Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 41

Thread: How to create a playable horde

  1. #1
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Icon2 How to create a playable horde


    Hi, in this tutorial i will show you how to create a playeble horde in Medieal 2, like in barbarian invasion, sorry for my english

    So we will work on:

    descr_strat
    campaign_script
    descr_sm_factions (OPTIONAL)
    descr_win_conditions (OPTIONAL)

    The first file is descr_strat, here we must set our horde as playeble faction, i will use the mongol faction for this example. At the top of descr_strat we have something like this:
    BEFORE
    Code:
    campaign        imperial_campaign
    playable
        england
        france
        sicily
        milan
        aragon
        moors
        portugal
        spain
        egypt
        venice
        normans
        zenghids
        byzantium
        turks
        cumans
        scotland
        hre
        hungary
        denmark
        russia
        poland
        novgorod
        papal_states
        pisa
        aztecs
        saxons
        emirs
        barons
    end
    unlockable
    
    end
    nonplayable
        mongols
        slave
    end
    we should insert mongols playeble, so:
    AFTER
    Code:
    campaign        imperial_campaign
    playable
        england
        france
        sicily
        milan
        aragon
        moors
        portugal
        spain
        egypt
        venice
        normans
        zenghids
        byzantium
        turks
        cumans
        scotland
        hre
        hungary
        denmark
        russia
        poland
        novgorod
        papal_states
        pisa
        aztecs
        saxons
        emirs
        barons
        mongols
    
    end
    unlockable
    
    end
    nonplayable
        slave
    end
    Now, find the mongols lines in the descr_strat and you have something like this:
    BEFORE
    Code:
    faction    mongols, balanced smith
    ai_label    default 
    dead_until_resurrected
    denari    500000
    denari_kings_purse    25000
    delete many lines, and create a faction leader, you must also give one region to mongols, but be sure that in game mongols will not have this regions, because you must simply insert a NON-REBEL CHARACTER in the same coordinates of the settlement, for example i give York to the horde, but at the coordinates of York i put an english general, in game this will cause that YORK WILL BE ENGLISH AND MONGOLS HAVE NO SETTLEMENTS :
    AFTER
    Code:
    faction    mongols, fortified genghis
    ai_label    default 
    denari    100000
    denari_kings_purse    25000
    
    settlement
    {
    	level large_town
    	region York_Province
    
    	year_founded 0
    	population 2600
    	plan_set default_set
    	faction_creator england
    	building
    	{
    		type core_building wooden_wall
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type barracks town_watch
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type missiles bowyer
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type hinterland_roads roads
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type temple_catholic small_church
    	}
    	building
    	{
            	type guild_masons_guild masons_guild
    	}
    }
    
    character    Genghis, named character, male, age 30, x 344, y 234, portrait gen
    traits EasternWarlord 3 , GoodCommander 2 , Bloodthirsty 2 , BattleDread 4 , StrategyDread 2 , PublicFaith 1 , Loyal 2 , ContentGeneral 3, Membro_Orda 1, GoodTaxman 3, CaptorDread 4, FactionKiller 4, Genocide 3, VictorVirtue 3
    army
    unit        Mongol Bodyguard        exp 9 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Khan's Guard        exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Khan's Guard        exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Heavy Lancers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Heavy Lancers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Heavy Archers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Heavy Archers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Horse Archers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Horse Archers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Horse Archers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Horse Archers    exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Dismounted Heavy Lancers        exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Dismounted Light Lancers        exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Militia            exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Spearmen            exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Mongol Infantry            exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Dismounted Heavy Archers        exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        Dismounted Archers        exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        AS Rocket Launcher            exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit        AS Trebuchet            exp 6 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    I have created only 1 army, but you can create more army, as you prefer.


    To make a valid horde you must create a script that spawn in campaign some reinforcements army, IF YOU DON’T DO THIS, THE FACTION WILL NOT BE A CORRECT HORDE, so create this script(in campaign_script):

    Code:
        monitor_conditions I_TurnNumber = 590
        spawn_army
        faction  mongols
        character    Aragibag, named character, age 30, x 342, y 232, family    
        traits LoyaltyStarter 1 , GoodCommander 2 , GoodAdministrator 1 , PublicFaith 4 , Loyal 2 , ContentGeneral 3 , ReligionStarter 1
    unit            Mongol Bodyguard                exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit            Mongol Heavy Lancers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             Mongol Heavy Archers                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit             AS Rocket Launcher                        exp 0 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
        end
            terminate_monitor
        end_monitor
    I have spaw the army after lots of turns (590), so the game will always see that there is a reinforcement army, and so the faction will be an horde forever in the game.

    Now open descr_sm_factions and modify as your prefer the horde settings, this settings will works only when the horde will be reformed after capture and the lose some regions:

    Code:
    faction                        mongols, spawned_on_event
    culture                        nativeindian
    religion                    tengri
    symbol                        models_strat/symbol_mongols.CAS
    rebel_symbol                models_strat/symbol_rebels.CAS
    primary_colour                red 244, green 231, blue 170
    secondary_colour            red 0, green 0, blue 0
    loading_logo                loading_screen/symbols/symbol128_mongols.tga
    standard_index                8
    logo_index                    FACTION_LOGO_MONGOLS
    small_logo_index            SMALL_FACTION_LOGO_MONGOLS
    triumph_value                5
    intro_movie                    faction/minor_intro.bik
    victory_movie                faction/minor_win.bik
    defeat_movie                faction/minor_lose.bik
    death_movie                    faction/minor_lose.bik
    custom_battle_availability    yes
    horde_min_units                18
    horde_max_units                20
    horde_max_units_reduction_every_horde 5
    horde_unit_per_settlement_population    250
    horde_min_named_characters    8
    horde_max_percent_army_stack 80
    horde_disband_percent_on_settlement_capture    15
    horde_unit                    Mongol Infantry
    horde_unit                    Khan's Guard
    horde_unit                    Mongol Foot Archers
    horde_unit                    Mongol Heavy Archers
    horde_unit                    Mongol Heavy Lancers
    horde_unit                    Mongol Light Lancers
    horde_unit                    Mongol Horse Archers
    horde_unit                          AS Rocket Launcher
    horde_unit                          AS Trebuchet
    can_sap                        yes
    prefers_naval_invasions        no
    can_have_princess            no
    has_family_tree                yes
    We must only create the victory conditions for our new horde, the file is the descr_win_conditions
    If you do all correct the faction will be 100% an horde like the horde that are spawned and controller like the IA.

    As you can see you can sack a settlement and the continue without take the region:





    All horde events and message 100% works:




    a little + rep is appreciated
    Last edited by boboav; January 08, 2012 at 11:22 AM.
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  2. #2
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    To understand this correctly:

    You do not need a region to start as a hording faction - you only need a spawn script?










  3. #3
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    To understand this correctly:

    You do not need a region to start as a hording faction - you only need a spawn script?
    tutorial edited to explain better that
    Last edited by boboav; January 08, 2012 at 11:19 AM.
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  4. #4
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Will try to see if that works.

    Just wondering about this part in the descr_sm_factions:

    intro_movie faction/minor_intro.bik
    victory_movie faction/minor_win.bik
    defeat_movie faction/minor_lose.bik
    death_movie faction/minor_lose.bik
    That is covered in descr_movies - is your entry from RTW?
    Last edited by Gigantus; July 08, 2011 at 05:15 AM.










  5. #5
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Quote Originally Posted by Gigantus View Post
    Will try to see if that works.

    Just wondering about this part in the descr_sm_factions:

    That is covered in descr_movies - is your entry from RTW?
    no, Bellum Crucis mod for Med2 Kingdoms
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  6. #6
    franky317's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Rieti, (Ita)
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Hello everyone! excuse my English!
    just read this guide, I wanted to try right now! but the game freezes as soon as the campaign launch.
    As written before I move into Mongols playable factions, change the description of the faction as you write, I move the city of York by the British Mongols have left the English units. scritp and I just created the next steps.

    I noticed in the script historical_event rinforzi is that correct? I'm trying this change of bellum crucis 6.2

  7. #7
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Quote Originally Posted by franky317 View Post
    Hello everyone! excuse my English!
    just read this guide, I wanted to try right now! but the game freezes as soon as the campaign launch.
    As written before I move into Mongols playable factions, change the description of the faction as you write, I move the city of York by the British Mongols have left the English units. scritp and I just created the next steps.

    I noticed in the script historical_event rinforzi is that correct? I'm trying this change of bellum crucis 6.2
    can i see your descr_strat and campaign_script?
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  8. #8
    franky317's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Rieti, (Ita)
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    ok , are attached

  9. #9
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    you have errors in both files

    Until I try to find them you should restart from the originals Bellum Crucis files, and try again.

    Remember to create the historic event "rinforzi" in data/text/historic_events.txt
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  10. #10
    franky317's Avatar Libertus
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Rieti, (Ita)
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Errors? what kind? or copied only as you write ... cmq bellum install from scratch and try again!

  11. #11
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Quote Originally Posted by franky317 View Post
    Errors? what kind? or copied only as you write ... cmq bellum install from scratch and try again!
    I don't know, but with your files, i must restart all PC
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  12. #12

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Although this thread seems to be dead,I would just like to thank you for posting it,works greatly. rep +


    Oh and could you perhaps share the interface of this "mongol UI"?

  13. #13
    boboav's Avatar Decanus
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    532

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Quote Originally Posted by Temür_Khan View Post
    Although this thread seems to be dead,I would just like to thank you for posting it,works greatly. rep +


    Oh and could you perhaps share the interface of this "mongol UI"?
    Hi, thanks but i can not share the UI, it is from "Bellum Crucis mod"
    Modder of "Bellum Crucis" and "De Bello Mundi"

  14. #14

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    That's pity,because there is no working download link for the English version of the mod

  15. #15

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    nevermind,found it

  16. #16
    FireFreak111's Avatar Artifex
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    608

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    Odd, I follow the tutorial to the letter, but I get this error:

    (placeholders to represent people/settlements)
    11:43:00.058 [script.err] [error] Script Error in mods/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign/descr_strat.txt, at line 3244, column 67
    trying to attach a non-spy OtherGeneral(hre) to settlement Settlement1(norway) which is invalid.

    This means Norway keeps the settlement (empty), HRE doesn't claim it and no horde.

    EDIT: Never mind, all fixed, the order actually matters. HRE has to be before Norway. Otherwise it won't work.
    Last edited by FireFreak111; December 08, 2012 at 07:52 PM.

  17. #17
    Badger-dude's Avatar Primicerius
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,033

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    I am having trouble getting this working. Before, it was obviously an error in campaign_script as other conditions were not firing. Now those conditions work fine, but when the single settlement I gave them is taken they do not form a horde.

    My scripts are as follows:

    Entry in campaign script

    Code:
        monitor_conditions I_TurnNumber = 590
        spawn_army
        faction  russia
        character    Aragibag, named character, age 30, x 24, y 88
        traits LoyaltyStarter 1 , GoodCommander 2 , GoodAdministrator 1 , PublicFaith 4 , Loyal 2 , ContentGeneral 3
     unit            EE Bodyguard,                exp 1 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    
        end
            terminate_monitor
        end_monitor

    strat

    Code:
    faction	russia, balanced smith
    ai_label		 default 
    denari 10000
    denari_kings_purse	1500
    
    
    settlement castle
    {
    	level town
    	region Tower_of_Joy_Province
    
    	year_founded 0
    	population 1000
    	plan_set default_set
    	faction_creator moors
    	building
    	{
    		type core_castle_building wooden_castle
    	}
    	building
    	{
    		type hinterland_castle_roads c_roads
    	}
    }
    
    character	Mance Rayder, named character, male, leader, age 49, x 83, y 242
    traits factionleader 1 , BookCharacter 1 , GoodCommander 4 , Intelligent 1 , Pragmatic 2 , LoyaltyStarter 1 , Sobriety 1
    army
    unit		EE Bodyguard				exp 1 armour 1 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spearmen				exp 2 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spearmen				exp 2 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spearmen				exp 2 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spear Militia			exp 1 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Peasant Archers			exp 1 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Crossbow Militia			exp 2 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    
    
    character	 Tormond Giantsbane, named character, male, heir, age 44, x 85, y 242
    traits 	BookCharacter 1 , factionheir 1
    army
    unit		EE Bodyguard				exp 2 armour 0 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Polish Knights				exp 3 armour 1 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		Polish Knights				exp 3 armour 1 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spearmen				exp 2 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spear Militia			exp 1 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spear Militia			exp 1 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Spear Militia			exp 1 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Peasant Archers			exp 1 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    unit		EE Crossbow Militia			exp 2 armour 2 weapon_lvl 0
    Factions

    Code:
    faction						russia, spawned_on_event
    culture						eastern_european
    religion					orthodox
    symbol						models_strat/symbol_russia.CAS
    rebel_symbol				models_strat/symbol_rebels.CAS
    primary_colour				red 12, green 30, blue 119
    secondary_colour			red 215, green 0, blue 0
    loading_logo				loading_screen/symbols/symbol128_russia.tga
    standard_index				17
    logo_index					FACTION_LOGO_RUSSIA
    small_logo_index			SMALL_FACTION_LOGO_RUSSIA
    triumph_value				5
    intro_movie					faction/minor_intro.bik
    victory_movie				faction/minor_win.bik
    defeat_movie				faction/minor_lose.bik
    death_movie					faction/minor_lose.bik
    custom_battle_availability	yes
    horde_min_units                18
    horde_max_units                20
    horde_max_units_reduction_every_horde 5
    horde_unit_per_settlement_population    250
    horde_min_named_characters    1
    horde_max_percent_army_stack 80
    horde_disband_percent_on_settlement_capture    15
    horde_unit					EE Spearmen
    horde_unit					EE Spear Militia
    horde_unit					EE Peasant Archers
    horde_unit					EE Crossbow Militia
    can_sap						no
    prefers_naval_invasions		no
    can_have_princess				yes
    has_family_tree					yes

  18. #18

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    .
    Last edited by TheGoodOld BritishChap; February 28, 2016 at 03:18 PM.

  19. #19
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    It's descr_strat:

    Code:
    faction    russia, balanced smith
    ai_label         default 
    dead_until_resurrected
    re_emergent
    denari 10000
    denari_kings_purse    1500










  20. #20
    Gigantus's Avatar I am not special - I am a limited edition.
    Patrician took an arrow to the knee spy of the council

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Goa - India
    Posts
    53,125
    Blog Entries
    35

    Default Re: How to create a playable horde

    It's been ages since I saw this thread and so I decided to do this tutorial using my Bare Geomod setup. In the end it was very simple as the descr_sm_faction entry and the win_conditions entry already existed.

    I proceeded as follows:

    • Moved the mongols entry in descr_strat from unplayable to the bottom of the playable section (see reason here)
    • Made sure the faction details further down were at the bottom of descr_strat just before the slave faction (again same reason)
    • Removed 'dead_until_resurrected' from the mongols faction details (if left game will start but remain unresponsive with spinning cursor)
    • Moved the 'london_province' from england to mongols (don't take the first region entry (Nottingham) as that is the capital of the faction). NOTE: the faction you take the settlement from has to playable!!
    • Added a character entry for the mongols with co-ordinates next to Jork.
    • Added the script entry

    Notes:

    • The movie entries mentioned here appear to be optional as I had no problem running the whole affair without it.
    • The script entry is not needed to start the game - I had an error in my script which caused the whole script to fail but the game started nevertheless. I put it in anyhow - can't hurt.

    As the pictures are not available again I made some of my own.



    A lonely mongol horde at York

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 



    The sack\occupy options after winning the siege battle (superimposed to show both tooltips)

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 




    Burn, baby burn! Smoke animation after using the sack option

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 


    I then proceeded to play a hotseat with Mongols and England - first I occupied York with the Mongols and immediately moved to whole Mongol army North. Then I used the nearby England army to take York from the Mongols.
    The Mongols were still alive the next round (same army) but no additional spawns had taken place. I have not tested if that has to do with the entries in descr_sm_factions or descr_strat.

    Edit: sacked settlements will always revert to the slave faction, regardless of the prior ownership.
    Last edited by Gigantus; December 31, 2023 at 01:17 AM. Reason: settlement details










Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •