Thread: Learn-by-Example Modelling 02: Composite UV-Mapping

Icon1 Learn-by-Example Modelling 02: Composite UV-Mapping

Version: 29/04/2013 - added additional information on fixing split-mesh seams (Part 2 -> Step 5)
    Version: 21/01/2013 - first posted

Introduction When I just started learning modelling for M2TW, I found UV-mapping the most difficult part of modelling, especially complicated models such as body or head. Although, most models such as weapons can be UV-mapped satisfactory in a single step, parts like main body or head need more tinkering. Hence, in this tutorial we will be creating a composite UV-map of a head model with all its parts. The composite UV-mapping here means the model consists of several UV-maps for complete 360 degrees texture wrapping without overstretching or jamming of textures.

Now, before we start, I suggest you read this article about UV-mapping on Wikipedia. Also, I assume you have some basic knowledge about modelling. This tutorial is written for beginners and those modellers who are not very comfortable with UV-mapping.

Part 1: Model Preparation
    Step 1 First, we need to prepare the model for UV-mapping. Separate main parts from each other so we can work with one at a time. In this case, we have main head model (just a bald head), hair, beard, and ears that together form our head model:

Step 2 We will start with main head. I hid all the other groups we separated in Step 1 for the time being. When first created, the model was mirrored alongside symmetry line in the middle. It is always a good idea to work with one half of the model until most of the modelling, including UV-mapping, is done. We can always mirror it again, so we will only work with one half for convenience purposes. In this step I deleted the entire left half of the head.