Thread: How characters work - A FAQ about character mechanics

Icon1 How characters work - A FAQ about character mechanics

Hi all,

When I started playing TWR2, one of the most confusing parts was the new character system. In this guide I'll try to answer the questions that most troubled me. I don't have all the answers so feel free to comment if you think that something is wrong is missing.

This is not an exhaustive guide, it simply contains my observations and some advise. All numbers are on hard difficulty, on easy and normal you seem to give certain bonuses / discounts.

Character mechanics

What's a character?

The main characters are your agents: Spies, nobles (or dignitaries or patricians), champions (or warmaidens or veterans). The names may vary depending on the faction you play, but apart from that they are identical between fanctions.

Apart from that each general or admiral (they are interchangeable) has his own attributes and skills. Towns have attributes (no skills) and armies can have skills (named military traditions) but no attributes.

What are these attributes and how do I raise them?

There are three attributes, authority, cunning and zeal.

Each agent and general increases their attributes when you select a new skill. You can increase a town's attributes by building buildings, as it is explained in their info cards.

Armies don't have attributes but they share their general's attributes.

OK, but what does each attribute does?

They main use is to determine the chance of success of a given action.

Your agents can target enemy characters (including armies and towns) with some given action. Each action can be performed with three different methods, each one using a different attribute score. The success chance for each method depends on your agent's attribute score vs the enemy's same attribute score.