Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Script: Each unit recruited draws from local population

Default New Script: Each unit recruited draws from local population

I was always bothered when towns of 3,000 could recruit thousands of troops over time... in theory only about 25% are actually available for recruitment anyway... and many a war has been decided by attrition and m2tw does not have that as a factor....

As a noob I created this very clunky script to make Bree Archer Militia draw from the local population...

1. Others can take this and make it better if they like... it does work... my Bree population when from 3600 to 3470 when the unit was trained.
    2. Is there a more efficient way to make the same outcome where I don't have to create 10000 monitors to make it global?
    .... ie... I am pretty sure we can check unit size... and could make the population drop based off of that check and not dependent on faction.
    3. Would this script be applied to the AI as well?

I think this is powerful script because it will make the game more challenging as a person has to keep a strong eye on their population and whether they are too careless. And at some point factions will just run out of available men which is consistent with history

monitor_event UnitTrained UnitType Bree Archer Militia
    and SettlementName Bree
    and FactionType Turks
    and FactionIsLocal
    and I_UnitExists Bree Archer Militia
    console_command, add_population Bree -150
    end_monitor

monitor_event UnitTrained UnitType Bree Archer Militia
    and SettlementName Staddle
    and FactionType Turks
    and FactionIsLocal
    and I_UnitExists Bree Archer Militia
    end_monitor

leo.civil.uefs's Avatar É nóis que vôa bruxão!

Default Re: New Script: Each unit recruited draws from local population

Really good idea...

It would also be interesting to see your population increase when you disband a unit in its region.