Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 678910111213141516
Results 301 to 318 of 318

Thread: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

  1. #301
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=192330
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bardo View Post
    I have verified that CapnDan mod is very stable. If there is a CTD, it is probably in vanilla campaign too.
    There is a known cause of crashes when you are sieging a settlement, you are attacked by an enemy reinforcement from outside the city, and the city garrison participates in this battle and is completely destroyed. It happened at cities that can not recruit any unit, if I remember correctly.
    Is this your case? Were you attacked by a 3th army from outside the city?
    Else, it might be related to traits/ancillaries that are triggered at that event (occupy town). We'll check, thank you.
    Still had the save, so to be precise: it was turn 3, at emyn.arnen with gandalf, 1 ranger, 1 men at arms, 1 spearman and a gondor hero 'damrod' who attacked me from the east. My army is the witch king, gothmog, 3 less orc, 3 lesser spearmen, 1 pit guard, 1 snaga, 4 scout, 4 archers, 1 spearmen, 1 warband.

    Could be the capndan population script that upon ocupation?

  2. #302

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Then it is surely the known bug that I said. It happens when:
    1) your sieging army is attacked by a 3th army from outside the city (Damrod in your case)
    2) the garrison of the city participates in the battle and is completely destroyed
    3) it is not possible to recruit any unit in the city

    It is a hardcoded bug. A mod can prevent it by allowing to recruit some kind of unit in every settlement, but in our mod that was inconvenient.
    In these rare situations, you can avoid the crash by playing the battle, and allowing one of the enemy garrison units to rout successfully and survive the battle (they will be killed anyway when you conquer the city, but without the crash).

    Could be the capndan population script that upon ocupation?
    I do not think this script can cause crashes. The script commands that may cause CTDs are known, and add_population is not one of them.

  3. #303
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=192330
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    I see so in that case i suppose it would be advisable to avoid doing sieges with autoresolve. Thx!

    Edit: also hum is that WAD? https://imgur.com/a/mC4o4
    Same battle as mentioned above lmao

    Edit 2: battle went fine, forgot the fellbeasts could attack walls-gates, but it took a while to get them in correct position to attack. They just stood still, stuck to the defences sometimes.

    Edit 3: Whats that clear-unnamed tab? https://imgur.com/a/wkv5U

    Edit 4: WAD too? https://imgur.com/a/OokEp
    Last edited by jrhindo; March 05, 2018 at 01:54 PM.

  4. #304

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by jrhindo View Post
    I see so in that case i suppose it would be advisable to avoid doing sieges with autoresolve. Thx!

    Edit: also hum is that WAD? https://imgur.com/a/mC4o4
    Same battle as mentioned above lmao

    Edit 2: battle went fine, forgot the fellbeasts could attack walls-gates, but it took a while to get them in correct position to attack. They just stood still, stuck to the defences sometimes.

    Edit 3: Whats that clear-unnamed tab? https://imgur.com/a/wkv5U

    Edit 4: WAD too? https://imgur.com/a/OokEp
    I'll try to answer:
    1) I did not understand this one
    2) The fellbeasts do not work well to open gates due to a hardcoded limitation of custom skeletons/animations.
    3) Tab related to senate that is not used in this mod.
    4) That could be problematic, a promoted general using the same name as the witchking. I do not remember how we addressed this possibility. I think there was a script that automatically killed such commanders. Do you know what happened when you accepted that message? Did the new general appear in campaign? Or it was killed automatically?

  5. #305
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=192330
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bardo View Post
    I'll try to answer:
    1) I did not understand this one
    4) That could be problematic, a promoted general using the same name as the witchking. I do not remember how we addressed this possibility. I think there was a script that automatically killed such commanders. Do you know what happened when you accepted that message? Did the new general appear in campaign? Or it was killed automatically?
    1) there is only 1 nazgul fellbeast unit, but it has 2 fellbeast. A replacement dragon just in case? I wondered if that was due to how general units work, as they can grow when the general influence/command stats increase. But wouldnt that mean a haradrim mumakil general could have 2 mumaks in a single unit also?
    4) I think i did accept but forgot about it later. I dont remember seeing that general later so it must have been script killed.

    Also, more a balance problem, i feel like the nazguls are op. I only had all 9 of them in a single army and they murdered gondorian half stacks that wondered into ithilien quite easily. Only when undersiege by a full stack inside osgiliath and low on black riders bodyguards, they were defeated.

  6. #306

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    1) Ah, you are right, it is a limitation of the engine. The number of Fellbeasts/Mumaks depends on the unit size settings that you choose. With Large units they will appear 2 mounts, with huge units they will appear 4. Sadly, they will also appear several Saurons/Sarumans...

    I agree about the nazguls, I also think all bodyguard units are a bit overpowered in this mod, but it is hard to correct at this point. The main reason is that bodyguard units are always better than regular unit, and in the case of elves/dwarves, regular units are damn good, so general units are very powerful. Nazgul units are as good as elven/dwarven bodyguards (no better or worse), but compared to regular orc units they feel op.

    I have seen there is no info in the readme about the crash that you first reported (garrison completely destroyed while acting as reinforcement), I'll add some warning if I release a new patch. Thank you.

  7. #307
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=192330
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    I have noticed that there was no possibility to have wargs as mordor (in mordor, so far) WAD or did i miss that option somehow?

    Edit: Cant remember if that was always like that but one of the dwarven blue mountains town has zero building and cant ever building or recruit.
    Last edited by jrhindo; March 18, 2018 at 02:27 AM.

  8. #308

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by jrhindo View Post
    I have noticed that there was no possibility to have wargs as mordor (in mordor, so far) WAD or did i miss that option somehow?

    Edit: Cant remember if that was always like that but one of the dwarven blue mountains town has zero building and cant ever building or recruit.
    Yes, Mordor can recruit wargs but the resource does not exist inside of Mordor regions.

    And yes, the southern of the two far West mountain settlements is just a camp - no building possible.

  9. #309
    Tiro
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=192330
    Posts
    263

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    I managed to get a witchking new general, with the 'hero of the hour'/'promotion opportunity' thing. It didnt get removed the next turn.
    https://imgur.com/a/NLhAs

    Edit: Managed to get a 'eye of sauron' general with the same method
    Last edited by jrhindo; March 24, 2018 at 03:09 PM.

  10. #310

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by jrhindo View Post
    I managed to get a witchking new general, with the 'hero of the hour'/'promotion opportunity' thing. It didnt get removed the next turn.
    https://imgur.com/a/NLhAs

    Edit: Managed to get a 'eye of sauron' general with the same method
    Yea that'll happen, limitation of the engine. Just imagine that the orc has taken on this 'nom-de-guerre' to honor that particular famous figure.

  11. #311

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by jrhindo View Post
    I managed to get a witchking new general, with the 'hero of the hour'/'promotion opportunity' thing. It didnt get removed the next turn.
    https://imgur.com/a/NLhAs

    Edit: Managed to get a 'eye of sauron' general with the same method
    Thanks for pointing it. I'll check if it may cause other troubles (with scripts for example).
    As CapnDan said, it is a limitation of the engine, that chooses randomly the name for the new generals. But I think it is possible to prevent these promotions if they cause troubles.

  12. #312

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    When I load the game it stays as a white screen. I can hear the music and interact with the menu, but it just stays as a blank white screen and I can't see what I'm doing. I tried to open it in Windows 7 mode, but still the same results. Please let me know what I need to do.

    Thanks

  13. #313

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    I'm not sure what can be the problem in your case. I'd suggest to verify if vanilla alexanderTW works without this problem. If it works, try to copy the preferences.txt file from alexander folder to lotrtw folder.
    If it doesn't work either, try to delete the file preferences.txt so the game generates a new one.

  14. #314

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Thats weird as in my mod for 1942, we changed the strat map voices...

  15. #315
    badass7's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    When trying to play a siege battle against Barad-Dur as Isengard, I keep getting the attached error message. Is anybody able to help at all?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails LOTRTW Crash.png  

  16. #316

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by badass7 View Post
    When trying to play a siege battle against Barad-Dur as Isengard, I keep getting the attached error message. Is anybody able to help at all?
    Might depend on how the mod was installed. Are you using the most current release? On a clean install of RTW+Alex? Any other mods being used also?

  17. #317
    badass7's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by CapnDan View Post
    Might depend on how the mod was installed. Are you using the most current release? On a clean install of RTW+Alex? Any other mods being used also?
    Steam version of the game, with the latest LOTR:TW release on ModDB that was a fresh install with no other mods. It's the only battle that has crashed outside of troll ones, although I have implemented the sprite fix for that.

  18. #318

    Default Re: Reporting Bugs or Crashes (v3.0)

    Quote Originally Posted by badass7 View Post
    Steam version of the game, with the latest LOTR:TW release on ModDB that was a fresh install with no other mods. It's the only battle that has crashed outside of troll ones, although I have implemented the sprite fix for that.
    Interesting.. Was it a night battle? Do you have a savegame file handy?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •