Thread: Kahotep's Art Thread

Libertus

Default Kahotep's Art Thread

I love to draw and have done so since the tender age of five (I'm 24 now, and mostly self-taught). My DeviantArt gallery can be visited here. What I usually do is draw and ink on paper and then color the picture in Photoshop or GIMP.

Come Back With Your Shield
    Queen Gorgo of Sparta bids her husband Leonidas farewell by telling him, "Come back with your shield or on it".

Of course there's no evidence that Queen Gorgo was Black African or otherwise different in appearance from the Mediterranean Greek norm, but I do believe there was a black minority in ancient Greece and wanted to portray that. Besides, it can't be any more egregious an historical error than making half the Persian characters black people in certain Hollywood films.

Cleopatra VII of the Ptolemaic Kingdom
    Cleopatra VII, the last matriarch of the Ptolemaic Dynasty and the most famous of them all, stands on a balcony within eyesight of the Pharos Lighthouse in Alexandria. I wanted the piece to evoke the warm and sunny Caribbean, since Ptolemaic Egypt was similar to the modern Caribbean insofar as it represented a crossroads between European and African cultures.

Gaius Julius Caesar
    My portrait of one of the Roman Republic's last major statesman, Gaius Julius Caesar. He is perhaps best known for his vicious power struggles with other Roman politicians, his conquest of Gaul (a Celtic country located in what is now France), and his illicit relationship with the Ptolemaic Queen Cleopatra VII. However, I'll always remember him as the arch-villain from the good old Asterix comics.