Page 31 of 35 FirstFirst ... 6212223242526272829303132333435 LastLast
Results 601 to 620 of 682

Thread: modding campaign map

  1. #601
    Flikitos's Avatar Campidoctor
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,661

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    I would have a question, does the supertexture (I mean the Campaign map so) has a maximum size?

  2. #602
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Flikitos View Post
    I would have a question, does the supertexture (I mean the Campaign map so) has a maximum size?
    The supertexture can be made different sizes, but the tool used to make the superextures is not the best, and can cause problems at different sizes. The heightmap on the other hand does has a maximum size, but it is not exactly tied to the size of the campaign map, it can be 'stretched' over a larger map but of course the more you do so the less detailed it will become.

  3. #603

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Amazing job m8! I've always thought the north need al least one more province! Is all this compatible with Darthmod?

  4. #604

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    You are doing a Great job guys keep up the good work

  5. #605
    Biggus Splenus's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    3,531

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by T-Duke View Post
    Amazing job m8! I've always thought the north need al least one more province! Is all this compatible with Darthmod?
    If Darthmod edits any campaign files (I wouldn't know, I don't play that), then no
    | R5 3600, RTX 2060, MSI B450I, 32GB 3200MHz CL16 DDR4, AX760i, NH-U12S |

  6. #606

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Another update:

    I have added 6 new regions and 6 new clans to the map

    1) Iwaki province is split off from Fukushima province (which is now re-named Iwase). It is owned by the Soma clan.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    2)Aomori province is split from Iwate province. It is owned by the Nanbu clan.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    3) Split off part of Mikawa province. I called the new province Okazaki. The province is owned by the Honda clan.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    4) Split of part of Omi province. I called the new province Takashima. The province is owned by the Kyogoku clan

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    5) Izumi province is split off from Settsu province. Settsu and Izumi are now owned by the Hosokawa clan. The Miyoshi clan now longer has a presence on Honshu.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    6) Chikugo province is split off from Chikuzen province and small parts Higo province. The province is owned by the Tachibana clan.

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    Other plans: I plan to add the Matsumae clan in Ezo. The banners are tentative.
    Last edited by GeneralWolfe; June 30, 2013 at 04:27 PM.

  7. #607

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    wow! looks awesome! Any idea when and if others can play it?

  8. #608

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by hellfire15 View Post
    wow! looks awesome! Any idea when and if others can play it?
    When will I release it? I do not know. Uanime has already released his own new regions and factions mod in gameplay tweaks. I have also released a simple one region mod in gameplay tweaks.

    Can others play it? Yes. I don't see why not.
    Last edited by GeneralWolfe; July 01, 2013 at 02:11 PM.

  9. #609
    Erwin Rommel's Avatar EYE-PATCH FETISH
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    14,576

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Cant wait to apply this to the Sekigahara Campaign

    (Its clickable by the way....An S2 overhaul mod.)

    Seriously. Click it. Its the only overhaul mod that's overhauling enough to bring out NEW clans
    Masaie. Retainer of Akaie|AntonIII






  10. #610

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Erwin Rommel View Post
    Cant wait to apply this to the Sekigahara Campaign
    Woah, is the Sekigahara Campaign still releasing new updates? If yes, I can't wait!

  11. #611
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Why wouldnt it if people start pumping out Campaign map changes.

  12. #612

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    I tried making some of the smaller island's playable in the vanilla version of TWS2 however I got an error stating "Warning: Large area culled due to non-traversable constriction. May be erroneous warning due to boundary smoothing." When I played this mod I was unable to walk on these islands.

    The islands that don't work are:
    • The 2 Tanegashima islands by the Indonesia trade route.
    • Koshikijima islands by the Annam trade route.
    • The 3 Seto Inlet Sea islands.
    • Amakusa islands by Higo.
    • Iki island by Hizen.
    • The 2 Oki islands by the Jurchen trade route.


    The islands can be made passable if you add a settlement:
    • Goto islands by the China trade route.
    • Tsushima islands by the Korea trade route.


    I think this has something to do with the size of these islands. Basically it an island is too small it can't become a playable area.

    I also tried to make Korea playable. While I was able to add a new sea and sail to Korea I wasn't able to disembark there. This may be due to the height map not having any information about Korea. Also the supertexture doesn't have any data for Korea so when you get close all your see is the sea. So any mod including Korea will need a new height map and supertexture.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails korea.jpg  
    Last edited by uanime5; July 09, 2013 at 03:50 PM.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  13. #613

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    By height Map and superstructure you mean creating a landform from scratch?

  14. #614
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    I also tried to make Korea playable. While I was able to add a new sea and sail to Korea I wasn't able to disembark there. This may be due to the height map not having any information about Korea. Also the supertexture doesn't have any data for Korea so when you get close all your see is the sea. So any mod including Korea will need a new height map and supertexture.
    Actually, the heightmap doesn't matter, you can walk armies across the ocean floor if it's made into a region. Did you make Korea its own region with a settlement? If not, and it is just an empty land mass, or a separate part of another region that is not contiguous, it will automatically be recognized as unpassable. This is likely done to aid pathfinding, to prevent the AI from marching armies into useless locations.

  15. #615

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    Actually, the heightmap doesn't matter, you can walk armies across the ocean floor if it's made into a region. Did you make Korea its own region with a settlement? If not, and it is just an empty land mass, or a separate part of another region that is not contiguous, it will automatically be recognized as unpassable. This is likely done to aid pathfinding, to prevent the AI from marching armies into useless locations.
    Seem the problem was the lack of a settlement. So while I can now walk on Korea almost all of it is under the sea. The only areas where there's land is by the secret Portuguese and Wako bases. So while it should be possible to add Korea to a mod it will require a lot of modding to make it appear correctly.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  16. #616
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    So how do you add terrain? Is it editing the height map or graphical terrain features?

  17. #617

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    You need to add the region to the height map, then make a new supertexture. If you don't edit the height map the new terrain will be under the sea, it you don't edit the supertexture Korea will be entirely composed of sea.

    While it shouldn't be too difficult to add a basic Korea an accurate one with rivers, terrain, trees, mountains, roads, and the most important regions will be a lot of work. It will also be difficult to replicate the Korean military as they had very weak land units (they were reliant on China's armies to protect them) but had a strong navy to protect them from Wako pirates. So during the Imjin war Korea defeated Japan through long sieges, peasant revolts, and using their navy to prevent Japan bringing more warriors to Korea; something that may be difficult to replicate in game.

    Maybe I should start a WIP about adding Korea.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  18. #618
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    That would be cool. It would be a huge mod to say the least. Would be cool to have an extra landmass in the world.

  19. #619
    The Useless Member's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Chlοe's Basement, 'Merca
    Posts
    3,168

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Since this still is warscape, is it possible to make theatres of war in like Empire?

    Are you guys going to just continue splitting regions until you literally can't anymore?

  20. #620
    MathiasOfAthens's Avatar Comes Rei Militaris
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sverige
    Posts
    22,878

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Nobody knows how to do that yet. We have barely mastered the sail. Dont push it to lightspeed yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •