Page 9 of 35 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314151617181934 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 180 of 683

Thread: modding campaign map

  1. #161
    Muizer's Avatar member 3519
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    9,717

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Lusted View Post
    Hi guys,

    We are looking into the supertexture stuff, see what we can do.

    Another thing I would like to say is that the way campaign mpas are made is changing completely for Rome II. Anything you make using Shogun 2 will not work in Rome II. There is no point starting campaign map projects now for it.
    That's a pity, but I suppose it is good to know now rather than in a year's time. Are you considering mod support for Rome II as part of the development process?
    "Lay these words to heart, Lucilius, that you may scorn the pleasure which comes from the applause of the majority. Many men praise you; but have you any reason for being pleased with yourself, if you are a person whom the many can understand?" - Lucius Annaeus Seneca -

  2. #162
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Thanks Lusted and sounds good. Hoping its changing for the better (for modders). Spartan I think Lusted has a good point, give up this dream to create a world map for Shogun II by the time your done ETWII will be out. Focus on adding regions. Make a Japan with a 500 regions.


    Rep to Lusted for looking into it.


    @Muizer I think its a safe bet there will be a battle map editor to Rome II, TED.

  3. #163
    Biggus Splenus's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    I think I was the one who pointed Lusted this way, or he found it himself.

    And yes, as Muizer said, will we be getting modding support for Rome 2 on launch or will it come further down the track? Hopefully not to late though, like Shogun 2.
    | R5 3600, RTX 2060, MSI B450I, 32GB 3200MHz CL16 DDR4, AX760i, NH-U12S |

  4. #164
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    It's good news that we'll possibly get some support for supertextures, as then new maps should be able to be made.

    Anyways, I always pretty much suspected that the Rome 2 map will be structured differently. Mainly with info we have so far about how regions are going to be managed, but given that the game will still run on a modified version of the warscape engine it must still have some similarities (though I doubt Lusted is willing to divulge anything about this ), it must still in some rudimentary form be built around polygon models and a heightmap. I was never so naive as to think that I would create something in Shogun and then simply drop it into Rome 2 when it comes out and expect it to work. My goal is just to create the basic geography, heightmap, and supertexture, not any regions, trade routes, or roads (except in so far as what is required to make it run in S2). That way I would have some sort of base information available if/when mod tools are released for Rome 2, and even when that time comes and it turns out that Rome's map is 100% different well then so be it.

    But I won't be giving up working on a European map, as I have wanted to make one since Empire, even if its just for fun and serves no real purpose. I have nothing against working on a detailed map for Shogun as well, but since I am not very knowledgeable about what regions to create for the Sengoku period and don't have the interests in researching them someone will have to gather that information for me if they want a detailed map of Japan done.
    Last edited by spartan_warrior; October 25, 2012 at 10:06 AM.

  5. #165
    Herr Doctor's Avatar Biarchus
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lukomorye
    Posts
    649

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    I have nothing against working on a detailed map for Shogun as well, but since I am not very knowledgeable about what regions to create for the Sengoku period and don't have the interests in researching them someone will have to gather that information for me if they want a detailed map of Japan done.
    Perhaps you will be interested to cooperate with one of the big mods here (Radious, Tenka, Seki) to bring a new map for the game, may be specialised for certain date scenario? I think only good can come form such cooperation.

  6. #166

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Lusted View Post
    Hi guys,

    We are looking into the supertexture stuff, see what we can do.

    Another thing I would like to say is that the way campaign mpas are made is changing completely for Rome II. Anything you make using Shogun 2 will not work in Rome II. There is no point starting campaign map projects now for it.
    But will the rome 2 campaign map be moddable

  7. #167
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Chosen Man Lt. Richard Sharpe View Post
    But will the rome 2 campaign map be moddable
    I highly doubt that the Rome 2 campaign map will be moddable, at least not on release anyway. If CA releases the equivalent of Shogun 2's assembly kit then it probably will, but I wouldn't expect that until after all the expansions are out, which would likely be a year and a half after the initial release, and that is if they even decide to. But I am optimistic that they will, as the demand for mod tools will be extremely high for that game as it is what most people have been wanting for years now.

  8. #168
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Makes sense the RomeII campaign map will be heavily modified considering the province system will change dramatically from past titles.

  9. #169
    Pazu the Kitsune's Avatar Shopkeeper
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Belly of the Dragon (US)
    Posts
    1,682

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack Lusted View Post
    Hi guys,

    We are looking into the supertexture stuff, see what we can do.

    Another thing I would like to say is that the way campaign mpas are made is changing completely for Rome II. Anything you make using Shogun 2 will not work in Rome II. There is no point starting campaign map projects now for it.
    It seems that CA is as eager to see a modded Shogun 2 campaign map as we are

    Im keeping my eye on this thread, very important stuff, a moddable Shogun 2 campaign map would be earth shattering


    "If you can keep your head when all about you
    Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,"
    -First lines to the poem "If-" by Rudyard Kipling


  10. #170

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by MathiasOfAthens View Post
    Focus on adding regions. Make a Japan with a 500 regions.
    ditto, maybe not 500 but having the provinces split in half would be awesome. I know that Spartan_Warrior may not want to stay editing japan but is a tutorial possible for someone else to work on it?

  11. #171
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by other mitch View Post
    ditto, maybe not 500 but having the provinces split in half would be awesome. I know that Spartan_Warrior may not want to stay editing japan but is a tutorial possible for someone else to work on it?
    I have already said that I won't mind working on a Japanese map, but I don't have any knowledge of which provinces or settlements should be added, and I don't have the time to research them. If CA updates the assembly kit to allow for editing the supertextures then I will probably approach one of the major mods to see if they want to new map done, but until the supertextures are sorted out there is no point yet.

  12. #172

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    I have already said that I won't mind working on a Japanese map, but I don't have any knowledge of which provinces or settlements should be added, and I don't have the time to research them. If CA updates the assembly kit to allow for editing the supertextures then I will probably approach one of the major mods to see if they want to new map done, but until the supertextures are sorted out there is no point yet.
    my mistake...

  13. #173
    Col. Tartleton's Avatar Comes Limitis
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Cape Ann
    Posts
    13,053

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Didn't Crux3D figure out how to mod the supertexture like a year ago?
    The Earth is inhabited by billions of idiots.
    The search for intelligent life continues...

  14. #174
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Col. Tartleton View Post
    Didn't Crux3D figure out how to mod the supertexture like a year ago?
    Yea but it doesn't work properly for the supertextures in Shogun 2, just Empire and Napoleon. The purpose of the supertextures was changed slightly for Shogun and thus when trying to make one to work with the new format it gets all screwed up, and since Crux3D is not around any more it can't be updated. But anyways Lusted has said they are looking into the supertextures, so hopefully they will include something with the official tools.

  15. #175
    Col. Tartleton's Avatar Comes Limitis
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Cape Ann
    Posts
    13,053

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    Yea but it doesn't work properly for the supertextures in Shogun 2, just Empire and Napoleon. The purpose of the supertextures was changed slightly for Shogun and thus when trying to make one to work with the new format it gets all screwed up, and since Crux3D is not around any more it can't be updated. But anyways Lusted has said they are looking into the supertextures, so hopefully they will include something with the official tools.
    Awww... I thought I was going to be a hero.

    Well the ball's in Jack's court now.

    More time to plan my mega mod.
    The Earth is inhabited by billions of idiots.
    The search for intelligent life continues...

  16. #176
    Dave Strider's Avatar Dux Limitis
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    17,448

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    If I had a suggestion, for a European map, don't go grand-scale with the first attempt. Make a couple smaller, regional maps to work up experience and learn tricks.

    I'd recommend a large map of the Crimea, for a possible Crimean War mod?
    when the union's inspiration through the worker's blood shall run,
    there can be no power greater anywhere beneath the sun,
    yet what force on earth is weaker than the feeble strength of one?
    but the union makes us strong.

  17. #177
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Ideally, imo, a regional map with similar factions like ancient Greece and Italy. Basic Hoplite warfare.

  18. #178
    Biggus Splenus's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by MathiasOfAthens View Post
    Ideally, imo, a regional map with similar factions like ancient Greece and Italy. Basic Hoplite warfare.
    Sounds great to me
    | R5 3600, RTX 2060, MSI B450I, 32GB 3200MHz CL16 DDR4, AX760i, NH-U12S |

  19. #179
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    I have successfully stripped the campaign map down to just four provinces, so now I have a relatively simple base to make some experiments on.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Its sort of funny as I haven't edited the trees file or any of the markers so when you zoom in you can see some forests and other features below the water, it's like some terrible earthquake hit Japan and only Shikoku remains

    Also, in regards to making a regional map of say Greece for an encient Greek mod, it won't ever happen, unless someone wants to rent a mocap studio to make a ton of new animations, not to mention whole new sounds would need to be made, models for buildings and a whole bunch of other things. You will never see such a mod for Shogun 2, the sheer logistics and man hours for such an endevour would be insane.

  20. #180
    Biggus Splenus's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    I have successfully stripped the campaign map down to just four provinces, so now I have a relatively simple base to make some experiments on.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Its sort of funny as I haven't edited the trees file or any of the markers so when you zoom in you can see some forests and other features below the water, it's like some terrible earthquake hit Japan and only Shikoku remains

    Also, in regards to making a regional map of say Greece for an encient Greek mod, it won't ever happen, unless someone wants to rent a mocap studio to make a ton of new animations, not to mention whole new sounds would need to be made, models for buildings and a whole bunch of other things. You will never see such a mod for Shogun 2, the sheer logistics and man hours for such an endevour would be insane.
    I thought the best before me was referring to a mod for Rome 2, in any other case crap that idea, because you are right.
    | R5 3600, RTX 2060, MSI B450I, 32GB 3200MHz CL16 DDR4, AX760i, NH-U12S |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •