Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 136

Thread: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

  1. #1
    Emperor of Hell's Avatar SPA-NED 1-5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,747

    Default How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Hi there

    Here I'll explain in a few easy steps how to have multiple installs of TATW at the same time. The first tutorial is if you have a vanilla (No submods installed) install of Third Age total war. The second tutorial at the bottom is for if you already have a submod installed. :

    Instructions for a second install (no submod installed yet):
    In this tutorial I want (for example) a vanilla install of TATW and one with Baron Samedi's Gameplay Enhancing Submod Compilation
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Step 1:
    First you'll have to make a copy of your vanilla Third Age total war folder

    You can probably find it in "C://Program Files/SEGA/Medieval II Total War/mods" or if you use vista or windows 7 in "C://Program Files (x86)/SEGA/Medieval II Total War/mods"

    Rename the newly created folder "Third_Age_3 - Copy" to "Third_Age_3_BS" (It's just an example, you can rename it whatever you want but then it should be the same in the next steps. The name should not contain spaces). Install Baron Samedi's Gameplay Enhancing Submod Compilation in the Third_Age_3_BS folder. He has an installer so you should point it to the Third_Age_3_BS folder instead of the original Third_Age_3 folder.


    Step 2: The second step is editing the necessary shortcuts, .cfg files and .bat files.

    • Open the Third Age.bat in the Third_Age_3_BS folder with notepad. You will see this:
      Code:
      cd ..\..
      start kingdoms.exe @mods\Third_Age_3\TATW.cfg
      Change it to this:
      Code:
      cd ..\..
      start kingdoms.exe @mods\Third_Age_3_BS\TATW.cfg
      Save and close the file.
    • After you edited the .bat file open TATW.cfg with notepad. You will see this :

      Code:
      [features]
      editor = true
      mod = mods/Third_Age_3
      
      [io]
      file_first = true
      
      [log]
      to = logs/system.log.txt
      level = * trace
      ;level = * error
      
      [video]
      ;windowed        = true
      ;movies            = false
      show_banners = 0
      
      [misc]
      show_hud_date    = true
      ;bypass_sprite_script = 1
      ;rebuild_geography_db = true
      
      [game]
      unlimited_men_on_battlefield = 1
      no_campaign_battle_time_limit = 0
      unit_size = huge
      advisor_verbosity = 0
      ;event_cutscenes = 0
      
      [multiplayer]
      ## comment/uncomment following line to disable/enable hotseat campaign
      # playable        = true
      ## faction mask for setting default starting factions in hotseat campaign
      # factions        = 1 # = england, 2 = france, 4 = hre, 3 = england+france, etc
      
      [hotseat]
      ## disable start turn scroll in hotseat campaign
      # scroll    = false
      ## disable forced separate human faction turns (including diplomacy) in hotseat campaign
      # turns    = false
      ## enable cheat console in hotseat campaign.
      # disable_console            = false
      ## specify password for administrator access to the dev console when console disabled. Change 'password' to a suitable password
      # admin_password            = password
      ## enable camera updates during ai turn in hotseat campaign
      # update_ai_camera        = true
      ## enable voting in papal elections in hotseat campaign (only first valid human faction votes)
      # disable_papal_elections    = false
      ## disable forced autoresolve all battles in hotseat campaign
      # autoresolve_battles        = false
      ## disable diplomacy validation for incoming propositions
      # validate_diplomacy        = false
      ## disable forced relevant hotseat options to be saved with game.
      save_prefs            = true
      ## autosave hotseat game at start of players turn
      # autosave                = true
      ## save config file in save dir containing information about next players turn
      save_config            = true
      ## close medieval II directly after a hotseat autosave
      # close_after_save        = true
      ## sub directory name for hotseat save games
      # gamename                = hotseat_gamename
      ## ensure game data files used in previous save match current campaign data files.
      # validate_data            = true
      ## prevent game to load if savegame or data validations fail
      # allow_validation_failures    = false
      
      [misc]
      ## specify the name of the save game to automatically load when Medieval II is launched
      # bypass_to_strategy_save    = game_name.sav
      Change it to:

      Code:
      [features]
      editor = true
      mod = mods/Third_Age_3_BS
      
      [io]
      file_first = true
      
      [log]
      to = logs/system.log.txt
      level = * trace
      ;level = * error
      
      [video]
      ;windowed        = true
      ;movies            = false
      show_banners = 0
      
      [misc]
      show_hud_date    = true
      ;bypass_sprite_script = 1
      ;rebuild_geography_db = true
      
      [game]
      unlimited_men_on_battlefield = 1
      no_campaign_battle_time_limit = 0
      unit_size = huge
      advisor_verbosity = 0
      ;event_cutscenes = 0
      
      [multiplayer]
      ## comment/uncomment following line to disable/enable hotseat campaign
      # playable        = true
      ## faction mask for setting default starting factions in hotseat campaign
      # factions        = 1 # = england, 2 = france, 4 = hre, 3 = england+france, etc
      
      [hotseat]
      ## disable start turn scroll in hotseat campaign
      # scroll    = false
      ## disable forced separate human faction turns (including diplomacy) in hotseat campaign
      # turns    = false
      ## enable cheat console in hotseat campaign.
      # disable_console            = false
      ## specify password for administrator access to the dev console when console disabled. Change 'password' to a suitable password
      # admin_password            = password
      ## enable camera updates during ai turn in hotseat campaign
      # update_ai_camera        = true
      ## enable voting in papal elections in hotseat campaign (only first valid human faction votes)
      # disable_papal_elections    = false
      ## disable forced autoresolve all battles in hotseat campaign
      # autoresolve_battles        = false
      ## disable diplomacy validation for incoming propositions
      # validate_diplomacy        = false
      ## disable forced relevant hotseat options to be saved with game.
      save_prefs            = true
      ## autosave hotseat game at start of players turn
      # autosave                = true
      ## save config file in save dir containing information about next players turn
      save_config            = true
      ## close medieval II directly after a hotseat autosave
      # close_after_save        = true
      ## sub directory name for hotseat save games
      # gamename                = hotseat_gamename
      ## ensure game data files used in previous save match current campaign data files.
      # validate_data            = true
      ## prevent game to load if savegame or data validations fail
      # allow_validation_failures    = false
      
      [misc]
      ## specify the name of the save game to automatically load when Medieval II is launched
      # bypass_to_strategy_save    = game_name.sav
      Again, save and close the file.
    • The last step is making a new shortcut. It is not necessary but I think most people like it. Click on the Third Age.bat (In the Third_Age_3_BS folder) and select "send to--> desktop (create shortcut)" (like in the pic):
      Spoiler for picture
    • If you are using Windows 7 or Vista you might get problems with not being able to save Third Age.bat or TATW.cfg. For fixing such problems try this guide: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=488938



    Instructions for if you have already installed a submod: These are instructions for if you have already a submod installed. It's not harder, just takes a bit longer.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    In this example I already have installed Baron Samedi's Gameplay Enhancing Submod Compilation in my Third_Age_3 folder and I want a second install with FRoGS.

    Step 1:
    First rename your Third_Age_3 folder to "Third_Age_3_BS" (It's just an example, you can rename it whatever you want but then it should be the same in the next steps. The name can not contain spaces).

    You can probably find it in "C://Program Files/SEGA/Medieval II Total War/mods" or if you use vista or windows 7 in "C://Program Files (x86)/SEGA/Medieval II Total War/mods"

    Then make a reinstall of Third Age total war.

    Install FRoGS in that new install of Third Age total war.


    Step 2: The second step is editing the necessary shortcuts, .cfg files and .bat files.

    • Open the Third Age.bat in the Third_Age_3_BS folder with notepad. You will see this:
      Code:
      cd ..\..
      start kingdoms.exe @mods\Third_Age_3\TATW.cfg
      Change it to this:
      Code:
      cd ..\..
      start kingdoms.exe @mods\Third_Age_3_BS\TATW.cfg
      Save and close the file.
    • After you edited the .bat file open TATW.cfg with notepad. You will see this :

      Code:
      [features]
      editor = true
      mod = mods/Third_Age_3
      
      [io]
      file_first = true
      
      [log]
      to = logs/system.log.txt
      level = * trace
      ;level = * error
      
      [video]
      ;windowed        = true
      ;movies            = false
      show_banners = 0
      
      [misc]
      show_hud_date    = true
      ;bypass_sprite_script = 1
      ;rebuild_geography_db = true
      
      [game]
      unlimited_men_on_battlefield = 1
      no_campaign_battle_time_limit = 0
      unit_size = huge
      advisor_verbosity = 0
      ;event_cutscenes = 0
      
      [multiplayer]
      ## comment/uncomment following line to disable/enable hotseat campaign
      # playable        = true
      ## faction mask for setting default starting factions in hotseat campaign
      # factions        = 1 # = england, 2 = france, 4 = hre, 3 = england+france, etc
      
      [hotseat]
      ## disable start turn scroll in hotseat campaign
      # scroll    = false
      ## disable forced separate human faction turns (including diplomacy) in hotseat campaign
      # turns    = false
      ## enable cheat console in hotseat campaign.
      # disable_console            = false
      ## specify password for administrator access to the dev console when console disabled. Change 'password' to a suitable password
      # admin_password            = password
      ## enable camera updates during ai turn in hotseat campaign
      # update_ai_camera        = true
      ## enable voting in papal elections in hotseat campaign (only first valid human faction votes)
      # disable_papal_elections    = false
      ## disable forced autoresolve all battles in hotseat campaign
      # autoresolve_battles        = false
      ## disable diplomacy validation for incoming propositions
      # validate_diplomacy        = false
      ## disable forced relevant hotseat options to be saved with game.
      save_prefs            = true
      ## autosave hotseat game at start of players turn
      # autosave                = true
      ## save config file in save dir containing information about next players turn
      save_config            = true
      ## close medieval II directly after a hotseat autosave
      # close_after_save        = true
      ## sub directory name for hotseat save games
      # gamename                = hotseat_gamename
      ## ensure game data files used in previous save match current campaign data files.
      # validate_data            = true
      ## prevent game to load if savegame or data validations fail
      # allow_validation_failures    = false
      
      [misc]
      ## specify the name of the save game to automatically load when Medieval II is launched
      # bypass_to_strategy_save    = game_name.sav
      Change it to:

      Code:
      [features]
      editor = true
      mod = mods/Third_Age_3_BS
      
      [io]
      file_first = true
      
      [log]
      to = logs/system.log.txt
      level = * trace
      ;level = * error
      
      [video]
      ;windowed        = true
      ;movies            = false
      show_banners = 0
      
      [misc]
      show_hud_date    = true
      ;bypass_sprite_script = 1
      ;rebuild_geography_db = true
      
      [game]
      unlimited_men_on_battlefield = 1
      no_campaign_battle_time_limit = 0
      unit_size = huge
      advisor_verbosity = 0
      ;event_cutscenes = 0
      
      [multiplayer]
      ## comment/uncomment following line to disable/enable hotseat campaign
      # playable        = true
      ## faction mask for setting default starting factions in hotseat campaign
      # factions        = 1 # = england, 2 = france, 4 = hre, 3 = england+france, etc
      
      [hotseat]
      ## disable start turn scroll in hotseat campaign
      # scroll    = false
      ## disable forced separate human faction turns (including diplomacy) in hotseat campaign
      # turns    = false
      ## enable cheat console in hotseat campaign.
      # disable_console            = false
      ## specify password for administrator access to the dev console when console disabled. Change 'password' to a suitable password
      # admin_password            = password
      ## enable camera updates during ai turn in hotseat campaign
      # update_ai_camera        = true
      ## enable voting in papal elections in hotseat campaign (only first valid human faction votes)
      # disable_papal_elections    = false
      ## disable forced autoresolve all battles in hotseat campaign
      # autoresolve_battles        = false
      ## disable diplomacy validation for incoming propositions
      # validate_diplomacy        = false
      ## disable forced relevant hotseat options to be saved with game.
      save_prefs            = true
      ## autosave hotseat game at start of players turn
      # autosave                = true
      ## save config file in save dir containing information about next players turn
      save_config            = true
      ## close medieval II directly after a hotseat autosave
      # close_after_save        = true
      ## sub directory name for hotseat save games
      # gamename                = hotseat_gamename
      ## ensure game data files used in previous save match current campaign data files.
      # validate_data            = true
      ## prevent game to load if savegame or data validations fail
      # allow_validation_failures    = false
      
      [misc]
      ## specify the name of the save game to automatically load when Medieval II is launched
      # bypass_to_strategy_save    = game_name.sav
      Again, save and close the file.
    • The last step is making a new shortcut. It is not necessary but I think most people like it. Click on the Third Age.bat (In the Third_Age_3_BS folder) and select "send to--> desktop (create shortcut)" (like in the pic):
      Spoiler for picture
    • If you are using Windows 7 or Vista you might get problems with not being able to save Third Age.bat or TATW.cfg. For fixing such problems try this guide: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=488938



    Note: if your CFG file's content looks like the code below then only change the CFG file entry!
    Code:
    @echo off
    cd ..\..
    IF EXIST kingdoms.exe (start /affinity 1 /high kingdoms.exe @%0\..\Configuration.cfg) ELSE (
    IF EXIST medieval2.exe (
    start /affinity 1 /high medieval2.exe @%0\..\Configuration.cfg) ELSE (
        echo ERROR: Cannot find the M2TW or Kingdoms executable.
        echo You probably installed Third Age Total War into the wrong folder.
        pause
      )
    )
    CHANGELOG:

    • Added info about folder names and spaces (thanks to araval)
    • Added english pic (thanks to david93)
    • Added info about Windows 7/Vista problems (thanks to Stealthfox)



    I hope this is a useful tutorial. Please report spelling errors, etc. Also other feedback is appreciated.

    Note by ElvenKind:

    If you do not get these steps, here are the pictures for these splendid instructions made by our Emperor of Hell: http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showt...1#post12974652
    Last edited by Gigantus; November 16, 2021 at 10:52 AM. Reason: update for universal BAT file

  2. #2
    MasterBigAb's Avatar Valar Morghulis
    Discontent Emeritus

    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vaes Dothrak
    Posts
    10,771

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Copied and stuck

  3. #3
    Araval's Avatar Protector Domesticus
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Tartu, Estonia
    Posts
    4,753

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    I think you should add that the folder's name mustn't have spaces in it, because it caused a crash for me.

  4. #4
    Emperor of Hell's Avatar SPA-NED 1-5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,747

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Thanks and added to the OP

  5. #5

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    You perhaps should precise you still need to have a Third_Age_3 folder with an entire mod, otherwath it can cause bug. thanks for the tutorial, i knew the way to do it form a long, but it works well. Before I had 6 copy of TATW with differents mod.

  6. #6
    Mhaedros's Avatar Brave Heart Tegan
    Discontent Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8,764
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Why would you need a Third_Age_3 folder? I've only got one heavily modded folder atm, named something like 'Mhaedros_TATW', just so I know it's modded
    Under the patronage of Finlander. Once patron to someone, no longer.
    Content's well good, innit.


  7. #7

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    When I edit Third Age.bat and try to save it, it says access denied D:

  8. #8

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Open txt as administrator, then edit your files.

    @The team, perhaps add it to the OP, it is sometimes 7 and vista.

  9. #9
    Emperor of Hell's Avatar SPA-NED 1-5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,747

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Oh, ok. Will add it to the OP. Thanks for your advice. So opening as admin will fix it?

  10. #10

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Quote Originally Posted by Arandir Tur-Anion View Post
    Open txt as administrator, then edit your files.

    @The team, perhaps add it to the OP, it is sometimes 7 and vista.
    Thank you sir!

  11. #11

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    I had to run Notepad as an admin and open Third Age.bat through Notepad, but it worked.

  12. #12
    StealthFox's Avatar Consensus Achieved
    Discontent Emeritus did you know I was admin once

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    8,170

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    This guide will also fix problems with Windows 7/Vista.

    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=488938

  13. #13
    Emperor of Hell's Avatar SPA-NED 1-5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,747

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Thanks for the link Stealthfox. Updated the OP

  14. #14
    Incredible Bulk's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,615

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    ok i am a bit confused I already have my 3. installed with Baron's Submod. I want to add another submod, do I have uninstall my baron's submod and have only a vanilla them re-install both baron's and my new one? I just don't understand the part about making a copy of the vanilla when I don't have the vanilla its mixed with the submod
    Last edited by Incredible Bulk; April 25, 2012 at 05:07 PM.

  15. #15

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    thank you so much for this :L my TATW stopped working, and i tried every possible way on the help forum to make it work, but none actually fixed the problems. so i tried this as a final attempt and it worked. so, cheers

  16. #16
    Incredible Bulk's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,615

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    also if I want to uninstalled my 2nd mod, how would I do so without uninstalling my original mod?

  17. #17
    Mhaedros's Avatar Brave Heart Tegan
    Discontent Emeritus

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    8,764
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Isais: Just make a new TATW using the installers, but at another location than the old one. Then rename it and add whatever submods you want with it and place it inside M2TW/mods
    Under the patronage of Finlander. Once patron to someone, no longer.
    Content's well good, innit.


  18. #18
    Incredible Bulk's Avatar Vicarius
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,615

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Sorry forgot to post I did figure it out thanks

  19. #19

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    Where is the .bat located in step 2?

  20. #20
    Emperor of Hell's Avatar SPA-NED 1-5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,747

    Default Re: How to have multiple installations of TATW (with different submods):

    First you'll have to make a copy of your vanilla Third Age total war folder

    You can probably find it in "C://Program Files/SEGA/Medieval II Total War/mods" or if you use vista or windows 7 in "C://Program Files (x86)/SEGA/Medieval II Total War/mods"

    (...)

    Open the Third Age.bat in the Third_Age_3_BS folder with notepad.

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •