39 7.49%
  • Rome 2 is worse than Rome I

173 33.21%
  • Rome 2 is terrible compared to Rome I

160 30.71%
Page 1 of 37 123456789101126 ... LastLast

Thread: Has Rome II now finally reached the level of Rome I

Default Has Rome II now finally reached the level of Rome I

Many people were dissapointed with Rome II due to its buggy release, and I was wondering how peoples opinions have changed with the patches, the updates and the two expansions. Please post here if you think the game is now better than Rome 1, and why, for example by making a list of the most important unique features according to you of either of the games and comparing them. If you just want to express your opinion without any arguments just answer the poll.

My opinion was that Rome II was better than Rome I from the moment I started playing, but I think its even better now, and below I have a list of things only Rome II has, with important things underlined:

Better graphics

LOS

more diplomatic options

stances

fully rotatable map

more factions

armies attached to generals

recruiting inside province, not only in city

precipitation(rain and snow)

amazing wonders

bigger map

More historical factions(nova carthagos not realistic, but barbarian factions split up into tribes, Rome not split into 4 etc.)

plus a whole lot of other things.

Default Re: Has Rome II now finally reached the level of Rome I

I strongly disagree.

Better graphics? Yes, I agree that Rome 2 has better potential for better graphics. But this isn't always the case and with mods Rome 1 can have some great looking units for its age.

LOS - Again, a point to Rome 2. But with the generic flat maps that are so prevalent in the game, does this really make a difference? No, not really.

More diplomatic options - Not really. We are missing some of the ones that matter - exchange provinces!