North/West Europe don't, while the factions that should in the East and Carthage do.

  6. #106

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by opock View Post
    I had to go through his mod and edit the factions because of all the DLC's it appears that if a minor vanilla faction is considered a major faction in a DLC (syracuse in HATG for instance) then it still counts as a major faction in terms of the mod which negates the purpose. So I went through the mod and deleted syracuse from the HATG major faction list (and some others) and it works fine now. In fact the combo of these two mods with a few tweaks (restoring only liberate/sack/vassal for barbarians) makes a great balance. The tribes that should not form sprawling empires in North/West Europe don't, while the factions that should in the East and Carthage do.
    Odd, it was in the Grand Campaign, though I guess Syracuse as a selectable faction now would be considered major by the games internal files, putting it at odds with the mod.

    I agree that the two would be fantastic in combination if they worked. Sadly I've not been able to get any of the mods in this thread to work without end turn game crashes that prevent game play (even after reloading).

    I'd like nothing more than to see a bunch of confederation like groups of barbarians, and then major empires when it comes to my main Hellenic influenced enemies.

    I assume to remove Syracuse you went through the pfm editor program?

    If just giving them more money (like yuri's sub mod that's currently on ice) doesn't fix the problem, I may have to delve into editing myself then and repeat what you did.

  7. #107
    Maetharin's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,476

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    just edit the factions.txt in you campaign folder you plan to play, but as far as i know syracuse is not a major faction in the GC
    "Ceterum censeo Carthaginem delendam esse!"

    Marcus Porcius Cato Censorius

    "I concur!"

    ​Me

  8. #108
    Richard III's Avatar Tiro
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    I've not had any problems with the two mods upon campaign testing. Though in one campaign Syracuse did take Lilybaeum from Carthage. I checked the mod's (.Mitch.'s) automated bug txt file, but couldn't find any answers. I messaged .Mitch. about it but heard no answer.

    A note about the Syracuse/HATG being a major faction with the mods settings. I believe each campaign has a separate campaign folder, so a new faction list./setting text file would need to be made in the specific campaign that you play.

    I'm going to try the alternate version that gives Rome the satrapy choice again. Maybe you can create an alternate mod that does this but keeps all your other original choices, Maetharin?


    EDIT: I've noticed Peregrinus 's version loads before Maetharin's... would running them at the same time produce the aforementioned desired result? Guess I'll find out!
    Last edited by Richard III; February 03, 2015 at 04:16 AM.
    "Good Men Don't Need Rules."

  9. #109
    gary's Avatar Domesticus
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne. North of England.
    Posts
    2,007

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Thanks for this mod, i have just given up on a long campaign as it was getting a little sereal, Iceni own all of Gaul and into the rine land the Spartans are in to gaul too and the Germans are everywhere, just feels a little silly so will give this a go as it seems like a good idea.
    My Granfather Frederick Avery.Battalion Boxing champion. Regiment.The Kings Own Yorkshire Light Infantry. dorcorated D.C.M. M.M.
    campaigns

    (India.1930) (Norway 1940) (Fontenay le Pesnil) (North-West Europe1944-45) (Argoub Se!lah)
    (Sicily, 1943 Salerno) (Minturno) (Anzio Gemmano Ridge)
    "Burma, 1942"
    My grandfather was a hero, modest, quiet and wounded twice, in hand to hand combat at Casino Italy.

  10. #110

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Using this mod as Rome and I can't make client states. It works, the barbarians can't occupy, but they do create clients. Problem is I can't, and I don't know whats going on. I looked at the files and it seems like it should work. Any help would be much appreciated... Using 1.04a or whatever the latest DEI is.

  11. #111
    Maetharin's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,476

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    I havent looked into it for a while, but i think you might have a version where you cant make client states but satrapies
    "Ceterum censeo Carthaginem delendam esse!"

    Marcus Porcius Cato Censorius

    "I concur!"

    ​Me

  12. #112

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    No, that's not it. I can't create satraps either. The chain link subjugate option is missing when I conquer a settlement. I've been messing with this and other diplomatic option pack trying to get your idea to work, but so far I've just got Barbarians having no options to take over, but also Rome can't subjugate. If someone could look into this I would greatly appreciate it!!!!

    Edit: I figured it out. One of your tables was missing some entries and because the table wasn't renamed it overwrote the vanilla table. If you want to fix it for your mod, it's the diplomatic_action_subcuture_restrictions table.
    Last edited by crackerjack1348; April 29, 2015 at 10:54 PM.

  13. #113
    Maetharin's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,476

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    does latin have any subcultures? Ill look into it, but it worked without a problem the last time i used it, might be that CA changed their db structure or something
    "Ceterum censeo Carthaginem delendam esse!"

    Marcus Porcius Cato Censorius

    "I concur!"

    ​Me

  14. #114

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    radious support? .compatible

  15. #115
    Maetharin's Avatar Senator
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,476

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Yadir50 View Post
    radious support? .compatible
    I have no idea, but i think it should be compatible...

    Just try it out, Id say?

    BTW:
    I have now seen something interesting whilst looking through building chains in the DeI Mainmod,
    Illyrians have Barbarian Culture, but are able to build Hellenic buildings!

    So if i were able to give all greek factions the barbarian culture, Id be able to stop ever growing spartan/athen/masallia empires!!!
    How cool is that!

    Id just need to know how to change a factions culture...
    Ill ask Dresden, maybe he knows more about it

    But as i have finals soon i wont be able to deliver this at a fast rate...
    Last edited by Maetharin; June 11, 2015 at 07:12 PM.
    "Ceterum censeo Carthaginem delendam esse!"

    Marcus Porcius Cato Censorius

    "I concur!"

    ​Me

  16. #116

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Yes Yes it is xD

  17. #117

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Has anyone updated the original mod with the fix to allow Rome to make client states? I am playing my latest Roman campaign with this mod and it's the most fun I've had playing total war in a long time. True struggle when each barbarian city has 1.5 to 2 stacks defending it.

    This was a great idea!

  18. #118

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Maetharin View Post
    I have no idea, but i think it should be compatible...

    Just try it out, Id say?

    BTW:
    I have now seen something interesting whilst looking through building chains in the DeI Mainmod,
    Illyrians have Barbarian Culture, but are able to build Hellenic buildings!

    So if i were able to give all greek factions the barbarian culture, Id be able to stop ever growing spartan/athen/masallia empires!!!
    How cool is that!

    Id just need to know how to change a factions culture...
    Ill ask Dresden, maybe he knows more about it

    But as i have finals soon i wont be able to deliver this at a fast rate...
    Easier way to do this is by using Mitch's Major Empires mod and removing Sparta from the list in Factions.txt file that you can create (just follow Mitch's instructions). Same mod gives Arverni boost in auto resolve so they tend to kill off Massilia.






  19. #119

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    BTW:
    I have now seen something interesting whilst looking through building chains in the DeI Mainmod,
    Illyrians have Barbarian Culture, but are able to build Hellenic buildings!

    So if i were able to give all greek factions the barbarian culture, Id be able to stop ever growing spartan/athen/masallia empires!!!
    How cool is that!

    Id just need to know how to change a factions culture...
    Ill ask Dresden, maybe he knows more about it

    But as i have finals soon i wont be able to deliver this at a fast rate...[/QUOTE]



    This is very welcome news indeed!

  20. #120
    sturnado's Avatar Foederatus
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: [Submod] Stop Barbarian Empires! (0.0.1)

    I've been playing with this mod enabled for a few days now, and I noticed the problem referenced by CrackerJack as well - total inability to make client states or satrapies.

    Well, I played around with the mod editor program (the name escapes me) and I believe I fixed it.

    I will upload the corrected .pack file tonight.

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •