Thread: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

  1. #2561
    kostic's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Near Lyon in France
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    @shadowtwinz : I did some custom battles, played about twenty laps with Denmark without CTD or bug (except that there is no voice for this faction), I also played a dozen laps with France without CTD either ... friends I did not try Poland.
    @sullivanclan1 : After installing SS6.4, simply overwrite the "data" folder (... / mods / SS6.3 / data) with the one in the SSHIP v0.9.6 folder. Do not worry about old versions.

  2. #2562

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    ok makes sense!

  3. #2563
    kostic's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Near Lyon in France
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by shadowtwinz View Post
    I've encountered a bug when playing as Poland during my first turns, when i besieged the city, i couldn't start battle got CTD instantly, even after i restarted the game. I'm not sure if its mine fault or not. I will take a look again. This might be related to alt + tab issue described below.

    Another rather interesting Bug I've encountered when games makes transition from Campaign map into Battlemap however its rather technical sided issue but still good to know. Appearently I wasnt able to ALT + Tab fluently and from time to time CTDs happened, called as Fatal Error ( please lower your graphics settings ... bla bla bla). I ended up copying windowed mode settings from M2TW(vanilla) CFG settings and it got fixed (for now)
    I'm using 4k monitor and I didn't experience any problems with RRRC 2.0 mod
    I just played a small part with Poland (tour number 7) without meeting with CTD . On the other hand, I still note the lack of sounds for all the voices (as for Denmark) concerning the characters of countryside and those of the field of battle ...


    A very annoying bug happened to me, but I do not think that SSHIP is at the origin: my city of Cracow was attacked by the Hungarians, defended by my prince and a reinforcing army coming from the west. The battle was tough. My prince and all the garrison I led were annihilated. On the other hand, the IA army managed to gain the upper hand and drove the Hungarians out of the walls ... except for a small handful of horse archers stuck in a street in Krakow that the AI ​​was unable to find ! Even by alternating the different types of command (Attack-Defense-Skirmish) nothing helped ! I had to make up my mind to accept defeat while my IA army was ten times bigger and held the stronghold.

  4. #2564
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    @ sullivanclan1, please read the installation instructions here

    @ shadowtwinz, what was the city?

    @ kostic, as you use a CD version, just go to the data folder and then to the sounds folder. Delete all .dat and .idx files (make a save of these files of course, just in case ). Start the game. It should rebuilt these files and hopefully fix your issue.

    Edit: about the issue encountered in Cracow, it happens once in a while and I don't think that it's releated to SSHIP.
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; December 08, 2019 at 07:32 AM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  5. #2565
    Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Hi,

    The problem is most likely due to 4k resolution. Since i'm using asus rog pg27uq monitor My monitor keeps switching resolution settings back and forth while making transition from campaign into battle setting and vice versa.

    More information about how it works with this monitor.
    My native resolution is 3840x2160 and whenever game runs below this setting it switches back and forth resolution every game transition scene, take as an example a Loading screen, in PUBG the same thing happens when i play on lower res. So far I haven't experienced crashes on any other game i've played.

    I would like to ask for help to solve this problem. It has to do something with CFG files that keep messing up resolution thing. Since RRRC 2.0 is working fine I will need help to locate necessary files or lines of code to make correct changes.

  6. #2566
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    I'm afraid to be of little help on this. However, have you checked the config files from SSHIP and RR/RC, just to compare the settings?
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  7. #2567
    Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Yes, but CFG look different, on one or other codes are missing or only part of it included so i'm clueless.


    CFG from RRRC 2.0
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    [audio]
    enable = 1
    master_vol = 27
    music_vol = 20
    provider = Miles Fast 2D Positional Audio
    sfx_vol = 100
    speech_enable = 1
    speech_vol = 100
    sub_faction_accents = 1


    [camera]
    default_in_battle = total_war
    move = 42
    restrict = 0
    rotate = 50


    [controls]
    campaign_scroll_max_zoom = 30
    campaign_scroll_min_zoom = 30
    keyset = 0


    [game]
    advanced_stats_always = 0
    advisor_verbosity = 1
    ai_factions = off
    allusers = 0
    auto_save = 1
    blind_advisor = 0
    campaign_map_game_speed = 15
    campaign_map_speed_up = 0
    campaign_num_time_play = 0
    chat_msg_duration = 10000
    disable_arrow_markers = 1
    disable_events = 0
    english = 0
    event_cutscenes = 1
    fatigue = 1
    first_time_play = 0
    gamespy_save_passwrd = 1
    label_characters = 1
    label_settlements = 1
    micromanage_all_settlements = 1
    morale = 1
    mute_advisor = 0
    no_campaign_battle_time_limit = 1
    pref_factions_played = 0
    tutorial_battle_played = 0
    tutorial_path = norman_prologue/battle_of_hastings
    unit_size = huge
    unlimited_men_on_battlefield = 1
    use_quickchat = 0


    [hotseat]
    autoresolve_battles = 1
    disable_console = 1
    disable_papal_elections = 1
    passwords = 1
    save_prefs = 1
    update_ai_camera = 0
    validate_diplomacy = 1


    [network]
    use_ip =
    use_port = 27750


    [ui]
    SA_cards = show
    buttons = show
    full_battle_HUD = 0
    radar = show
    show_tooltips = 1
    unit_cards = show


    [video]
    windowed = 1
    borderless_window = 1
    anisotropic_level = 16
    anti_alias_mode = off
    antialiasing = 0
    assassination_movies = 1
    autodetect = 0
    battle_resolution = 3840 2160
    bloom = 1
    building_detail = high
    campaign_resolution = 3840 2160
    depth_shadows = 2
    depth_shadows_resolution = 3
    effect_quality = highest
    event_movies = 1
    gamma = 119
    grass_distance = 512
    ground_buffers_per_node = 4
    ground_cover_buffers_per_node = 4
    infiltration_movies = 1
    model_buffers_per_node = 4
    no_background_fmv = 0
    reflection = 1
    sabotage_movies = 1
    shader = 2
    show_banners = 1
    show_package_litter = 1
    skip_mip_levels = 0
    splashes = 1
    sprite_buffers_per_node = 4
    stencil_shadows = 1
    subtitles = 0
    terrain_quality = custom
    texture_filtering = 2
    unit_detail = highest
    vegetation = 1
    vegetation_quality = high
    vsync = 1
    water_buffers_per_node = 4
    widescreen = 1
    movies=false


    [log]
    to=logs/auh.system.log.txt
    level =ai.ltgd trace
    level =game.script* trace
    file = game.script* logs/auh.script.log.txt
    file = ai.ltgd logs/auh.ai.log.txt
    [ai]


    [launcher]
    kingdomsDir=..\..
    firstRun=false
    steam=true
    steamCheck=true
    [features]
    mod=mods/RRRC_Ultimate


    [util]
    no_animdb = true


    [misc]
    show_hud_date = 1 # displays date and season above mini map




    CFG from SSHIP 0.9.6
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    [launcher]kingdomsDir=..\..
    swapMenuBackground=true
    swapMenuMusic=true
    swapBAI=true
    autoLocateLogFile=true
    autoBorderlessMode=true
    steamCheck=true
    firstRun=false
    steam=true
    [features]
    mod=mods/SS6.3
    [log]
    to=mods/SS6.3/system.log.txt
    level=* error
    ;level=* trace
    [io]
    file_first=true
    [video]
    no_background_fmv=true
    grass_distance=9000
    unit_detail=highest
    movies=false
    #windowed=false
    #borderless_window=false
    [game]
    unlimited_men_on_battlefield=1
    label_settlements=1
    event_cutscenes=0
    allusers=1
    micromanage_all_settlements=1
    advisor_verbosity=0
    [misc]
    show_hud_date=true
    #remove the # in the next line if you want launcher to bypass straight to the last save when you start mtw2
    #bypass_to_strategy_save=true



  8. #2568
    kostic's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Near Lyon in France
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Lifthrasir View Post
    @ kostic, as you use a CD version, just go to the data folder and then to the sounds folder. Delete all .dat and .idx files (make a save of these files of course, just in case ). Start the game. It should rebuilt these files and hopefully fix your issue.
    I did what you told me but neither Denmark nor Poland have found the word : it removes some of the noise (for example in the menu, there is no noise when selecting a title) but also other noises, like the selection of cities ...
    The deletion of .dat and .idx files also changes the music of the beginning ...
    So I put my backup for now.

  9. #2569
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    did you had the same issue with the previous versions?
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  10. #2570
    kostic's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Near Lyon in France
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    No. My version 0.9.5 has the voices of characters and soldiers.

  11. #2571
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    @ kostic, that's weird
    Anybody else with missing voices?

    Btw, the Danish BG should be a cavalry unit. Only Norway should get an heavy infantry BG at the start of the game. That's a mistake.

    @ shadowtwinz, looks like that's the config by default from a Steam version of the game for SSHIP. I'll try something and will get back to you.

    Edit: I've checked my both install, CD and Steam, both have that config. What resolution do you use for the game? It may be too high for the game to handle it
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; December 08, 2019 at 01:14 PM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  12. #2572

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    I still have the same problem.

    12:46:51.924 [system.rpt] [always] CPU: SSE2
    12:46:51.924 [system.rpt] [always] ==== system log start, build date: Sep 5 2014 version development ===
    12:46:51.955 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_0.pack
    12:46:52.018 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_1.pack
    12:46:52.340 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_2.pack
    12:46:52.460 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_3.pack
    12:46:52.523 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/data_4.pack
    12:46:52.745 [system.io] [always] mounted pack packs/localized.pack
    12:47:29.931 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/SS6.3/data/export_descr_unit.txt, at line 2015, column 18
    Unrecognised mount type 'order mailed horse2'.
    12:47:29.931 [data.invalid] [error] DATABASE_TABLE error found : error reading record from file mods/SS6.3/data/export_descr_unit.txt.

    Should I get rid of the 2 after horse?

  13. #2573
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    You must do something wrong. Let's start from the beginning. Have you tried the game with SS6.4 and before to install SSHIP?
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  14. #2574

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Yes!

  15. #2575

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Lifthrasir View Post
    @ kostic, as you use a CD version, just go to the data folder and then to the sounds folder. Delete all .dat and .idx files (make a save of these files of course, just in case ). Start the game. It should rebuilt these files and hopefully fix your issue.
    I faced the same problem (btw CD version, french language) and tried your solution with no avail. Not only voices where still missing, but in addition some sounds were missing too (menu sounds for example, or cities sounds when opening building panel).

    I decided to use an old trick which worked on others mods, putting in descr-sounds-accents every nordic/eastern accents as english, it works also, but some sounds are missing again. It's look like that when rebuilding .dat and .idx files, the game is unable to recreate as they were.
    Last edited by Blackader; December 08, 2019 at 06:09 PM.

  16. #2576
    Civis
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    137

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Lifthrasir, i deleted idx files and background music is gone as well as UI sounds are gone.

    Regarding fatal error thing due to resolution. I changed from full screen to windowed mode and I can freely alt tab without ctd anymore, but still needs testing. I will report to you in case.

  17. #2577
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    Thanks Gents. I'll check the sounds again. Obviously, it doesn't work as intended

    @ shadowtwinz, about the sounds issue, what version of the game do you use (english, french, german, spanish, etc... / disk or Steam)?
    About the resolution, up to 1920x1080, it works without any problem for sure.

    Edit: I've just found this tutorial/resource from Gigantus. Hopefully, that may help to solve the issue with the voices.
    Last edited by Lifthrasir; December 09, 2019 at 03:58 AM.
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  18. #2578
    kostic's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Near Lyon in France
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    The tutorial of Gigantus is rather a tutorial to generate its own sounds and not to repair missing sounds.

    I think that by changing your entries factions you did not imagine that it was going to mess with the audio part. The descr_sounds_accents file (for example) still contains the old entries, and I suppose that other files have not been updated because by correcting this one myself, I still have not recovered the lost voices.

  19. #2579
    Lifthrasir's Avatar A Clockwork Orange
    Content Staff Moderation Mentor

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dunkirk - France
    Posts
    11,783
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    That's possible. I haven't checked it in detail yet
    Under the patronage of Flinn, proud patron of Jadli, of the Imperial House of Hader


    - Nominations open

  20. #2580

    Default Re: Bugs Reports & Technical Help

    I had the sound problem , it was a verry messy installation of mods over and over again. Reinstall M2TW fresh on the drive and make sure to unninstal any old entry. Then follow the SS installation carefully and it should work.

    Sometimes when you install a mod bad from the start you have to reinstall the full game , otherwise the errors will still be there

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •