Thread: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

  1. #3441
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Well, this script was not my creation so I don't know ins and outs. It seems I'll have to get into the details to understand it.

  2. #3442

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Hi! Having an issue. I can't play Late/High Era Campaign. I choose one faction (oddly out of only 3 choices), I press Play, and...nothing. It just boots me back to the menu after choosing Late/High Era Campaign.

    Installed SS and SSHIP to the letter of their respective instructions. I can play SS and SSHIP Early Era without issues.

    Would appreciate any help.

  3. #3443
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by RLTYProds View Post
    Hi! Having an issue. I can't play Late/High Era Campaign. I choose one faction (oddly out of only 3 choices), I press Play, and...nothing. It just boots me back to the menu after choosing Late/High Era Campaign.

    Installed SS and SSHIP to the letter of their respective instructions. I can play SS and SSHIP Early Era without issues.

    Would appreciate any help.
    High/Late Era Campaign are not playable in the SSHIP. You can start only in 1132.

  4. #3444
    Nemesis2345's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Constanta, Romania
    Posts
    463

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Hey Jurand, just asking, did you manage to find the culprit that CTD's at turn 5? .

  5. #3445
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Nemesis2345 View Post
    Hey Jurand, just asking, did you manage to find the culprit that CTD's at turn 5? .
    Yes, I did (at least: I hope I did). It was related to the Abbasids and that "set_counter panel_check 2" part.
    Now I'm studying the other possible source of CTD, the one discussed with Gigantus.
    I see differences with the coding in the script:
    Code:
            if I_FactionLeaderTrait hre Usurper >= 3
            and I_EventCounter civil_war_hre_going_on = 0            and RandomPercent > 50
                        
                set_event_counter civil_war_hre_going_on 1   
                historic_event civil_war_hre
                increment_kings_purse hre -1000    
                
                
                if I_NumberOfSettlements hre > 2
                 faction_emerge slave hre 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
                 
                 if I_NumberOfSettlements hre > 5
                   faction_emerge slave hre 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
                   
                   if I_NumberOfSettlements hre > 8
                    faction_emerge slave hre 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true unused_labelh1 Casper 30
                    
                    if I_NumberOfSettlements hre > 11
                      faction_emerge slave hre 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true unused_labelh2 Ernst 30
                      
                      if I_NumberOfSettlements hre > 14
                    faction_emerge slave hre 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true unused_labelh3 Heinrich 30
                   end_if 
                     end_if 
                   end_if 
                 end_if   
               end_if     
                              end_if
    with eg. here
    Code:
    declare_counter portugal_emerge
       monitor_event and I_TurnNumber > 1
          and I_TurnNumber < 5
          and I_CompareCounter portugal_emerge == 0
          
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 80.0 120.0 0.85 town false 
          
          if I_NumberOfSettlements portugal > 0
             add_money portugal 10000
             set_counter portugal_emerge 1
          end_if    
          
         historic_event portugal_emerges 
          
       end_monitor
       
          ;check when English leaders authority is low
       monitor_event FactionTurnEnd FactionType scotland
          and I_NumberOfSettlements scotland > 2
          and I_NumberOfSettlements portugal = 0
          
          generate_random_counter   authority_value 1 100
          
                ;the lower the faction leaders authority, the greater the chance of the portugal appearing
          if I_FactionLeaderAttribute scotland Authority = 0
          
             if I_EventCounter authority_value <= 33
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 80.0 120.0 0.85 town false
             end_if
          
          end_if
          
          if I_FactionLeaderAttribute scotland Authority = 1
          
             if I_EventCounter authority_value <= 25
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 100.0 120.0 0.85 town false
             end_if
          
          end_if
          
          if I_FactionLeaderAttribute scotland Authority = 2
          
             if I_EventCounter authority_value <= 20
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 100.0 120.0 0.85 town false
             end_if
          
          end_if
          
          if I_FactionLeaderAttribute scotland Authority = 3
          
             if I_EventCounter authority_value <= 15
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 90.0 120.0 0.85 town false
             end_if
          
          end_if
          
          if I_FactionLeaderAttribute scotland Authority = 4
          
             if I_EventCounter authority_value <= 10
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 90.0 120.0 0.85 town false
             end_if
          
          end_if
          
          if I_FactionLeaderAttribute scotland Authority = 5
          
             if I_EventCounter authority_value <= 5
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 80.0 120.0 0.85 town false
             end_if
          
          end_if 
              end_monitor
    I'll try to re-code the SSHIP code to avoid that nested-in conditions. I understand the reason was to have the number of spawned civil-war-rebels dependent on the size of a faction but maybe it doesn't work like this.
    Last edited by Jurand of Cracow; August 01, 2020 at 11:09 AM.

  6. #3446
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Suggestion: add a wait command in the first monitor of the second batch to allow the emerging to finish before testing for settlement count. Rest looks fine apart from the unnecessary secondary IF use.
    Code:
    declare_counter portugal_emerge
       monitor_event and I_TurnNumber > 1
          and I_TurnNumber < 5
          and I_CompareCounter portugal_emerge == 0
          
          faction_emerge portugal scotland 4 80.0 120.0 0.85 town false 
          wait 1.0
          if I_NumberOfSettlements portugal > 0
             add_money portugal 10000
             set_counter portugal_emerge 1
          end_if    
          
         historic_event portugal_emerges 
          
       end_monitor










  7. #3447

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Jurand of Cracow View Post
    High/Late Era Campaign are not playable in the SSHIP. You can start only in 1132.
    Ahh, oops. Thanks for clarifying.

  8. #3448
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Gigantus, is this going to work?

    Code:
    	if I_FactionLeaderTrait spain Usurper >= 3			and I_EventCounter civil_war_spain_going_on = 0  
                and RandomPercent > 50
    			
    			set_event_counter civil_war_spain_going_on 1
    			historic_event civil_war_spain
    			increment_kings_purse spain -1000
                          
    			if I_NumberOfSettlements spain > 2
                 faction_emerge slave spain 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
    			 wait 1.0
                end_if 
    			   
    			if I_NumberOfSettlements spain > 5
                 faction_emerge slave spain 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
    			 wait 1.0
                end_if  
    
    
    			if I_NumberOfSettlements spain > 8
                 faction_emerge slave spain 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
    			 wait 1.0
                end_if 
    
    
    			if I_NumberOfSettlements spain > 11
                 faction_emerge slave spain 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
    			 wait 1.0
                end_if 
    
    
    			if I_NumberOfSettlements spain > 14
                 faction_emerge slave spain 1 100.0 0.0 1.2 town true
    			 wait 1.0
                end_if 
               
    		end_if

  9. #3449
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    It's not really needed in that part - there is no command\condition following the emerge command within the monitor. And as mentioned the repeating sequence will not apply for the same settlement anyhow. But it can't harm either, so go ahead.










  10. #3450
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Gig, could you remind me what to do with the not-regeneratable strat.txt? How to get the .bin file in the easiest way? ATM, I've got the steam version of Med2, unfortunately.
    Funny enough, I've made it somehow last time, but I cannot do the trick once again...

  11. #3451
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    In Steam the strat.STRING.BIN file will not generate on it's own if it is missing - an old version has to be present. Simply take the same file from another mod and make sure your mod's strat.TXT file has a later time stamp (simply do a small edit and reverse it, then save) - that will then result in an updated STRING.BIN file.

    Same principle applies to battle, tooltips and shared.










  12. #3452

    Default Re: SSHIP - General Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by Just let me post View Post
    @Berk
    Soundfix is only meant for nonenglish game versions, what localization are you using? (also please report it in bugs thread)

    I'm playing in the English voice. I didn't know the sound patch was for other languages. But still there is a sound problem with the English voice. I will mention below.


    Quote Originally Posted by Jurand of Cracow View Post
    Hi Berk,
    thanks for all info, we'll take it into account, although the balancing will take place probably later, maybe in 098 or 099.

    ad. 1 - right, right. Once we get on the diplomatic AI, this might be fixed. (or if a specialist in the AI would join the team)
    ad. 2 - this I didn't know. I wonder if it happens in the other mods? Actually, nobody deals with the AI in the team atm, it's like it was in the v. 092.
    ad. 3 - this is a problem of the Battle AI, again it's like it was in the v. 092. I doubt we are currently able to deal with it.
    ad. 5 - you mean on the strategic map, right? could you post a pic?
    ad. 6 - again, could you post a pic to locate this spot?
    ad. 7 - I hope @JLMP would deal with it.
    ad. 8 - that's the feature of the SSHIP. It'll be partially changed in the 097 (free upkeep for militias)
    ad. 9 - yeah, nobody thought about it, I think. I'll put it on the to-do list.
    ad. 10 - really? this is strange, I don't see the reason for it. I wonder if other players share this observation.
    ad. 11 - true. But the can get hammered by a jihad. As a player this is the biggest danger.

    097 - the problem for now is the stability of the script. Once a remedy is found, the mod will be released. But I don't know when it'd happen.


    Skythikon - I hope @kostic will deal with it.

    Traits - Yep, I'll deal with it. Due to the M2TW code bug it's more laborious than simple "antitraits"


    I'll have a look at it.

    I'm sorry for my late comeback. I've photographed some of the problems I mentioned earlier.

    1. The writing of the city of "Gorganch" slips: https://i.hizliresim.com/zoeRzi.jpg
    2. Rebel Faction "Tawashi Light Cavalry" forgotten portrait: https://hizliresim.com/f2L5hz
    3. Rebel Faction "Heavy Spearman" is brightly seen: https://hizliresim.com/eOA5ne
    4. Kiev Faction "Ruthenian Archer" is brightly seen: https://hizliresim.com/zE5gCY
    5. Some ships of all factions look different than others. (It looks brightly.) Especially in the rebel ships, I came across more: https://hizliresim.com/Dg41Rw
    6. The rebel ship emerges on the lake above Basra City: https://hizliresim.com/4DdgaW
    7. The impenetrable area behind the volcano on the island of Sicily. It can only be reached by sea: https://hizliresim.com/V02mrz
    8. Some princesses in all factions are nameless: https://hizliresim.com/j0yLe1
    9. There is no image of the Kipchak princess. Rome Total War is like a diplomat texture: https://hizliresim.com/SAVXil
    10. There are no princess voices in the Muslim factions and the Kipchak faction.
    11. While playing with the "Rum Seljuks", all the Christian factions on the diplomatic screen "welcome to England." says. And he uses the voices of the English faction.
    12. The siege stairs on the large walls can reach half of the wall. But the soldiers can reach the top as if they were climbing. (Representational picture. Think of the wood wall as a large stone wall. The siege ladder is small, like the wood wall): https://hizliresim.com/fyntBO
    13. While Kipchaks are poor, they cannot produce shamans. He has only one shaman. (I didn't see what they produced in the first 100 rounds. But they started to produce when they grew up.) Other countries produce priests, even if they are very poor: https://hizliresim.com/CILzQf
    14. Mongols come with less army than "SS6.4". After 20 turns of growth, it starts to shrink because it has no army left.
    15. A small request: If the names of the factions are made in English, it would be more understandable. For example: "Kingdom of France" instead of "Regnum France". "Diplomat" instead of "Envoy".

  13. #3453

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Berk View Post
    I'm playing in the English voice. I didn't know the sound patch was for other languages. But still there is a sound problem with the English voice. I will mention below.

    I'm sorry for my late comeback. I've photographed some of the problems I mentioned earlier.

    1. The writing of the city of "Gorganch" slips: https://i.hizliresim.com/zoeRzi.jpg
    2. Rebel Faction "Tawashi Light Cavalry" forgotten portrait: https://hizliresim.com/f2L5hz
    3. Rebel Faction "Heavy Spearman" is brightly seen: https://hizliresim.com/eOA5ne
    4. Kiev Faction "Ruthenian Archer" is brightly seen: https://hizliresim.com/zE5gCY
    5. Some ships of all factions look different than others. (It looks brightly.) Especially in the rebel ships, I came across more: https://hizliresim.com/Dg41Rw
    6. The rebel ship emerges on the lake above Basra City: https://hizliresim.com/4DdgaW
    7. The impenetrable area behind the volcano on the island of Sicily. It can only be reached by sea: https://hizliresim.com/V02mrz
    8. Some princesses in all factions are nameless: https://hizliresim.com/j0yLe1
    9. There is no image of the Kipchak princess. Rome Total War is like a diplomat texture: https://hizliresim.com/SAVXil
    10. There are no princess voices in the Muslim factions and the Kipchak faction.
    11. While playing with the "Rum Seljuks", all the Christian factions on the diplomatic screen "welcome to England." says. And he uses the voices of the English faction.
    12. The siege stairs on the large walls can reach half of the wall. But the soldiers can reach the top as if they were climbing. (Representational picture. Think of the wood wall as a large stone wall. The siege ladder is small, like the wood wall): https://hizliresim.com/fyntBO
    13. While Kipchaks are poor, they cannot produce shamans. He has only one shaman. (I didn't see what they produced in the first 100 rounds. But they started to produce when they grew up.) Other countries produce priests, even if they are very poor: https://hizliresim.com/CILzQf
    14. Mongols come with less army than "SS6.4". After 20 turns of growth, it starts to shrink because it has no army left.
    15. A small request: If the names of the factions are made in English, it would be more understandable. For example: "Kingdom of France" instead of "Regnum France". "Diplomat" instead of "Envoy".
    Thanks for all the reports, I'll refer to only few of them:

    ad. 10. There were no muslim princesses in vanilla game hence no voices, but I'll find some and fix this. For Cumans, east_european ones should be acceptable I think.
    ad. 11. No such thing on my end, not even sure how it's possible(?) For the record, this is how descr_sounds_accents.txt should look like:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    accent English
    factions england


    accent Scottish
    factions scotland


    accent French
    factions france


    accent German
    factions hre


    accent Mediterranean
    factions venice, pisa, sicily, papal_states, byzantium, spain, portugal, aragon, slave


    accent East_European
    factions kievan_rus, russia, poland, hungary, denmark, norway, lithuania, serbia, georgia


    accent Arabic
    factions abbasid, turks, moors, egypt, zengid, rum


    accent Mongolian
    factions mongols cumans


    accent Jerusalem
    factions jerusalem
    ad. 15. I agree, but it's not happening, at least not officially. You can find a file that changes this in my submod thread. Works only with 097, but it should come out any second now.

    I'll leave the other points for the rest of the team.
    Last edited by Just let me post; August 21, 2020 at 09:15 AM.

  14. #3454
    Nemesis2345's Avatar Semisalis
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Constanta, Romania
    Posts
    463

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Nameless princesses are fixed in the next version.

    I agree with 15. However i doubt an official change will come , JLMP and others made a fix with faction English names which i will kindly ask to update and post it (i wanna use it too) when ready.

    I can probably fix the missing portraits (RTW peasant) when i got the time.

    The ,,silver'' units have some sort of texture problem unfortunately , idk of a direct fix but maybe Kostic will change them completely in the coming versions.

    Great feedback , glad you played and managed to spot things out.

  15. #3455

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Just let me post View Post
    Thanks for all the reports, I'll refer to only few of them:

    ad. 10. There were no muslim princesses in vanilla game hence no voices, but I'll find some and fix this. For Cumans, east_european ones should be acceptable I think.
    ad. 11. No such thing on my end, not even sure how it's possible(?) For the record, this is how descr_sounds_accents.txt should look like:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    accent English
    factions england


    accent Scottish
    factions scotland


    accent French
    factions france


    accent German
    factions hre


    accent Mediterranean
    factions venice, pisa, sicily, papal_states, byzantium, spain, portugal, aragon, slave


    accent East_European
    factions kievan_rus, russia, poland, hungary, denmark, norway, lithuania, serbia, georgia


    accent Arabic
    factions abbasid, turks, moors, egypt, zengid, rum


    accent Mongolian
    factions mongols cumans


    accent Jerusalem
    factions jerusalem
    ad. 15. I agree, but it's not happening, at least not officially. You can find a file that changes this in my submod thread. Works only with 097, but it should come out any second now.

    I'll leave the other points for the rest of the team.
    1) Play as Rum Seljuks faction. Send a diplomat to a hostile Christian faction. The other side sounds like the English faction.

    2) A new addition: If the destroyed faction revolts while their capitals are under siege, the faction will emerge in the vacant independent city. For example: The ruined Aragonese faction was formed in the independent city of Turku. Because his real capital was under siege. A similar incident happened with the Georgian faction. It was founded in them in the city of Rheims.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nemesis2345 View Post
    Nameless princesses are fixed in the next version.

    I agree with 15. However i doubt an official change will come , JLMP and others made a fix with faction English names which i will kindly ask to update and post it (i wanna use it too) when ready.

    I can probably fix the missing portraits (RTW peasant) when i got the time.

    The ,,silver'' units have some sort of texture problem unfortunately , idk of a direct fix but maybe Kostic will change them completely in the coming versions.

    Great feedback , glad you played and managed to spot things out.
    I am grateful to you and look forward to version 0.9.7.

  16. #3456
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Berk View Post
    2) A new addition: If the destroyed faction revolts while their capitals are under siege, the faction will emerge in the vacant independent city. For example: The ruined Aragonese faction was formed in the independent city of Turku. Because his real capital was under siege. A similar incident happened with the Georgian faction. It was founded in them in the city of Rheims.
    This is a feature of the M2TW engine and is considered to be un-avoidable. A very recent entry by QS in the Europa Barbarorum forum:

    Quote Originally Posted by QuintusSertorius View Post
    Re-emergence only happens in Rebel-held settlements (and annoyingly whichever one happens to have the lowest public order at the time). That would prevent re-emergence altogether.
    Pagan Shamans: interesting insight. It seems to be related either to lack of money (that shouldn't be a problem, acutally) or to the lack of shrines (I mean: maybe AI Kypchak builds shrines up only gratudally. Actually it's easier for the pagans to get priests as they can get them from lower-tier settlements.

    PRIESTS* the goal of these changes is to limit the increase of time the player deals with the priests while keeping their importance for the game and using the AI ability to use the priest.
    - recruitment of pagan priests from the castles removed but left for any level of the pagan shrines in the cities (also altars). This effectively means that each pagan-owned settlement gives one priest, but not more.
    - recruitment from lower levels of churches and mosques (town, large town) removed; and the number of priests recruited from higher levels of churches significantly limited.
    - availability of the priests limited to a few per faction. The limit is increased by 1 with:
    (1) each capital (ie. it works for the initial capital and also for any other faction's capital conquered) starting from the town level (Small Church).
    (2) abbey (ie. from the minor city level except from the capitals - in this case no difference, still the same 1).
    (3) huge cathedral (ie huge city level).
    (3) if the FL has the "strictly_religious" policy (trait), the limit for each church is increased by +1 (ie. 2 instead of 1, or 3 instead of 2).
    (4) guilds: Theologians.
    Last edited by Jurand of Cracow; August 22, 2020 at 03:05 AM.

  17. #3457

    Default Re: SSHIP - General Discussion

    I find the same about mongols. Playing as France (in 0.97 alpha), turn 350 ish and mongols only hold two cities in Mesopotamia. I don't think they managed to destroy a faction.
    Granted though, Armenia had a big ass army stopping their advance

  18. #3458
    Jurand of Cracow's Avatar History and gameplay!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Cracovia
    Posts
    8,493

    Default Re: SSHIP - General Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by lequintal69 View Post
    I find the same about mongols. Playing as France (in 0.97 alpha), turn 350 ish and mongols only hold two cities in Mesopotamia. I don't think they managed to destroy a faction.
    Granted though, Armenia had a big ass army stopping their advance
    Could you upload that 350 turn save? I'd be interested to learn how the overall situation looks like :-)
    Armenia is an interesting faction, have they invaded the SSHIP from the Broken Crescent or from another mod?

  19. #3459

    Default Re: SSHIP - General Discussion

    Hey guys, sorry to dig up an old topic but I said some times ago that I found "missing spaces" in some txt files. Well, according to this answer the comma is enough and the space is needed.
    Belovèse's Toolbox: export text files to spreadsheet, detailed unit stats
    Stainless Steel Historical Improvement Project (SSHIP) team member.
    Mini-mods: diplomacy and relation/reputation - detailled unit stats

  20. #3460

    Default Re: SSHIP - General Discussion

    Quote Originally Posted by Jurand of Cracow View Post
    Could you upload that 350 turn save? I'd be interested to learn how the overall situation looks like :-)
    Armenia is an interesting faction, have they invaded the SSHIP from the Broken Crescent or from another mod?
    here you go !
    https://mega.nz/file/H15XjBwS#E7X7jQ...HVtTsVW69q7Rz0

    I mean georgia or whatever it is those latin names are confusing :p
    Last edited by lequintal69; August 23, 2020 at 09:58 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •