Page 27 of 35 FirstFirst ... 217181920212223242526272829303132333435 LastLast
Results 521 to 540 of 682

Thread: modding campaign map

  1. #521

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by r3deed View Post
    any hopes of modding etw map.
    I do plan to compare the modified versions of the TWS2 esf files to the vanilla ones to see which files were changed when I moved a farm. This will highlight which parts of the esf files need to be changed.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  2. #522

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Spartan_warrior I was wondering if you could give me some more help with the startpos.esf. At present I'm trying to add a new town to the Iga region. In 3D MAX I cloned an existing town, moved one of the towns to another location, and gave it a different name.

    Next I opened up Tweak and added the new town to the campaign_map_towns_and_ports and the start_pos_towns_and_ports.

    Finally I tried to use Bob to create the new versions of these files. I was able to make the DB tables, regions.esf, and pathfinding.esf. But I couldn't make the startpos.esf because when it got to the load TWS2 part, TWS2 crashed before the startpos.esf could be made. Is there another file I need to edit?
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  3. #523
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    Spartan_warrior I was wondering if you could give me some more help with the startpos.esf. At present I'm trying to add a new town to the Iga region. In 3D MAX I cloned an existing town, moved one of the towns to another location, and gave it a different name.

    Next I opened up Tweak and added the new town to the campaign_map_towns_and_ports and the start_pos_towns_and_ports.

    Finally I tried to use Bob to create the new versions of these files. I was able to make the DB tables, regions.esf, and pathfinding.esf. But I couldn't make the startpos.esf because when it got to the load TWS2 part, TWS2 crashed before the startpos.esf could be made. Is there another file I need to edit?
    Ok yes, when you start adding new things to the map there is a additional new step which needs to be performed. When Bob is processing the startpos.esf it starts up the game and does several things, when it does this it has to reference you new additions to the campaign map, if it can't it will crash. What you need to do is, when you have processed the map, create a new mod pack which contains all the map files. Next when you process the startpos, the mod manager will pop up and make sure the mod pack containing the map files is checked off. When it continues processing it should be able to read the map files and finish creating the startpos.esf.

    Basically, when adding new things to the map you will follow these steps:
    1 - Make your additions.
    2 - Process the campaign map
    3 - Make mod pack containing the new map files
    4 - Process the startpos, making sure it is reading your new mod pack.
    5 - Update your mod pack to include the new startpos.
    6 - Start game to verify everything went correctly.

  4. #524

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    Basically, when adding new things to the map you will follow these steps:
    1 - Make your additions.
    2 - Process the campaign map
    3 - Make mod pack containing the new map files
    4 - Process the startpos, making sure it is reading your new mod pack.
    5 - Update your mod pack to include the new startpos.
    6 - Start game to verify everything went correctly.
    I thought it might be something like that. Thanks for the help. I've updated my moving a town/port/farm guide to explain this.

    I tried adding a second town to the Iga region but TWS2 didn't show it. I think TWS2 may limit the number of towns to one per region.

    Fortunately you can add towns to regions that don't have a town in them, so I was able to add a horse town to the Mino region.

    Now that I know how to add towns I'm planning on trying to split a region. I noticed that in 3D MAX each region border is made up of a line of blue squares, so I was wondering how do I link two of these squares together and how do I add more blue squares?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails new town.jpg  
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  5. #525
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    I tried adding a second town to the Iga region but TWS2 didn't show it. I think TWS2 may limit the number of towns to one per region.
    That could be so, I have never tried adding more than one specialty building to a region, so I am not entirely sure.

    Now that I know how to add towns I'm planning on trying to split a region. I noticed that in 3D MAX each region border is made up of a line of blue squares, so I was wondering how do I link two of these squares together and how do I add more blue squares?
    By the blue squares, I am assuming you mean the vertices. There are a couple of ways to go about dividing regions to create new ones. Perhaps the easiest is to just create a new edge which cuts the polygon and then add vertices along that edge to allow you to bend and curve the edge to the way you want it. Once you have your new region polygon you will have to assign a unique material id to it, which will then be used to reference with the db files.

  6. #526

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    By the blue squares, I am assuming you mean the vertices. There are a couple of ways to go about dividing regions to create new ones. Perhaps the easiest is to just create a new edge which cuts the polygon and then add vertices along that edge to allow you to bend and curve the edge to the way you want it. Once you have your new region polygon you will have to assign a unique material id to it, which will then be used to reference with the db files.
    Okay I've used the "cut" tool to split the Hyuga region into two region polygons. Then I've selected all the parts of the polygon and pressed <M> to bring up the Material Editor. In the Material Editor I added a new region and renamed it 210 Hyuka. I then clicked on the sub-material, renamed the sub-material "land_jap_hyuka", and choose an ambient colour. Unfortunately I have no idea how to change the colour to my new polygon. So how do I assign a material ID to it and is there any way to ensure it's a unique ID other than by checking the region_table?
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  7. #527

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Hey pioneers, I have two questions.

    1. In terms of the entries in pathfinding.esf and startpos.esf, are there any changes in the structures of the pathfinding data from ETW/NTW? As in, assuming all games used identical maps, would they all be able to read the same pathfinding?

    2. If structurely the same, would it be possible to use shogun2/kit to generate those entries for a NTW/Empire map built in 3dmax?

    Something allong the lines of..
    1. build a map using 3dmax
    2. TWeak relevant entries/delete entries that NTW/ETW cant handle
    3. Bob (and then Bob again for startpos)
    4. (Maybe some more TWeaking, then) Insert relevant data into NTW/Etw variants of files, or simply use the files if they work
    5. profit (etw/ntw maps as makeable as St2)

    alternatively, I have been trying to redirect bob/kit console to launch NTW, but to no avail. I believe it runs a steam://rungameid/, but have no idea how to change that.

    P.S. I too have the same dillema as uanime5, no idea how to change the colour of the polygon.

    P.P.S, sorry if this is not strictly on STW2 mapping.

  8. #528

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    Okay I've used the "cut" tool to split the Hyuga region into two region polygons. Then I've selected all the parts of the polygon and pressed <M> to bring up the Material Editor. In the Material Editor I added a new region and renamed it 210 Hyuka. I then clicked on the sub-material, renamed the sub-material "land_jap_hyuka", and choose an ambient colour. Unfortunately I have no idea how to change the colour to my new polygon. So how do I assign a material ID to it and is there any way to ensure it's a unique ID other than by checking the region_table?

    I don't know how relevant this really is, but it might help: http://docs.autodesk.com/3DSMAX/15/E...ber=d30e606373
    also, googling '3ds max material id' gives quite a lot of hits

  9. #529
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    To assign a specific material ID to polygons, first select the polygons then in the modify task pane look for a meterial IDs section. In this you can assign new IDs as well as select all polygons of a specific ID.

  10. #530
    mentecato's Avatar Civis
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Granada, Spain
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    is this the most important/relevant thread right now in this forum??


  11. #531
    AngryTitusPullo's Avatar Comes Limitis
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    13,026

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Yes. Without any doubt.


    CIVITATVS CVM AVGVSTVS XVI, MMVI
    IN PATROCINIVM SVB Dromikaites SVB MareNostrum SVB Quintus Maximus
    Want to know more about Rome II Total Realism ? Follow us on Twitter & Facebook

  12. #532
    LiquidSantanero's Avatar Miles
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aruba, (in the Caribean, not Middle-East)
    Posts
    367

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Hi, I haven't been keeping track of this thread for ages. As far as I know, you can't add a new region because of the supertexture issue, if I understood correctly. Any progress on that?

  13. #533
    AngryTitusPullo's Avatar Comes Limitis
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    13,026

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by LiquidSantanero View Post
    Hi, I haven't been keeping track of this thread for ages. As far as I know, you can't add a new region because of the supertexture issue, if I understood correctly. Any progress on that?
    It's already been done. Somewhere in these pages. You'll have to go each one or browse spartan_warrior posts to see.


    CIVITATVS CVM AVGVSTVS XVI, MMVI
    IN PATROCINIVM SVB Dromikaites SVB MareNostrum SVB Quintus Maximus
    Want to know more about Rome II Total Realism ? Follow us on Twitter & Facebook

  14. #534

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by Puppy Monster View Post
    Hey pioneers, I have two questions.

    1. In terms of the entries in pathfinding.esf and startpos.esf, are there any changes in the structures of the pathfinding data from ETW/NTW? As in, assuming all games used identical maps, would they all be able to read the same pathfinding?
    There are some differences but the pathfinding is pretty much the same. They're not so different that it would be impossible to turn TWS2 files into NTW ones (ETW ones will be more difficult but should be possible).

    2. If structurely the same, would it be possible to use shogun2/kit to generate those entries for a NTW/Empire map built in 3dmax?

    Something allong the lines of..
    1. build a map using 3dmax
    2. TWeak relevant entries/delete entries that NTW/ETW cant handle
    3. Bob (and then Bob again for startpos)
    4. (Maybe some more TWeaking, then) Insert relevant data into NTW/Etw variants of files, or simply use the files if they work
    5. profit (etw/ntw maps as makeable as St2)
    1) This will be a time consuming process but should be possible. The main problem will be that TWS2 doesn't have theatres so it will be difficult to make an ETW map.
    2) TWeak shouldn't be a problem, as these DB tables and startpos entries are pretty similar to their NTW/ETW counterparts.
    3) No problem.
    4) It may be possible to convert the TWS2 esf files to xml files, run a programme to convert these esf files to their NTW/ETW counterparts, then turn them back into esf files.

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    To assign a specific material ID to polygons, first select the polygons then in the modify task pane look for a meterial IDs section. In this you can assign new IDs as well as select all polygons of a specific ID.
    Thanks. I didn't realise I had to assign the polygons to a material. Now that I know how to use 3D Max I was able to split a region; and add a new settlement, town, and farm to it.



    I've added a guide explaining how to split regions here:
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ion&p=12845189
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails new region 2.jpg  
    Last edited by uanime5; May 14, 2013 at 01:51 PM. Reason: Added guide
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  15. #535

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Awesome! I guess I know what I'll be doing during my summer hollidays :3
    Would the knowledge in these tutorials be enough to fully create a new campaign map?
    and to what extent can we change terrain and are there tutorials for this?

  16. #536
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Nice job uanime5, once you get an understanding of the files, it is not too difficult to implement a new province. Though even once the new province is up and running, there are still a few things which still need to be done, such as adding in the border graphics, changing trade routes, and editing the supertexture.

    @hellfire15, knowledge of how to add or edit regions on the map is definitely a start, but creating a whole new campaign map will be a lot more complex. It is possible, as I have tested its possibilities, but it will be a massive amount of work.

  17. #537

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    spartan_warrior could you create a map of Europe, Asia, or the world with a few regions in? If you were able to create even a basic map then people could split it into whatever regions they wanted. Though one of us would need to make a guide explaining how to add rivers, roads, and trade routes.
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  18. #538
    spartan_warrior's Avatar Combating the ignorant
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NS, Canada
    Posts
    840

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by uanime5 View Post
    spartan_warrior could you create a map of Europe, Asia, or the world with a few regions in? If you were able to create even a basic map then people could split it into whatever regions they wanted. Though one of us would need to make a guide explaining how to add rivers, roads, and trade routes.
    I suppose I could, as I do have files laying around for a structure of a map which stretches from Iceland to the mouth of the Ganges. However, I have no idea how viable creating such a large map would be. Shogun 2 seems to lack any climate variation data, and I have no Idea how or even if new climates could be added or implemented within the game.

  19. #539

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_warrior View Post
    I suppose I could, as I do have files laying around for a structure of a map which stretches from Iceland to the mouth of the Ganges. However, I have no idea how viable creating such a large map would be. Shogun 2 seems to lack any climate variation data, and I have no Idea how or even if new climates could be added or implemented within the game.
    Though ETW has 35 different climates for land and sea I'm not sure what effect they had beyond whether there was snow or not (there were climate maps but I don't know how they worked).

    In M2TW the appearance of a region was controlled by its climate and ground_type. However in ETW they pre-rendered the appearance of a region using supertextures, so climate and ground_type became less important. In ETW ground_types mainly controlled how quickly a unit can walk across a certain ground and whether you could ambush an enemy unit. In NTW different groups types gained the attrition ability, so if the ground was too hot or too cold the unit would be injured. The fact that TWS2 has regular and cold versions of some ground_types makes me think that ground_types now have superseded climate. I suspect that ground_types without a "cold_att" version are the same all year round, while the ones with a "cold_att" variant use the cold version in winter.

    So I recommend trying to reflect the climate of a region using different ground_types. Adding new ground_types can be done with the material editor (at present the only ground_types in TWS2 tell it where the trees are).
    Morning Sun (adds Korea to the Shogun 2 map)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/forum...28-Morning-Sun

    Expanded Japan mod (97 new regions and 101 new factions)
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...ew-factions%29

    How to split a region in TWS2
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...split-a-region

    Eras Total Conquest 2.3 (12 campaigns from 970-1547)

  20. #540
    Indefinitely Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    The western part of an Island They thought a kind of Coffee...
    Posts
    1,932

    Default Re: modding campaign map

    Wow...You should upload and release those Test Maps so more can experience it in game!

    Hmmm...How if repurposing Modified FoTS Map into The Sengoku Jidai Campaign, for a start?
    Replacing the Towns and Specialties with Sengoku analogues, deleting Telegraph Lines, replacing Trade Nodes; and Splitting The Larger Territories into Han-based, rather than Kuni-based?

    A good serious Project for a start, even if it maybe quite gray legally...
    Last edited by weirdoascensor; May 17, 2013 at 12:28 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •